“Blue” Velvet Cupcakes + Cream Cheese Frosting

October 25, 2007 at 4:48 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 5 Comments
Tags:

I am co-hosting my friend’s baby shower next weekend so tonight I decided to do a trial run on red velvet cupcakes but I want to do “blue velvet” cupcakes rather than red IHO her baby boy/color theme.


(Recipe from thatsweetang | photo from me!)

Makes ~24 servings (1 cupcake=1 serving)
Calories/serving (cupcake only) = ~267 (www.sparkrecipes.com)
WW pts/serving (cupcake only) = ~7

Red Velvet Cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

2.5 cups plain flour
1 cup buttermilk
1.5 cups sugar
2 cups oil
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vinegar
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cocoa
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp red food coloring (I used blue food coloring)
2 eggs

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS

> Cream sugar and oil
> Sift flour, salt and baking soda and mix with cocoa, red food coloring, vinegar, and eggs.
> Add flour mixture to the creamed sugar alternately with buttermilk.
> Stir in vanilla.
> Bake at 350 for 35 minutes.
> Ice with homemade cream cheese frosting. (see below for recipe)

[NOTES: I am bummed that they were more blue-green than blue. Maybe I need to add more blue food coloring? Leave me a comment with your opinion!]

******************************

Cream Cheese Frosting

Makes ~48 servings (1 frosted top=1 serving)
Calories/serving (frosting only) = ~96 (www.sparkrecipes.com)
WW pts/serving (frosting only) = ~2

INGREDIENTS

1 pound cream cheese, softened
2 sticks butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

> In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter and vanilla together until smooth.
> Add the sugar and on low speed, beat until incorporated.
> Increase the speed to high and mix until very light and fluffy.

[NOTES: The cream cheese frosting recipe made WAY too much. Next time I think I will half the recipe if I am only making 24 cupcakes.]

ENJOY! :)


(Don’t you love my makeshift cupcake display? 9×13 casserole dish and cookie rack. GENIUS! hehehe)

Husband rating: A/A+
It wasn’t a +10 b/c Todd prefers red color. Go figure!? but he ate 5 of them. Enough said. LOL

Wifey rating: A
Its not my favorite cupcake but it is very yummy!

5 Comments

  1. Maybe they came out blue-green because the egg yolk added yellow coloring to them. I wonder if they would still turn out okay if you used only the egg whites. Do I dare try?

  2. ALANNA, interesting thought! Try it and let me know!

  3. Im sitting up thinking I am the most clever person in the world to have come up with a new twist on the red velvet cupcake!! and look what i find! :) hahaha My mind was sparked by the Bobby Darin song though. I’ll letcha know how it works!

    Oh..by the way….
    does anyone have some insight has to why my powdered sugar based icing comes out grainy??
    Thanks!

  4. LAURA, aaawww so sorry to burst your blue velvet bubble! Trust me… it happens to me alot too. haha. Whenever I get grainy powdered sugar its b/c my sugar is lumpy. Sift your powdered sugar before adding and will be smooth. HTH! ps. nice to “meet” you!

  5. In order to get truly blue cupcakes, I suggest you find a baking store or market that sells paste food coloring. You might try asking at your local bakery where they get their food colors. I’ve used lots of shades of paste colors, from robin’s egg to navy and the colors are, well, true blue…
    Hope this helps…great idea on the cupcakes.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

