Red Velvet Cupcakes v2

October 28, 2007 at 11:13 AM | Posted in cupcakes | 3 Comments
Tags:

I am in the cupcake baking mood and since Todd’s friend came over last night to watch the World Series with us, I decided to try out the red cupcake v2 recipe on them. I was inspired to add a little surprise to the cupcakes by one of my favorite San Diego jknotties, Alanna, when she called me this afternoon to ask me about red velvet cupcake filling. I didn’t really “know” how to do it but I think it came out pretty good for the first time! :)


(Recipe from www.allrecipes.com | photo from me!)

Makes ~24 servings (1 cupcake=1 serving)
Calories/serving = 257
WW pts/serving = 6

[NOTES: I only had 1 tsbp red food coloring instead of the recipe’s 4 tbsp so that’s probably why my cupcakes look more pink than red.]

INGREDIENTS

Red velvet cupcakes
1/2 cup shortening
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 tablespoons cocoa
4 tablespoons red food coloring
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup buttermilk
2 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar

Frosting
5 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 cup milk
1 cup white sugar
1 cup butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS

> Grease two 9 inch round pans.
> Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
> Cream shortening and 1 1/2 cups sugar WELL. Add eggs and beat well.
> Make a paste of cocoa and red food coloring. Add to creamed mixture.
> Mix salt, 1 teaspoon vanilla and buttermilk together.
> Add alternately the flour with the milk mixture to the creamed mixture.
> Mix soda and vinegar and FOLD INTO CAKE BATTER. DON’T BEAT OR STIR NOW.
> Bake for 30 minutes.

To Make Frosting:
> Cook 5 Tablespoons flour and milk over low heat till thick, stirring constantly. LET COOL THOROUGHLY!
> While cooling, cream 1 cups sugar, butter and 1 teaspoon vanilla.
> Beat this well till light and fluffy. Add to flour mixture and beat until of a good spreading consistency. DON’T ICE CAKE TILL COOL.

ENJOY! :)

[NOTES: The main difference between v2 and v1 is using shortening instead of oil. I think I prefer using shortening more than oil. Seemed to make the batter thicker (less runny) and easier to work with. I didn’t notice a big difference in flavor though.]

Husband rating: A/A+
He liked the red better esp with the cream cheese filling! :)

Wifey rating: A

Friend rating: A+
He ate 2 and took 6 home. It made me happy when he called Todd a “lucky man”! LOL :)

3 Comments

  1. Yours definitely look better than mine…Must be the fact that you used a real cupcake pan! ;)

  2. So is the filing the same as the frosting??

  3. Wow. We’re going into the archives with this one. If my memory serves me correctly then yes the filling is the same as the frosting. HTH!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

