500 Cupcake Challenge #1

December 5, 2007 at 1:45 PM | Posted in 500CC, cupcakes | 7 Comments
Tags:

Now I know what you are thinking?  Wouldn’t it be easier to start from page 1?  True but some ingredients I don’t have right now or want to buy for just 1 tsp so I will have to make those some other time.  This one I had all the ingredients on hand so … deal!  LOL.  

I thought it would be fun and help me from gaining unwanted weight (500 cupcakes is alot of freaking calories!) so… whoever comments (include email if you’re not sure I have it) by the end of the day, 12mid PST, will be entered into a drawing and I will send you some yummy cookies and cream cupcakes.  I am a CW after all! ;)

** For any new readers that don’t know the background to the Cuppycakes 500 Cupcake Challenge, please read here.  **

cookies and cream cupcakes
(Recipe from 500 cupcakes | photo from me!)

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes
page 232

Makes 18 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

Cupcakes
1 cup (2 sticks) sweet butter, softened
1 cup superfine sugar
2 cups self-rising flour
1 tsp baking powder
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
10 crushed cream filled cookies

Frosting
1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1/2 cup (1 sticks) sweet butter, softened
pinch of salt
5 chopped cream filled chocolate cookies

[NOTES:  If you don’t have self-rising flour you can substitute with 1 tbsp baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt per 2 cups of all purpose flour.  Also I used unsalted butter.  Is that the same as sweet butter?  *shrugs*]

INSTRUCTIONS

> Preheat oven to 350F. Place 18 foil or baking cups in cupcake pan
> Combine all ingredients, except cookies, in a large bowl and beat with electric mixer until smooth and pale, about 2-3 minutes. Stir in cookies.
> Spoon batter into the cups. Bake 20 minutes. Remove from oven and cool 5 minutes. Then remove the cupcakes and cool on wire rack
> To make frosting, beat the confectioners sugar, butter and salt using electric mixer
> Spread frosting onto cooled cupcakes and sprinkle with chopped cookies on top
> Store unfrosted in an airtight container up to 3 days or freeze for up to 3 months

ENJOY!

Husband rating:  A+
He liked the oreo cookie bits in the cupcake. Yummy!

Wifey rating: A
Frosting is really sweet but overall cupcake is good, just not my favorite.

7 Comments

  1. If I win the drawing can I win future drawings? Because if I can only win 1 I want to choose wisely :P

  2. yummy, love your picture taking skills. :) I think I should get something since I’m the first comment. hee hee.

  3. LMAO @ nikki’s comment. You can win a multiple times in a row as long as I draw your name. Its all up to chance (but I am open to bribes…)

  4. Can I enter mine name and my hubby’s name as two separate entries?? Pretty please :)

  5. haha. you are a sneaky one Beth! I better keep my eye on you. Hmm… if your hubs has a wordpress acct I can’t keep him from commenting can I? ;)

  6. I want to win! Those look YUMMY

  7. […] And remember… Comments get you cupcakes!  More info here. […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

