500 Cupcake Challenge #2

December 10, 2007 at 8:52 AM | Posted in 500CC, cupcakes | 10 Comments
Tags:

While randomly skimming through my 500 cupcakes book, anticipating Challenge #2, I was surprised at some cupcakes and their ingredients.  What is kirsch?  rosewater?  semolina?  Obviously I am still not past the Betty Crocker think outside-the-box (pun intended) stage where cupcakes are only made of good ol familiar sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla extract.  I guess I should expand my horizons more but in the meantime — I give you…  Jelly Donut Cupcakes.  (My decision came from having all ingredients on hand and being too lazy to drive to the grocery store.  Good reasons right?)

** For any new readers that don’t know the background to the Cuppycakes 500 Cupcake Challenge, please read here. **


(Recipe from 500 cupcakes | photos from me!)

Jelly Donut Cupcakes
page 246

Makes 18 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

Cupcakes
1 cup (2 sticks) sweet butter, softened
1 cup superfine sugar
2 cups self-rising flour
1 tsp baking powder
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup raspberry jam or jelly

[NOTES: I didn’t have raspberry so I used strawberry. Same difference! ;)]

Frosting
1 cup cream cheese, softened
1 1/2 cups powder sugar, sifted
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes
> Preheat oven 350F
> Place 18 baking cups in cupcake pan (this seems like a duh? step don’t you think?)
> Combine all ingredients except jelly in a large bowl and beat with electric mixer, about 2-3 minutes
> Spoon the batter into the cups.  Bake for 20 minutes
> Remove pans from the oven and cool for 5 minutes. Remove the cupcakes and cool on rack
> Hollow out a hole from the top of cupcake and fill with jelly.  Replace top and add frosting

To make frosting
> Slowly beat cream cheese and powder sugar in large bowl with electric mixer until creamy and soft
> Add lemon juice and vanilla and beat briskly until well combined
> Spread frosting on cupcakes

[NOTES:  Personally I like color and I wish I had some sprinkles or something to add to the bland white frosting.  Next time I’ll probably drizzle jelly over the frosting to make it more interesting.  Why do all my good ideas come AFTER the dishes are already washed? haha.]

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He ate 5 of them in one sitting!  How he stays skinny I’ll never know.

Wifey rating: A/A-
Not exactly a jelly donut (I guess you can’t compare to fried donut batter) but it tasted good especially with the cream cheese frosting.

:: Just a little fun side factoid ::
I am taking a cake decorating class at my local Michael’s craft store so I took the opportunity while frosting my jelly donut cupcakes to play around with my new piping tips (I was doing it the ghetto-ziplock-fabulous way before).  I did the classic swirl and then another method that my hubs affectionately called my “punk rocker” cupcake.   :)

And remember… Comments get you cupcakes!  More info here.

10 Comments

  1. Cute picture. I like how you cute the “lid” off of one to show the jelly inside.

  2. Sounds tasty. Btw.. your logo is really cute! I’m wondering how you ship the cupcakes? Have you had success with that?

  3. i second the shipping the cupcakes question!!! oh man. i would love some of them cupcakes…

    do you mind if i post this recipe on the cupcake site?

  4. Sounds yummy =) I’m not a huge jelly fan. Was the jelly more or less what you would get in a donnut?

  5. I’m not a huge fan of the jelly donut but the cupcakes look awesome. BTW I LOVE the experimental decorated cupcakes :)

  6. NINA, thanks! I thought it would be fun to see the filling!

    CUPCAKE, isn’t “he” so cute!? :)

    MAMA, I’d be so flattered! Post away! Whats your website? I wanna see my shoutout. LOL.

    BB, Its not exactly like a jelly donut. The jelly isn’t as sweet and smooth as the donut one if that makes sense.

    BETH, thanks girl! My punk rocker cupcake makes me laugh! :)

  7. I’m commenting but if I win I request the ability to cash in my win at a later date :P

  8. NIKKI, why you gotta be a little NB?? There’s no lay-a-way cupcake plan. haha. but you did give me an idea! ::light bulb::

  9. LOL at lay-a-way cupcakes! :)

  10. […] https://iheartcuppycakes.wordpress.com/2007/12/10/cupcake-challenge-2/ Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

