Cupcake Hero #1: [Mint]

December 16, 2007 at 4:02 PM | Posted in blog event, Cupcake Hero, cupcakes | 10 Comments
Tags: ,

I’ve been a dedicated lurker on the Quirky Cupcake blog for a little while now and I always love seeing the new cupcake creations for the Cupcake Hero contest. This month’s ingredient is mint and I’ve come out of lurk-dom to try my hand at it.

I am not as adventurous as some cupcake-ers with ingredients. While I am sure that peppermint zucchini cupcakes are probably good (well… maybe the jury’s still out on that one!) I just don’t think of those nontraditional ingredients when *I* think of cupcakes. My first entry might not be very creative but its sure to be a crowd pleaser esp if your taste buds are like my husband.

My inspiration comes from my loveable hubbie who adores red velvet. That was one of the flavors of our wedding cupcakes. We also had a one tier cake at the top to cut and he insisted that the cake had to be red velvet instead of the dulce de leche that I wanted. Don’t worry! I got him good when I smashed it in his face at the wedding. (You want red velvet? You can have it!!) He never saw it coming… Teehee!

Well enough cupcake talk down memory lane… here’s my entry for the Cupcake Hero Contest!

Christmas Red Velvet Cupcakes w. Pepper[mint] Cream Cheese Frosting

Makes 36 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

Red velvet cupcakes
3-3/4 cups cake flour
1/4 cups cocoa
1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder or 1/2 teaspoon cream of tarter
3/8 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 cups buttermilk
3 teaspoons vinegar
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 ounce red food coloring paste
2-1/4 cups sugar
3/4 cups butter
3 eggs

[NOTES: Can substitute 1 cup minus 2 tbsp AP flour for 1 cup of cake flour]

Frosting
8oz cream cheese, softened
6 tbsp (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, softened
3 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp peppermint extract
1/3 cup crushed peppermint candies

INSTRUCTIONS

> Preheat oven to 350°F
> Sift flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder (or cream of tarter), and salt into medium bowl
> Whisk buttermilk, vinegar, vanilla, and food coloring in small bowl to blend
> Beat sugar and butter in large bowl until well fluffy, 3 minutes
> Add eggs 1 at a time, beating until well blended after each addition, about 30 seconds
> Beat in dry ingredients in 4 additions alternately with buttermilk mixture in 3 additions
> Scoop into cupcake tins
> Bake cupcakes until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 20 minutes
> Cool in pans 10 minutes then move onto racks

To make frosting
> In a medium bowl cream together cream cheese and butter with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth
> Slowly sift in confectioners’ sugar and continue beating. Mix until lumps are gone. Add and mix in vanilla and peppermint extract.
> Frost cupcakes and sprinkle with crushed peppermint candies

** Garnish — melted chocolate design (ie xmas tree) w/ colored sprinkles


(Click image to enlarge)

My original idea was for the christmas trees to stand vertical in the “snow” frosting but I should have made the chocolate lines thicker since they kept melting and bending while I was working with them. Also not sure if cream cheese frosting isn’t as thick as other frostings because mine wasn’t strong enough to hold the tree up either. Eventually I just improvised and laid them flat after the 3rd one came crashing down… TIIIIIIMBER! hehee.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He ate 3 of them before I even finished decorating! Guess he liked them? LOL

Wifey rating: A
The frosting is yummy but red velvet isn’t my favorite.

© iheartcuppycakes! 2007-2008 All rights reserved.

10 Comments

  1. Well apparently you’ve gone from zero to amazing in your cooking abilities. I do cakes but I am very impressed by your creativity. I LOVE the chocolate drizzle christmas tree idea. Perhaps this won’t be the most elaborate entry, but you get my vote for most improved. And to think that three months ago you said you couldn’t cook at all.

  2. ZEBE, aaawww thanks so much for your great compliments. It really means alot esp since I’ve seen some of your cakes. I am still learning the technical aspects of decorating (I won’t even tell you how long it took me to fill my piping bag with chocolate. LOL) but I definitely don’t lack from ideas. The problem is getting my ideas to fruition! haha.

  3. Ditto what she said. :) I still remember the oatmeal cookie incident…. LOL!!

  4. NINA, damn you and your memory!! I will remind you that the recipe said “oatmeal” so the recipe was even wrong! Granted I didn’t realize that old fashion and instant oats were different but… its still freaking oats! My 2nd batch was much better, just ask Nikki. She’ll tell you…

  5. Okay holy crap!!! These look amazing!! Are you sure that this is the same Clara that we used to know??? You are doing great! : )

  6. APRIL, haha. Actually I think Sylvia Weinstock has invaded my body. There is no Clara anymore. I am a cupcake decorating clone. LOL.

  7. Love your ring C. ;)

  8. NINA, yes yes. ring is nice BUT what about my chocolate xmas trees?? Let’s get our priorities straight here. haha.

  9. What? You made chocolate Christmas tres? I was just looking at your shiny ring. ::goes back to look for “alleged” chocolate Christmas trees in post::

  10. Clara, they look amazing and yummy.

    ::once again bows to Clara’a cupcake creativity::


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

