500 Cupcake Challenge #3

January 10, 2008 at 6:12 PM | Posted in 500CC, cupcakes | 17 Comments

Eesh.  So sorry about the long absence between challenges.  I’ll try not to let that happen again.  Blame it on the holidays – lack of cupcake baking , weight gain etc etc.  I do.  ;)

As the winner of the Cuppycakes 500 Cupcake Challenge #2, Nikki’s cupcake of choice…

::drum roll please::

CLASSIC CHOCOLATE BUTTERCREAM!
page 32


(Recipe from 500 cupcakes | photos from me!)

Makes 18 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
1 cup (2 sticks) sweet butter, softened
1 cup superfine sugar
1-1/2 cups self-rising flour
1 tsp baking powder
4 tbsp dutch-process cocoa powder
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract

For frosting
1-1/2 cups chopped semisweet chocolate
2 tbsp heavy cream
1/2 cup sweet butter, softened
1-1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes

  • Preheat oven 350 F
  • Place 18 paper baking cups in cupcake pan
  • Combine all the cupcake ingredients in a large bowl and beat with electric mixer until smooth, about 2-3 minutes
  • Spoon batter into the cups
  • Bake 20 minutes
  • Remove pan from oven and cool 5 minutes

To make frosting

  • Put chocolate, cream and butter in a pan over low heat
  • Stir gently until combined
  • Remove from the heat and stir in confectioners’ sugar (Might be helpful to sift confectioners’ sugar to avoid lumps) until mixture is smooth
  • Frost cupcakes

ENJOY!

Husband rating: B/B+
Not his favorite cupcake but he did like the frosting.

Wifey rating: B
I am not sure if its the recipe or the “cupcake-er” but it was kinda dry. I am not a huge fan of chocolate cupcakes so maybe that makes my rating biased too?

Since my tastebuds weren’t satisfied I decided to play around with decor, frosting and photography to satisfy my sweet tooth.

Which creative medium do you like? with the pan, in my hands or all alone?

Also thanks Nikki for being so patient (well as patient as she *could* be and thats not saying much. teehee),  so I am also sending her an exclusive one of a kind Mr. Cuppycakes ornament for my tardiness. See? Sometimes its worth waiting… :)

As always…  Comments gets you cupcakes!   Deadline:  Jan 11th @ 612p PST. Please read here for more information.

Nikki, check your email for your traveling cuppycakes tracking number.  :)

17 Comments

  1. Well, I really LOVE chocolate, but not so sure how I feel about Nikki so… LOL :) These do look really good though!

  2. April I don’t like you anymore. CB you must show the pics of the fondant. They make me all teary and cheesy.

    PS I’m going to win again beeches so don’t bother commenting

  3. NIKKI, dont you worry. I have a whole other BU for the fondant… patience grasshopper!

  4. Your comment about sifting the sugar is very timely. I’ve never had problems with powdered sugar lumps before and I had huge issues with it today. I was using a new brand so I’m assuming it is a brand thing.

  5. ooh oooh ooh i am commenting!!! i like the picture of you holding the cupcake.. oh and

    yeah right nikki, it’s my turn now!!

  6. I’ll let you think you’re going to win for now, but it’s not happening :P

    And CB you know I have Zero patience

  7. CUPCAKEPROJECT, I wonder if it *is* a brand name thing. I used a store-brand-on-sale one and I get lumpy chocolate frosting! But I never had a problem with C&H. go figure. *shrugs. What are you using?

    TATTOOED, thanks for being the one person to answer my damn question! LOL. At least I know you read my entries.

    NIKKI, girl after my own heart. clara= negative patience. teehee.

  8. Those look amazing. Can’t wait to try them.

  9. BROOKIESCOOKIES, I ♥ lurkers! Nice to “meet” you! :)

  10. Wait a minute ! You all know that I’m going to win this time!! :P

    Clara – I also like the picture of you holding them because your hands form a heart and they match the heart on top of the cupcakes!

  11. KRMWV, aaawww I didn’t even notice that. Ok you’re right. Now I like that picture even more!

  12. I was going to say the same thing KRMWV, her hand look like a heart. It’s like the picture reads I (CB in the back) heart (hands in front) cuppycakes!

  13. I think you holding your cupcakes in your hands should be your signature pic :)

  14. BB, you are too smart! kudos to KRMWV and BB for my new profile pic. It fits perfectly. :)

  15. (This 500CC drawing is now closed. Any comments here after will not be entered to win. Sorry, try again on 500CC #4!)

  16. Um I didn’t need to answer … I commented before you posted beech.

  17. ah true. Once again I need to give props. Not only is Nikki a master baker, she is also my photography guru and helped me tweek the hand pic before I posted it. What can I say? She rules, rocks, kicks ass, all of the above. (Nikki, Can I have my money now?)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

