Edible play dough

January 11, 2008 at 7:02 AM | Posted in cupcakes, decor | 11 Comments
Tags:

Fondant is like edible play dough for cupcake-ers…

The first time I was introduced to fondant was while planning my wedding, but let’s just say that I wasn’t a fan of the taste (I think I spit it out!) so we went with buttercream instead for the big day. Now that I am on the other side, the baking one, I can see the versatility of fondant with making some truly amazing edible artwork. I could stare in awe all day at the pictures I’ve found online. I knew that eventually someday I wanted to get my hands “dirty” and join the fun.

I always peruse the cake decorating aisle at my local Michael’s craft store. Last weekend I did a double take and 3 steps back as I was just passing a box of pre-made 4 pastel colored fondant. I figured why not? and took it home with me. Its been sitting in my kitchen pantry, wedged between my cookie cutters and a variety of sprinkles, taunting me to come play. Well… today was the day.

Its nothing too complicated – just a round cookie cutter and alphabet letters but I think they came out pretty cute for my first time! Don’t you think?

Obviously these are for my good friend, NB. Her favorite color is pink and I am pretty sure pink and green were her wedding colors but… don’t quote me on that! I wanted to make her a special cupcake b/c she encourages all my crazy food related projects with her beautiful sarcasm, wit and advice.  She is the queen of peer pressure and likes to drunk text me on occasion but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Everyone should be so lucky to have a friend like her.  ::cheese::

… and off they go to their new home.

© iheartcuppycakes! 2007-2008 All rights reserved.

11 Comments

  1. ::tear:: I wub my cuppys and can’t wait to get them!

  2. NIKKI, uh hun… i don’t know how to break this to you but these are for NB not you. Sorry.

  3. Well farking A

  4. NB NB!! That’s me!!! I think….

  5. Oh nope, just read she likes to drunk text, that’s not me…. :(

  6. Those are so cute! So how did the boxed playdough taste?

  7. NINA, sorry you are my other NB. but don’t worry! I see lots of cuppycakes in your future :)

    BB, I don’t like fondant so I didn’t even taste it!

  8. Darn…I just read that you didn’t taste it. I’m not fan of the taste of fondant myself (plus, it is a bit scary to think about eating something that has been manipulated by hand so many times…like on Ace of Cakes), but I have only tried what my mom makes from scratch. I’ve heard that sometimes the premade boxed stuff can taste a bit better.

    I do love the look of fondant though! It makes such awesome looking creations!

  9. ARMALICIOUS, I ♥ Ace of Cakes! Ok, just for you, the next time I take my fondant out, I’ll taste a little and get back to you, k? ;)

  10. I like working with fondant, but agree that most of it tastes horrible. There a recipe here: http://whatscookingamerica.net/PegW/Fondant.htm
    that’s actually pretty tasty though. It’s a little messy to make, but it tastes so much better than store bought!

  11. LD, wow! thats so awesome. Thanks for the recipe! ps. Nice to “meet” you :)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

