Cupcake Question of the Day

January 26, 2008 at 10:09 AM | Posted in Cupcake Question of the Day, cupcakes | 16 Comments

What’s more important in cupcake, form or function (ie looks or taste)?

I think there’s a balance with form and function for me. You “eat” with your eyes first so it has to be appealing enough to take a bite but if its so elaborate you can’t eat or don’t want to eat it, whats the point IMO? Even though I can appreciate how elaborate and creative ppl are with their cupcake decorations, bottom line for me is the “eat-ability”.  It makes me kinda sad if ppl don’t eat my cupcakes…

(Thanks Racheypoo for the question suggestion!)

16 Comments

  1. I’m a vain mofo so I want my cuppycakes to look good even if they don’t taste great. Isn’t only what’s on the outside that counts?
    Wait, no, I’m wrong ;)
    IT’S ALL ABOUT THE TASTE!

  2. BB, bahahaha. vain cupcakes. love.it. speaking of… i am making your cupcakes this weekend!! I didn’t know you were seeing Rachel yesterday or I would have made them earlier and given them to her to give to you. Darn it!

  3. I want it pretty enough for people to want to eat it. But, I want it to taste AMAZING. That’s the most important thing, for sure.

  4. RACHEYPOO, well said. agreed.

  5. Taste taste Taste. If they taste like butt then it doesn’t matter how good they look, I won’t eat them and the whole point is to eat them

  6. NIKKI, sadly I think your 500CC cupcakes tasted like butt. :(

  7. I think that the taste is probably MORE important…but, that having been said, presentation really does help.

  8. CAKESPY, agreed. ::shaking head emphatically::

  9. I’d have to say an even balance of the two. I have no interest in eating something that doesn’t look yummy.

  10. ALANNA, you speak the truth.

  11. Taste, all the way! Although I’m a stickler for making my food pretty, I think taste is always the winner. My pet hate is when you go to some occasion where there’s a beautifully decorated cake, and then it’s dry or tastes of oil… Such waste!

    By the way, I made peanut butter cupcakes with your recipe today – will post on my blog about it later when I have a bit more time, but they’re very yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

  12. ROSATHEMAD, oh yes, pet peeve #8398231744324. Beautiful but bland = No bueno! So awesome to hear that you liked the PBchoco cupcake. Whats your blog? I can’t wait to see your BU (blog update)!

  13. I hate, hate, hate biting into a dessert that looks awesome, but then tastes like cardboard. I’ve been to way too many conferences where their brownies look awesome but don’t taste anything like chocolate.

    So I prefer the taste, but it really doesn’t take much to make a cupcake look good. Even if you frost with a knife, you can make it look like that’s what you had planned all along. Add a few sprinkles or a dusting of sugar and it can look great!

  14. My blog is http://www.cakesbyrosa.wordpress.com – I’ve just posted about my cupcakes, with a slightly adapted recipe (but of course, still credit where credit is due!). :-) I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for more great cuppycakes recipes!

  15. I’m with you on this one. Eat-ability is my main focus! Mostly because I’m too impatient to decorate them. I just want them in my belly!

  16. ZEBE, I am definitely a garnish girl. Sprinkles, powder sugar, anything like that can go a long way!

    HOWTOEAT, Does it make it a word if 2+ ppl use it? I think so! Eat-ablity is now a word IMO. haha.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

