500 Cupcake Challenge #4

February 1, 2008 at 8:13 PM | Posted in 500CC, cupcakes | 26 Comments
Tags: ,

I am this ::making gesture with index and thumb:: close to chucking the 500 Cupcakes book out the window of my 2nd story apt. The last 3 cupcakes I’ve made from it tasted like butt (put so eloquently by my friend, Nikki. LOL) so I decided to give it one more chance. I am firmly convinced that self-rising flour is my sworn enemy ::shaking fists:: so I made some adjustment accordingly…

WHITE CHOCOLATE & STRAWBERRY
pg. 95


(Recipe from 500 Cupcakes | photos from me!)

Makes 18 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
1 cup (2 sticks) sweet butter, softened
1 cup superfine sugar (I used granulated sugar)
2 cups self-rising flour (I used AP flour)
1 tsp baking powder
4 eggs
1 tsp strawberry extract
1/2 cup white chocolate chips

For frosting
1 cup cream cheese, softened
1-1/2 cups powder sugar, sifted
1 tsp vanilla
3 tbsp sweet butter, softened
3 tbsp, chopped fresh strawberries

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes
Preheat oven to 350F. Place 18 paper baking cups in cupcake pan.

Combine the butter, sugar, flour, baking powder, eggs and strawberry extract in a medium bowl. Beat with an electric mixer until light and creamy, about 2-3 minutes. Stir in chocolate chips.

Spoon batter into cups. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and cool for 5 minutes.

To make frosting
Beat the cream cheese, powder sugar, vanilla and butter until smooth and creamy. Fold in chopped strawberries. Spread frosting on cupcakes.

Store unfrosted in airtight container for up to 2 days, or freeze for up to 3 months.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A-
He liked it but isn’t a fan of white chocolate as much as milk chocolate. He did like the cream cheese frosting alot though. :)

Wifey rating: B+/A-
My expectations weren’t very high considering but these were pretty decent. The frosting was yummy. The cake wasn’t as moist as I usually like but it had an overall good flavor. Its too bad the white chocolate chips didn’t melt more. If I make these again I might melt the chips first and then fold them into the batter. *shrugs

You know the drill! Comments gets you cupcakes! Please read HERE for more information.

DEADLINE: Monday, Feb 4th @ 8:13p PST

BBKIDDO, be on the lookout for your cuppycakes! (FYI I didn’t include the strawberries b/c I thought they might get smushed and spoil in transit. :( )

26 Comments

  1. Burn the book! Burn the Book!

    nft

  2. I think I commented before that I have never used self rising flour. I don’t really understand why this book is so into it. Seems weird to me unless it was sponsored by a self rising flour company!! Have you gone back to try any of the icky recipes with the AP flour? I’m curious if it would make them any better.

  3. NIKKI, bahahaha. You got like a witch hunt mentality with this book doncha?

    DAWN, I made this cupcake with regular ol AP flour (see my notes in red) and it was better. Not sure what the deal is with self-rising with this book. *shrugs

  4. Strawberries are my favorite fruit ever. I am sad these didn’t get a higher rating. Burn the book and start over!

  5. NATALIE, me too!! I ♥ strawberries! They were good just not A+ you know?

  6. Those yummy! I might have to try raspberries as white chocolate and raspberry is Jake’s favorite!

  7. BETH, these really aren’t that bad. Actually I think they are even better the 2nd day. Let me know how it goes if you make it!

  8. that book drives me crazy too!! hahaha..
    I WANT THESE :( I WANT I WANT.
    they always taste better when someone else makes them.

    strawberry + white chocolate.. MY FAV!

  9. TATTOOEDMAMA, tyvm! I was seriously thinking I need to give up this cupcake biz if I can’t make a decent cupcake from this book! I feel better if other ppl have issues too. whew! oh yes… strawberries+white choco=YUMMY!

  10. Ok, I didn’t realize that this was one you had already tried with the SR flour. I know that you made it with AP this time, I just didn’t know if you’d done a side by side comparison.

  11. ZEBE, haha. me confused! This is the first time making the white choco strawberry cupcake and I used AP flour *not* self-rising flour. I guess I haven’t done a side by side comparison with the same cupcake if thats what you mean. I used self-rising on the other 500CC cupcakes though.

  12. Yay Natalie joined the book burning club!

  13. These sound just wonderful! I’m a big fan of strawberry…and white chocolate together is great. I think melting the chocolate in the batter is a great idea.

  14. Forgot to leave my e-mail…clairen(at)earthlink(dot)net

  15. COOKIEDOC, thanky! I totally think that melting the chocolate would be better. Glad you agree! oh and thanks for email. You were the only one who followed directions! I think you should get brownie points. haha. ps. Nice to “meet” you!

  16. Ugh,that book… I heard such mixed reviews that I cheaped out and bought the 500 Cupcakes calender instead. For any of y’all wanting to try it, it’s the same recipes on a day by day box calender, a *lot* cheaper because the year has allready started. What this author’s obsession is with self rising flour I’ll never understand.

    Those cupcakes look so good though, even with my all consuing hatred of white chocolate!

  17. LEMONTARTLET, *gasp* you h-a-t-e white chocolate? Soory LT, I am not sure we can be friends anymore ;)

  18. The look freaking awesome….I LURVE strawberries!!!!!! I want some strawberry cupcakes…

  19. Ain’t it awfull? I tried to outgrow it, but… gah! The last time I tried to work with it, one bite sent the whole thing dumped into the trash, it was even worse than I remembered.

    But… ummm… I love lemon! And fudge! And cream cheese frosting on fudgey cupcakes!

    *sniffle* Love me darn it! (was that a little creepy?)

  20. I am a strawberry lover, too. I am going to try and make these.

  21. ALANNA, I must say… strawberries are my favorite fruit. Any dessert with strawberries I will eat. :)

    LEMON, a tad creepy but I do love you so its all good. Now you got me craving cream cheese fudge-y goodness. Darn you! haha.

    KRMWV, definitely make them! Let me know what you think, k?

  22. Mmm… I want strawberry cuppies! Me me me!!! Pick ME!

  23. LORENA, haha. you know BB get these cupcakes right? But if you win you pick the next cupcake so its all good! ;)

  24. (This 500CC drawing is now closed. Any comments here after will not be entered to win. Sorry, try again on 500CC #5!)

  25. I’ve made these and loved them… the frosting especially! I used nestle white chocolate chips (which arent white chocolate at all!) Next time I make them, I’ll chop up a nice white chocolate bar!

  26. HOWTOEAT, this recipe wasn’t too bad but the other ones I’ve made tasted like butt. Do you use self-rising flour or do you use a substitute (AP, baking powder, salt)?


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

