Cuppycakes Superbowl XLII

February 3, 2008 at 9:45 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 16 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I don’t watch football. I couldn’t even tell you who my local team is (or even if we have one!)

::dodging nachos being thrown @ me::

But I do watch the Superbowl every year with friends. Its tradition! But its more about gorging on yummy, calorie infested, barbeque dripping, tortilla chip double dipping food than the game for me. LOL. Usually I am in charge of some kind of finger food or dip but of course this year I had to bring cupcakes too! I am pretty sure there were no complaints! ;)

When I am bored I make up my own entertainment in my head (like my cartoon idol, Homer Simpson) so in classic Homer-esque fashion, I created my own superbowl game out of my cupcakes. I decided that every cupcake that was eaten from that particular team got a “touchdown” (6 points), any 1/2 eaten cupcakes was a “conversion” (2 points) and any unfinished cupcakes was a “penality” (-1 point). I didn’t tell any of our friends about my cupcake “game rules” so the score is unbiased, authentic and undisputed. teehee…

Wanna know who won my Cuppycake Superbowl? (Scroll to the bottom of blog)

RED VELVET “SUPERBOWL” CUPCAKES


(Recipe from epicurious.com & recipelink.com | photos from me!)

Makes 18 cupcakes
Makes enough frosting for 24 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1-1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
2 ounces water
2 ounces red food coloring
1 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon white vinegar
1 teaspoon baking soda

For frosting
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
6 to 8 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 cup milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
green food coloring

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Prepare 18 cupcake liners.

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs and blend well. Make a paste of cocoa and food coloring and add to the butter mixture. Sift flour and salt together into this mixture. One at a time, add the following ingredients: buttermilk, vanilla, and water.

In a small bowl, combine the vinegar and baking soda. Fold it into the cake batter. Make sure it’s incorporated, but don’t beat it.

Pour the batter into the cupcake tins. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until the cake springs back when touched.

Remove from oven and let cool for about 10 minutes, then turn the cupcakes out of the tins and onto a rack to finish cooling completely.

To make frosting (Vanilla Buttercream)
Place the butter in a large mixing bowl. Add 4 cups of the sugar and then the milk and vanilla. On the medium speed of an electric mixer, beat until smooth and creamy, about 3-5 minutes. Gradually add the remaining sugar, 1 cup at a time, beating well after each addition (about 2 minutes), until the icing is thick enough to be of good spreading consistency. (You may not need to add all of the sugar.)

Add a few drops of green food coloring to get the desired shade and mix thoroughly. (Use and store the icing at room temperature because icing will set if chilled.)

Icing can be stored in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Make footballs out of chocolate covered almonds using #1 or #2 piping tip and draw football field lines with #3 piping tip.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A
He loved the red velvet “cake” but prefers cream cheese frosting to the buttercream.

Wifey rating: A
ditto hubs.

Other rating: A/A+
Everyone raved about how moist the “cake” was but there were mixed feelings about the buttercream. Some said they loved it and others said it was too sweet for them.


FINAL SCORE: Giants 12 | Patriots 12

(whooo hooo! Tie game. Everyone’s a winner! teehee)

© iheartcuppycakes! 2007-2008 All rights reserved.

16 Comments

  1. Cute! I’m glad everyone liked them. I agree with you and T. Red Velvet is much much better with cream cheese frosting. But, I’m glad you went theme. :)

  2. They’re so adorable! I would’ve totally played that game with ya, the one on tv was uber boring. Love to watch football, but the only reason to have watched that game was for the commercials. This recipe looks very tryable, I agree on the cream cheese frosting.

  3. RACHEYPOO, I kept debating on making my usual cream cheese frosting but I wasn’t sure how easy it would be to pipe. ah well… You win some you lose some.

    LEMONTARTLET, oh totally! I come for the food and the commercials. Was it just me or were they not as funny as I remember? My hubs like the e*trade baby ones but to tell you the truth, the talking baby kinda freaked me out! LOL.

  4. I seriously feel like such a creativity slacker lately. I haven’t come up with or done anything fun with frosting in so long. These are adorable, but I don’t think I could ever go to that much trouble for football.

  5. I love them CB! How did you think of using a chocolate covered almond for the football? Genius I tell ya. ;) I’m definetly “star-ing” this idea for football season.

  6. These cupcakes are so cute! I would have totally participated in the cupcake bowl.
    ::bowing to CB, we’re not worthy::

  7. ZEBE, I wouldn’t normally “go to all this trouble for football” but I tend to get into the details for events (ie my wedding).

    NINA, I really can’t take all the credit. I ♥ Google! haha. But I made the little “flags” myself. So I am still a genius right? ;)

    KRMWV, haha sweet! What cupcake “team” would you have eaten?

  8. Very cute CB I wub them!

  9. I get event inspired too, but it also depends on the people who will be around and whether or not they might appreciate the effort. Since I can barely remember the last time we got to hang out with friends, it hasn’t been too inspirational in the food and cake making department. :-( If only some of you lived closer.

  10. The only commercial I really loved was the lizards dancing to Thriller. Why that was so funny I couldn’t say, but I was giggling and doing the Thriller dance right along with them.

  11. NIKKI, thanky MBNB. :)

    ZEBE, oh yeah I hear ya. It definitely depends on the peeps too. I guess I am lucky I get alot of “ooohhhh” and “aaahhhh” from friends and family to keep me inspired. Now if only they could pay me! haha.

    LEMON, me too! omg you have to check out this video then. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3eNN1Us2z14 –> greatest bridal party dance EVER! I totally wanted to get my girls/guys to do a group dance but I was an insane bride with 15 ppl in my bridal party! Getting everyone together to practice was too hard. haha.

  12. So freaking cute!!! You have come a long way since a year ago my dear. :) I could never have the patience to do all of that with icing. Man. I bow to your patient cuppycake making skills. :)

  13. OMG, CB, these are SO cute! I don’t even want to post mine now – there is no way I can follow this!!!

  14. So cute! Okay now you are totally going to laugh at my cuppycakes when I post them.
    BTW, you should be getting a little deva vu feeling tomorrow night . . . .

  15. MRSABY, thanky! Do you remember those UGGO cupcakes I posted back on jknot a LOOONG time ago? Nikki reminded me about them but I cant find them for the life of me! poo. But that would have been a great comparison huh?

    ALANNA, post your damn cupcakes! I wanna see!!

    BB, ditto what I said to Alanna. oooh deja vu? I am intrigued…

  16. Okay…I posted. Just no making fun! :)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

