Cadbury Marshmallow Creme “Egg” Cupcakes

March 13, 2008 at 12:47 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 21 Comments
Tags: ,

I was working on my Cupcake Hero entry but it didn’t turn out the way I wanted so I decided to improvise and play around with my take on a cadbury “egg” cupcake. Now this is my kind of breakfast! LOL


(Recipe adapted from Cupcake Bakeshop & recipezaar | photos from me!)

Makes about 15 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For chocolate cupcakes
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temp
1-1/4 cups sugar
2 large eggs, room temp
3/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoons vanilla

For marshmallow creme “egg”
1/4 cup light corn syrup
1/8 cup butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup marshmallow creme
2 drops yellow food coloring
1 drops red food coloring

[NOTES: Next time I make this I’ll probably add more powder sugar, maybe 2 cups, or reduce the amt of marshmallow creme b/c it was a little runny and hard to work with.]

INSTRUCTIONS

To make marshmallow creme “egg”—

Combine the corn syrup, butter, vanilla, and salt in a large bowl. Beat well with an electric mixer until smooth. Add powdered sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, mixing by hand after each addition. Mix well until creamy. Then add marshmallow creme. Mix until well combined.

Remove about 1/3 of the mixture and place it into a small bowl. Add the yellow and red food coloring to the 1/3 mixture. Adjust food coloring to your desired “yolk” shade. Cover both mixtures and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or until firm. (I think overnight is better.)

Prepare a well greased or parchment lined baking sheet. When the mixtures are firm, take about 1/2 tsp of white filling and place on the baking sheet. Using your fingers spread the filling out to the desired “egg” shape. (Its helpful to have a little bowl of warm water nearby to dip your spreading finger in to keep your finger from sticking.) Then take about 1/4 tsp orange filling and dollop in the middle for the “yolk” of the white filling. Repeat process. Makes 12-14 “sunny side up eggs”. Freeze for 2-4 hours until set.

To make cupcakes—

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Beat butter until softened. Add sugar and beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until well combined.

Measure the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder into a small sized bowl and whisk to combine. Measure out the milk and vanilla and stir to combine

Add about a third of the dry ingredients to the butter/sugar and beat to combine. Add about a half of the milk/vanilla and beat to combine. Continue adding, alternating between dry and wet and finishing with the dry.


Now thats how you scrape out a bowl!

Scoop batter into cupcake cups about 2/3 full. Bake cupcakes for about 22-25 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.

Let cupcakes cool before adding “egg” to the top. (I would probably pop the cupcake+egg into the freezer/frig so the egg sets before serving.)


(I was a little to excited and didn’t wait long enough to cool so the “egg” melted. I guess you could say I got a runny side up egg! Do as I say not as I do. LOL)

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A+
The marshmallow creme egg is so yummy (I could eat it by the spoonful sans cupcake) but the “egg” doesn’t make alot per cupcake. It was a good balance for me but if you have a sweet-er tooth you might want a double stack “egg”. The chocolate cake was so good. I think this will be my go-to chocolate cake recipe from now on…

21 Comments

  1. those are AWESOME. I’ve never seen anything like them! You never cease to amaze, sensei.

  2. Haha, I like the bowl scraping picture. I actually thought of that exact thing last night as I was pouring batter into cake pans.

  3. I think these look terrific! I’ve already tried twice on the marshmallow cupcake hero. It’s kicking my butt. I don’t know if there will be a third time, but I might try making these instead!

  4. ANDREA, you are easily impressed huh? same here! thats why my egg cupcakes crack me up! So… everytime you write sensei I feel like I should go buy a ninja robe and some nunchunks! haha.

    ZEBE, Suavez le cupcake batter! LOL

    MARY, 2x already? you have more patience than me. Whats the marshmallow problemo chica?

  5. I was totally planning on trying this myself! Oh well, too late!

  6. CHOCKYLIT, haha really? I must have been channeling your cupcake energy. You should still do it anyways! You’re my cupcake idol!

  7. I loooove creme eggs. I have thought about putting the goo inside a cupcake too. Youre onto something.. :)

  8. SLUSH, I am a cadbury egg addict! See that was my original plan. To make a cadbury egg cupcake (as in filling inside the chocolate cupcake) but it didn’t work out as well as I planned. But I got a couple more tricks up my sleeve so I definitely wanna try again!

  9. These are super fun! I love the look of a fried egg on top!

  10. GRETCHEN, thanky! isn’t it egg-cellent? HAHA! I “crack” myself up!

  11. Yeah, my first attempt at the marshmallow theme..I wasn’t too impressed…but I’m trying again. My frosting just won’t hold up..very runny. *pouts*
    And of course mine just looks like a goop mess instead of a cute egg like yours!

  12. oh my gosh, these are soo cute! You should make them on April Fools Day. :)

  13. Those are so precious! I love the little eggs, I think the melty runny-nes makes them even cuter. How’d they taste?

  14. SUZY Q-ZY, really? I was planning to do a marshmallow frosting too. I wonder why its goopy. If at first you don’t succeed… eat the goop! hehe.

    NINA, April fools? explain.

    KRISTINA, oops I forgot my rating! thanks for reminding me. They were quite good IMO. I usually only eat 1 cupcake of any batch I bake but I ate 3 of these! YUMMO!

  15. April Fools Day, when you try to trick people? It looks like it’s an egg, but it’s really not!

  16. […] https://iheartcuppycakes.wordpress.com/2008/03/13/cadbury-marshmallow-creme-egg-cupcakes/Bake cupcakes for about 22-25 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Let cupcakes cool before adding “egg” to the top. (I was a little to excited and didn’t wait long enough to cool so the “egg” melted. Do as I say not as I do. … […]

  17. NINA, ah gotcha! Fun idea :)

  18. […] Cadbury Marshmallow Creme “Egg” Cupcakes This one has to win the most unique prize!  Besides, for me … next to the famous Peeps – Cadbury Eggs are my favorite Easter candy!  Again, I edited this recipe to start with your own favorite cake mix.  For the full recipe, visit IHeartCuppyCakes.Wordpress.com […]

  19. I love Cadbury eggs and my son can’t have them since he has a dairy-allergy. How much did the topping taste like Cadbury egg filling? They look awesome!

  20. MAGGIE, I love cadbury eggs and I think the filling was amazing but I added the marshmallow creme to mine. If you click on the link I provided you’ll find the original recipe. I didn’t do it exactly that way but I think its very close to what the filling tastes like. GL!

  21. […] Homemade Marshmallow Creme Egg Cupcakes […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

