Robotic cupcakes

March 24, 2008 at 2:48 PM | Posted in technology, youtube | 15 Comments

Whoa. Has it really been 5 days since my last update? I’ll try not to let that happen again. ;) Did you all miss me? (Come on… show me some love! Huh huh? Nikki? anyone? haha)

A couple weeks ago I got an email from an IHC reader that included the following youtube links asking for my feelings on the matter. They are short and contain no dialogue but they gave me a thoughtful revelation at the end… Where have all the cupcake decorators gone?


Click image to play video

Want to see more? Click here, here and here.

What do you think? Leave me a comment.

I’ll post my thoughts in a follow up entry…

Thanks Rebecca for sharing the youtube video links. Rock on with your bad cake decorating self!

15 Comments

  1. Nooooo! I hate that this too is turning into mindless machine work. I love the personal touch that decorating cakes leaves. When I get/give a decorated cake/cupcake I know the many hours (minutes :) ) of time and love that went into making it beautiful. Stupid machines… ::kicks rocks on ground::

  2. […] dotmrt wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWhoa. Has it really been 5 days since my last update? I’ll try not to let that happen again. Did you all miss me? (Come on… show me some love! Huh huh? Nikki? hehe) […]

  3. Boo on being outsourced to a machine!

  4. That just stinks!

  5. ::rubs eyes, blinks::

  6. There probably tasteless, as it is mindless.

  7. That makes me die a little inside, and also glad that I don’t buy those things. I think I’ll stick with my own crappy decorating, thank you very much!

  8. ohh i missed you … wait I still got my CB love bahaha I’m cooler than the rest of you :P

    Um ya, that is some BS

  9. Well that’s kinda creepy. But the cake and frosting on these types of cakes usually taste yucky anyway. SO let them be automated and creepy, I’m not buying them.

  10. Wow. As much as I would sometimes like a machine to do the work after a long day of baking, it would certainly take the satisfaction out of the end product!

  11. Um, is that the Entenmann’s Factory? Hmm. I have missed you! Glad you’re back!! ( I thought for sure I’d see some Easter cuppies on here yesterday!)

  12. It’s about time. I was having CB withdrawls!!

    And boo on the robot!

  13. Well on the one hand it does bring down the cost involved. Goodness knows those carrots were probably more consistently cuter than my own. And no carpal tunnel problems. ;-)
    But I think a lot of the beauty in cake decorating is in the imprecise stuff. A rose in nature isn’t perfect, I like more natural looking roses when I decorate too. I bet if you put 30 robotic cakes next to one human decorated cake, we would naturally be drawn to the one cake that is just slightly different from the 30 other perfectly same ones. And these robots are only capable of decorating to what they have been programmed for~ no real creativity. Which is what makes decorated cakes so special!

  14. It makes me sad! My heartbeat quickens as soon as I realize I’m getting close to “decorating” time! When you pour your heart & soul into even a tiny litle cuppy, it makes a WORLD of a difference. I am PROUD to stand at the end of the day covered in flour, sugar, and even spats of icing from piping-bags-gone-bad! :-)

  15. I was wondering where you were!!! I check the site almost daily and I was sad!!!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

