Master Baker #2: [Easter Candy]

March 26, 2008 at 2:38 PM | Posted in Master Baker | 26 Comments
Tags: ,

There’s something about funfetti cake mix that brings people together. Even the most hard nosed anti-cake mix-ers will agree. Am I right? I think it was one of the first baking bonding moments I had with Nikki, our esteemed Master Baker hostess, and at that moment I knew that we were confectionately connected.

One of my favorite childhood memories was baking my funfetti cake mix birthday cake with my mom. I am sure I got sick off the batter many times! Hey, its hard to refrain from licking your cake batter fingers when you are 9 year old! Oh who am I kidding…? I still lick my fingers. LOL

For this challenge, I knew I wanted to bring some of that nostalgia back when creating this cupcake esp after learning Master Baker April ingredient was easter candy. One of my favorite non-chocolate candies are jelly beans but not just any jelly beans… they have to be Jelly Bellly jelly beans. Call me a jelly bean snob but I won’t eat any other jelly beans. LOL. I may be in the minority when I say that the buttered popcorn is my favorite.

In an attempt to reminisce about my childhood and incorporate jelly beans all in a cupcake package…

Faux-fetti Jelly Bean Cupcakes w/ Marshmallow Buttercream frosting


Click image to enlarge
(Recipe adapted from Cooks.com| photos from me!)

Makes about 20 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup miniature jelly beans, cut in half (I used Jelly Belly variety pack)
1 cup sugar
1 cup butter, softened
1 (8 oz) pkg. cream cheese, softened
1 tsp vanilla
3 eggs
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

For frosting
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 jar (7 oz) marshmallow cream
1 cup powder sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup sweetened coconut
1-2 drops green food coloring

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cupcake pan with liners.

In small bowl toss jelly beans with 2 tablespoons of the flour. Set aside.

In large bowl, beat sugar, butter, cream cheese and vanilla until well blended. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add remaining flour, baking powder and salt. Blend well. Stir jelly beans into batter.

Spoon into cupcake liners. Bake for 20-22 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center of cupcake comes out clean. Cool upright in pan 10 minutes.

To make frosting—
Beat butter in a medium bowl with mixer on medium speed until creamy. Beat in marshmallow cream. When well blended, beat in powder sugar and vanilla. Increase speed to high and beat for 3-4 minutes until frosting is fluffy.

To assemble cupcake—
Frost cupcake. Toss coconut and food coloring in a ziplock bag and sprinkle each cupcake with the desired amount of “grass”. Garnish with 3 jelly beans and fondant bunnies.

Wanna know how I made the bunnies? Just ask… Its so easy!

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A/A-
The “cake” was a little more dense than I prefer but biting into the jelly bean innards is yummy. I really liked the frosting and licked my fingers more than once.

Other rating: A-
My little brother loved the frosting but thought the “cake” was good but not his favorite.

26 Comments

  1. My boys would probably love them. However, I am slightly repulsed and intrigued at the same time. Im not big on jelly beans.

  2. SLUSH, bahaha. I think T shares your sentiment and thats why there is no husband rating on this one.

  3. OMG I swear I was going to do this exact same cupcake! But my jelly beans disapeared when I went to put them in, I was so sad. Glad to know they turn out though, I was afraid they would burn in the cake becuase of the dense sugar.

  4. Sooooooo, how’d “you” make the bunnies? ;) Super cute by the way…

  5. BB, really? GMTA! You should still make your version too. I wanna see!

  6. NINA, thanky. about the bunnies… how much is it worth to you? haha.

  7. omg I love the buttered popcorn Jelly Bellys as well! Looks great.

  8. Ok, I’m gagging over the thought of popcorn JBs in cupcakes. Actually, I think they are gross no matter what. Back around Nikki’s bday I was trying to figure out how I could fake the funfetti. Aside from adding sprinkles I couldn’t think of anything. This is a neat & flavorful way. I might cut the JB’s into 4ths though just to spread them out between bites.

  9. I love those bunnies…!! And what a novel idea for the beans in the cuppies.

  10. ooooh so colorful and jelly-bean happy!!! and yes, “jelly-bean happy” is a legitimate adjective. I love it!

  11. CB rocks my socks!

  12. JEN, w00t! Another buttered popcorn lover!

    ZEBE, boo. buttered popcorn hater! I thought about cutting the jelly beans smaller too but I got a little lazy. Not sure if I could do fourths… maybe 3rds though?

    MARA, thanky! I think they turned out pretty darn cute :)

    ALLISON, oh I agree. jelly-bean happy is definitely a legit phrase. I think I will steal. haha.

    NIKKI, YRMSO. IWMBNB.

  13. These should win for cute festiveness alone lol annd butter popcorn is my favorite jelly belly too!

  14. KRISTINA, aawww thanks! You hear that Nikki?? haha. w00t another butter popcorn lover!

  15. aw man, I was also thinking the same thing for MBer this month. Looks even better than I imagined it though. Great work CB!

  16. ANDREA, GMTA! too bad I beat ya! haha. but honestly you can still use it as a base and get creative with it, right? :)

  17. I wish I could bake right now because those cupcakes look seriously fantastic! Jelly beans are my favorite!

  18. MARY, thanky! Give me them a try and let me know what you think!

  19. These look especially adorable! I love the topping as well. It reminds me of my easter baskets as a child!

  20. GRETCHEN, aawww thanks! I love when cupcakes can make ppl nostalgic. It adds a great dimension to the dessert. :)

  21. […] Jelly Bean Cupcakes – Iheartcuppycakes – CB […]

  22. Ooh! I am VERY intrigued by these! So saving in the “to try” folder. :)

  23. KRISTEN, awesome. definitely let me know what you think! :)

  24. Love the cupcakes! They would be great for a school Easter party!

  25. IDA, Oh I can definitely see them at a school Easter party!

  26. hi :) how did you make the bunnies?


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

