Meet the classics

April 7, 2008 at 9:09 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 17 Comments
Tags: ,

Before I left for Chicago I (foolishly?) took an order for some cupcakes for T’s department meeting. Seeing as I only got 5 hours of continuous sleep the whole weekend, (Thanks alot Nikki), I was barely conscious this morning to bake 48 cupcakes. Thankfully I was able to reference my previous post and see the top 2 classic cupcake contenders. I love when I don’t have to make decisions…

T was slightly disappointed that his beloved red velvet didn’t make the cut though but I explained that majority rules and my readers had made the decision for me so my hands were tied. LOL.

Since this was my biggest order I didn’t have a container to hold all of them. My go-to cupcake carrier has been letting me down lately since the top “shelf” is starting to sag in the middle and smoosh the cupcakes below. I knew I had to think of something else to deliver these cupcakes to T’s work.

*light bulb*

My Wilton cake teacher has been telling me about this great cake store that she goes to for supplies. I never quite seem to have the time to drive down but today I hoped they could help my cupcake delivery problem. When I walked in I was speechless. I rapidly scanned the room and noticed various cake pans, fondant cutters, frillions of sprinkles and jimmies in every color/flavor, piping tips and… boxes! One of the owners helped me find the perfect box with little plastic inset for all the cupcakes. I wish I had more time to browse but I’ll definitely be back!

Check out their website: ABC Cakes
(The website leaves a little to be desired but the store is a cupcake-er’s dream)

Classic Cupcakes, Vanilla-Vanilla and Vanilla-Chocolate

INGREDIENTS

For vanilla cupcakes | Recipezaar.com
Makes ~18 cupcakes
2 cups all-purpose flour
1-1/2 cups sugar (can use 1-1/4 cup for a less sweeter taste)
2-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup shortening (very soft but not melted, Crisco is best)
3/4 cup half-and-half cream (or milk)
1 tablespoon vanilla (or use 1-1/2 teaspoons almond extract)
2 large egg

For chocolate buttercream | Cupcake Bakeshop
Frost ~12-24 cupcakes depending on your piping
1 stick butter
1/2 cup cocoa
4 cups confectioner’s sugar
~1/4 cup milk

For vanilla buttercream | Recipelink.com
Frosts ~12 cupcakes
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
3-4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoons vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Set oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, mix together the flour with sugar, baking powder and salt until combined.

Add in the shortening cream or milk, vanilla and eggs; beat on medium speed of an electric mixer scraping the bowl constantly until just blended (the batter will be thick, if desired you may add in a few more tablespoons cream or milk).

Pour into paper-lined regular size muffin tins filling under just three-quarters full. Bake for 20-22 minutes or until the cupcakes test done (do not overbake as they will be dry).

Cool completely before frosting.


Click image to enlarge

To make chocolate buttercream—
Beat butter on high for about 30 seconds until soft. Add cocoa and 1 cup of sugar and beat until incorporated. Add half of the milk and the remainder of sugar and beat until incorporated. Continue to add milk until you get to the consistency you want.


Click image to enlarge

To make vanilla buttercream—
Place the butter in a large mixing bowl. Add 4 cups of the sugar and then the milk and vanilla. On the medium speed of an electric mixer, beat until smooth and creamy, about 3-5 minutes.

Gradually add the remaining sugar, 1 cup at a time, beating well after each addition (about 2 minutes), until the icing is thick enough to be of good spreading consistency. You may not need to add all of the sugar. If desired, add a few drops of food coloring and mix thoroughly. (Use and store the icing at room temperature because icing will set if chilled.) Icing can be stored in an airtight container for up to 3 days.


Click image to enlarge

To assemble cupcakes—
Fill 2 piping bags (1 chocolate and 1 vanilla) with frosting and use a 1M piping tip to frost each cupcake with desired frosting flavor. Decorate with gold dragees and fondant letters.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He had the vanilla-vanilla and said it was almost as good as the red velvet… almost. ;)

Wifey rating: A
I had the vanilla-chocolate and it was a divine combination.

Other rating: A+
T’s CWs all raved about both the vanilla-vanilla and the vanilla-chocolate. T said there really wasn’t a clear favorite between the 2 esp since there were none left!

17 Comments

  1. I cannot believe you made these this morning! Good job. They look tasty, so tasty they could be illegal!

  2. RACHEL, yup started at 630am. I know. I am insane. Thats why bedtime come early tonight. Zzzzz…

  3. You know, there may not be a Michaels in my county, but my tiny little town over here in Nowhere, Ohio has the greatest little mom and pop store that has pretty much every cake decorating thing I could ever need. The liners you have are washable (at least by hand, I don’t have a dishwasher) and the box won’t get too dingy until like the 4th time you use it. What I do is just keep replacing the box. I LOVE transporting my cupcakes that way!

  4. Beautiful! I’ll take a half dozen of each flavor please. :)

  5. Yumm, they look delicious! And, extra props for making them in the morning, I can barely pour cat food that early, much less bake lol

  6. MARY, gmta! My box didn’t get dirty at all and I cleaned out the liner by hand and its good as new! Definitely can be reusable.

    NINA, move closer to me and you can have cupcakes anytime! oh wait… maybe thats not a good thing huh? haha

    KRISTINA, Actually I am usually a morning person but lack of sleep did make this particular morning a bit harder to bake. LOL

  7. I LOVE a good cake store!! Be careful though, they can get very costly. I know you know what I’m talking about. I hate having to bake in the morning and then feeling rushed & uninspired for being creative. They look great though. I can’t believe you presented them with illegal draggees though!

  8. can’t believe you did these last minute and they still look absolutely gorgeous! i love the classic flavors/style.

  9. ZEBE, oh yeah I am sure I could go broke in that store. I debated about the dragees but looks won out over the law. LOL

    MIMI, aawwww what a sweet thing to say! thank you!

  10. Cute cupcakes! Perfectly frosted :)

  11. GIGI, thank you! Frosting is my favorite. ;)

  12. Love the fondant letters! GREAT JOB!

  13. CARACAKES, thanky!

  14. these cupcakes looks so good!

  15. AAMENA, I think from all the raves everyone agrees they were yummy! :)

  16. […] Vanilla buttercream frosting […]

  17. Isn’t that store great?! my mom took me there, the cashier was so surprised when i bought alot of those decorations, lolz that place is awesome!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

