Did I do that? Cupcakes

April 14, 2008 at 8:06 PM | Posted in blog event, cupcakes | 14 Comments

My good friend, Leigh, is hosting the breakfast club challenge focusing on cliques and food. This month is NERDS. Now I know you won’t believe me when I tell you this, but I was considered a nerd back in the day (No really its true!) so this challenge didn’t take me long to decide what I wanted to do.

My favorite nerd of all time has to be Steve Urkel from Family Matters. I use to watch that show every Friday night on TGIF. After it got canceled I still found myself watching the reruns so many times that I could repeat episodes line by line. Ah good times… His tagline: “Got any cheeeeeeeese?” *snort* laugh *snort* is my inspiration for this nerd-alicious cupcake.

If the cupcake isn’t enough nerd for you… check out this comic. My sister by another mother, Nikki, recently got me addicted to these comics that celebrate romance, sarcasm, math and language. Personally this is my favorite one! LMAO.

Mac & Cheese Cupcakes w/ Cheesy Mascarpone Frosting


(Recipe adapted from epicurious | photos from me!)

Makes 12 “cupcakes”

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
8 ounces small elbow macaroni
Olive oil
1 1/2 cups whole milk
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Salt to taste
2 cups sharp cheddar
Butter (I used cooking spray)
Seasoned bread crumbs
1/4 cup scallions, chopped

For frosting
8 oz mascarpone cheese
1/4 cup powdered cheese
1/2 cup heavy cream

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes
Preheat oven to 350°F.

Cook the macaroni until tender. Drain, toss with a little bit of the oil, and set aside.

In a medium nonstick saucepan, whisk together the milk and cornstarch until well blended. Stirring often, bring to a boil over medium heat. Stir in the mustard, pepper, and salt. Reduce heat to low and simmer until thickened. Stir in the cheddar until it melts, then fold in the macaroni.

Butter a cupcake pan and coat with the bread crumbs. (Be sure to shake off the excess.)

Fold the scallions into the macaroni mixture. Spoon the mixture into the pans and top with bread crumbs, parmesan cheese and mozzarella to taste.

Bake until golden on top, 15 to 25 minutes.

To make frosting
In KA mixer fitted with the paddle attachment beat the mascarpone, cream and powder cheese until medium-soft peaks form, 1 to 2 minutes. Be careful not to overbeat. Dollop frosting onto cupcake. Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese “jimmies”.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A
I prefer “sweet” cupcakes but this savory cupcake definitely brought out the nerd in me. I think the “cupcake” is yummy plain with no other bells and whistles but I know some cupcake-ers that have a more discriminating taste *ahem* Laurie *ahem* so I provided a frosting recipe that would complement this cupcake well for those naked cupcake haters out there.

14 Comments

  1. You? A nerd? I never would have guessed bahaha

  2. NIKKI, I know. Its hard to believe. Obviously I hide it well… ;)

  3. love the idea!

  4. BB, haha. thanks. Sometimes its fun to be silly. :)

  5. very interesting idea (I was a nerd too!)

  6. Um, being a giant nerd, I have to tell you I found the comic HILLARIOUS! I forwarded it to my sister, who also happens to be a giant nerd. Thank you!

  7. whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat?

  8. BETH, ruh oh? interesting is a word you use when you have nothing nice to say! LOL

    MARY, Omg, right?! I was laughing for a good 10 minutes. Even after I stopped laughing I would remember it again and start laughing more!

    APRIL, ::kissy lips, flashing my sign::

  9. As a nerd/geek/dork, I really should participate in this challenge lol What an innovative idea for a nerd-cake :D

  10. KRISTINA, Gotta love nerds. Nerd-cake. So funny!

  11. Gee, it really is too bad that half of the ingredients are on my “do not eat” list. These have me cringing…eek.

  12. ZEBE, aawwww well suckypoo. I guess you aren’t a nerd huh? ;)

  13. Love it! You know I wanna make these, even found marscapone cheese just for it! D will laugh his butt off when I make them!

  14. LT, fabulous! Personally I liked just the cupcake but the frosting is a nice little touch ;)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

