Mother’s Day Cupcakes

May 11, 2008 at 8:03 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 37 Comments
Tags: ,

This afternoon, as we drove past multiple street side flower vendors, I asked T if he thought that more flowers were sold on Valentines’ Day or Mother’s Day. He said his guess would be Mother’s Day. After I asked why, he explained that not everyone has a Valentine but everyone has a mother…

Today the federal government designates on the calendar that we honor our mothers. I try to honor my mother more than that but my life gets kinda crazy and sometimes its easy to forget to celebrate that my mom is the reason I exist in this world. I have to admit its good to have this calendar reminder once a year to make sure my mom gets her just desserts (pun intended! LOL).

Even though my mom and I have had a-not-so-perfect relationship over the years I still respect and love her more than any woman in this world. She has sacrificed so much to give me the life that she never had as a little girl in Vietnam. Bad or good… She’s my mom and she’s the only one I have. I cherish her.

It is also my good fortune that I have another mother to honor on this Mother’s Day – my husband’s mother. I am pretty lucky to have 2 such amazing women in my life as role models. They are the inspiration for my Mother’s Day cupcakes. I wanted to create something that separately could stand alone on its own, but combined together could produce something even more beautiful. Thats how I feel about my 2 moms and the new union of our 2 families.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there. You are the boo-boo kissers, the mac&cheese makers, the birthday cupcake bakers… You truly make the world go round.

Chocolate Cupcakes w/ Choco-Nilla Pink Swirl Buttercream
(Recipe adapted from Cupcake Bakeshop | photos from me!)


Click image to enlarge

Makes about 15 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For chocolate cupcakes
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temp
1-1/4 cups sugar
2 large eggs, room temp
3/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoons vanilla

For chocolate and vanilla buttercream
2 sticks butter
7 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup cocoa powder
red food coloring or paste, to desired shade (I used Wilton burgandy)

white fondant
daisy fondant cutter
pink dragees

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat oven to 375F degrees.

Beat butter until softened. Add sugar and beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until well combined.

Measure the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder into a small sized bowl and whisk to combine. Measure out the milk and vanilla and stir to combine.

Add about a third of the dry ingredients to the butter/sugar and beat to combine. Add about a half of the milk/vanilla and beat to combine. Continue adding, alternating between dry and wet and finishing with the dry.

Scoop batter into cupcake cups about 2/3’s full. Turn oven down to 350 degrees and bake cupcakes for about 22-25 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.

Cool completely before frosting.

To make frosting—
Beat butter until creamy, scrape bowl. Add 5 cups of sifted powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla, beat until combined. Add more powdered sugar until you get to the consistency you want (not too stiff so that its hard to pipe)

Take out half of the buttercream and reserve, this is your vanilla. Using food coloring, tint to desired “pink” shade.

Add the cocoa powder to the remaining half and beat to combine, you might need to add a little milk if its too stiff, this is your chocolate buttercream.

To make daisy—
Roll out fondant to 1/8 inch thick.


I have the Wilton rolling pin that has rubberbands that help roll out 1/8 inch thickness for me. Its sweet!

Cut 2 daisy shapes with cutter. Use a toothpick to make indentation into each petal. With a small paintbrush (or fingertip) apply some vanilla extract as “glue” to one daisy and attach the other daisy on top. Dap a bit of frosting on the dragee to “glue” in the center of flower. Repeat to make as many daisies as you desire.


Click image to enlarge

To assemble cupcake—
Fill pastry bag with both the pink-vanilla and chocolate buttercream, one on opposite side from the other. Do not mix them together to keep the colors separate until you pipe onto the cupcake.

Garnish with daisy fondant decor and package in cute 4 cupcake holder box.


Click image to enlarge

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A+
This is my go-to chocolate and buttercream frosting recipes. They did not disappoint.

Other rating: A+
Both moms loved the presentation and raved many times esp after they tasted it. Chocolate is always a crowd pleaser IMO. Add in some pink and how could any mom resist? ;)

37 Comments

  1. Those may just be the cutest cupcakes you have ever blogged! I love them! They remind me of neapoltian icecream, yummy :)

  2. These are so cute! I love the frosting. That’s totaly cool!

  3. holy guacamole. Those are adorable. I want to live in your brain for a day.

  4. These are just adorable. You make me want to play with fondant. :)

  5. ADHEREDIA, aawwww thats the best compliment ever. Neapolitan ice cream is so yum!

    MARY, thanks chica! I was really happy with the way the frosting came out. Gotta love when frosting can make you smile right? :)

    ANDREA, haha. trust me. You do not want to live in my brain. Its a scurry place. ;)

    GRETCHEN, fondant is fun! I am not as fondant crazy as other cupcake-ers b/c I tend on the less is more but I still awe over what some cupcake-ers can create with it. Its crazy!

  6. These are sooo cute! I could definetely see these being sold in a high-end cupcakery. :)

  7. NINA, aawwww you’re too sweet ♥

  8. You made me sniffle! Those really are the best, we were just talking about pink and brown weren’t we?

  9. LT, yup! our pink+brown convo inspired the colors. I love how they look. I am thinking blue+brown for father’s day now. ;)

  10. These are so so so super cute!! I lack your creativity on so many levels. I bow to you!

  11. NATALIE, thankyousomuch! I was just looking at some other cupcake-ers’ blogs and feeling like such a newb. Some of these girls are just phenomenal compared to what I can do. Appreciate you stroking my ego a little. HAHA!

  12. Awesome cupcakes as usual. I Love the frosting! I’ll have to try that soon;)

  13. LAURA, thanky! Don’t you love that frosting? I am totally digging that dual “color” swirl affect right now.

  14. help! i have made that chocolate cupcake recipe THREE times and every time the cupcakes sink, deflate, fall (you get the idea!) and are so sad. :( the first time, i over filled them. totally my fault and i did hear about that warning. the next time i bought brand new baking soda, baking powder, oven thermometer AND made sure not to overfill. the didn’t overflow, looked perfect and THEN right as they were almost finished baking…ppphhhhffff. deflate, again. any recommendations for my flop?

  15. AMY, oh no! How long did you bake them? Did you preheat at 375F and then turn down the oven to 350F before baking? How much did you fill? I am starting to do slightly more than 1/2 lately… Don’t worry! We’ll figure it out!

  16. oh by the way I made the apple martini cupcakes and they were a HUGE hit! I just posted pics of them.

  17. LAURA, rock on! So glad your fam loved them! ::off to see your pictures::

  18. Very cute! What I would give to have that kind of time for creativity these days.

  19. I’m very envious of your swirls, girly! you have no idea. And, why not going green and brown for the swirl on father’s day?

    And since I’m nosy and ready above with the comment on amy’s deflating cupcakes, I say: treat it like a souffle. No loud noises, no poking them, don’t slam the oven door closed and don’t even look at them funny. Treat them gently and lovingly, trust when they are done. If you can afford the oven, crack open the door and let them cool there for a bit.

  20. ZEBE, thanks babe. Don’t worry. I have no doubts that your creativity will come back with a vengeance!

    BOMBSHELL, could definitely do green+brown for father’s day. Thanks for your insight for Amy. Appreciate any and all suggestions since I am stumped by her cupcake deflation too!

  21. those are DARLING CB!!!

    where do you get your cupcake box ? i only have the cupcake covered wilton one and i am not a pattern girl.

  22. MARA, TYVM! Don’t you love the boxes? I am not a pattern girl either. I like it clean and simple so that the focus is on whats inside. I buy my boxes in bulk from BRP boxshop. They also sell the inserts so I love it! Hope that helps! :)

  23. These are beautiful CB, you’ve got one lucky mom :)

    Hit me up in the email about our cupcake arrangement, I’m not in a rush but I’m really excited. I want to do a post on my blog about them when you send them :-P

  24. S.LOVE, thankyou! YGM.

  25. Looks fantastic

  26. TINA, thanky! Appreciate the compliments! :)

  27. AMY, I am still thinking about your “sinking” dilemma and was wondering if you ever open the oven prematurely? I would recommend letting your cupcakes bake at least until 3/4s of the time as passed if you feel the urge to open the oven to check on them. Also try not to slam the oven door. Trust me I get antsy too! Also make sure you are measuring the baking powder accurately. Too much can make them rise too fast and eventually sink. HTH!

  28. i’m going to try it another time this week or next. i can’t remember if i turned the oven temp down . . . ? ? ? maybe that’s my problem, but i feel like i followed the recipe to a tee. haha. however, that doesn’t mean anything if i can’t really remember! i didn’t open the oven, but i’ll be sure to walk away from the oven next time. keep you posted. thanks for the help!

  29. These cupckaes are just beautiful. I think it’s wonderful that you honoured both your mother and mother-in-law on Mother’s Day. They must have been so happy and so proud!

  30. LILIANA, thank you! I think thats one of the things that I love about cupcakes – you can customize it for any occasion – and I hope they both enjoyed eating them too! ;)

  31. Love the swirl!

  32. SWEET&SAUCY, me too! I am kind of obsessed with that dual color frosting now. haha

  33. very adorable & appetizing cupcakes :)

  34. AMBER, thank you! I think that sums it up really well…

  35. Another great cupcake – I’m glad I found your site! I like the color combinations in these.

  36. HILLARY, aawww you’re too sweet! I am glad you found me too. Thanks for coming out of lurk-dom to day HI! :)

  37. Sometimes my cupcakes deflate completely, its sooo sad!
    I’ve been doing some research and apparently over mixing the batter may also cause deflating and not adding enough eggs too.
    Hope that helps!

    Source: http://cupcakestakethecake.blogspot.com/2008/04/cupcake-baking-advice.html


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

