PYB Cupcakes

May 20, 2008 at 9:25 PM | Posted in cupcakes, decor | 28 Comments
Tags: ,

Don’t ask me why but I had PYT by Michael Jackson stuck in my head last Friday so it became the inspiration for this cupcakes’ namesake.

These cupcakes were created for my dear friend, Rachel and her BFF. She’s the maid of honor for her best friend Jill’s wedding this summer. Even though I haven’t had the privilege of meeting Jill face-to-face, I feel like I know her b/c Rachel speaks so highly of her all the time. I knew whatever I created for Jill had to be special b/c the cupcakes were kicking off their fabulous girls only weekend before Jill-the-bride becomes Jill-the-wife.

Rachel is the perfect client. She told me exactly what kind of cupcake she wanted but gave me creative freedom with decoration. I didn’t hesitate for a second after she told me that she wanted a vanilla cupcake. I knew this was a perfect time to try out a cupcake recipe that’s been on my must-bake list for a while: Cupcake Bakeshop’s vanilla trio cupcakes! Its 3x the vanilla (vanilla sugar, vanilla extract and vanilla bean) in a little cupcake package. If Rachel wants vanilla; Rachel is gonna get her vanilla with these!

Note to self: Add tenderoni cupcake to list of potential IHC creations.

Pretty Young Bride (PYB) Cupcakes
(Recipe from Cupcake Bakeshop | photos from me!)

Makes about 20 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For 3-vanilla cupcakes
3/4 cup (1-1/2 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1-2/3 cups vanilla sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
2-2/3 cups flour
1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 vanilla bean, seeds scraped out

For chocolate and vanilla buttercream
2 sticks butter
7 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup cocoa powder

pink, white, brown fondant
flower cutter
various size circle cutters
empty egg carton

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Beat butter until softened. Add sugar and beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until well combined. Measure the flour, baking powder, and salt into a medium bowl and whisk to combine. Measure out the milk and vanilla (extract and seeds) and stir to combine.


Click image to enlarge
You can kinda see the little vanilla bean flecks in the batter. I.♥.it!

Add about a third of the dry ingredients to the butter/sugar and beat to combine. Add about a half of the milk/vanilla and beat to combine. Continue adding, alternating between dry and wet and finishing with the dry.

Scoop batter into cupcake cups about 2/3’s full. Turn oven down to 350 degrees and bake cupcakes for about 22-25 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.

To make frosting—
Beat butter until creamy, scrape bowl. Add 5 cups of sifted powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla, beat until combined. Add more powdered sugar until you get to the consistency you want (not too stiff so that its hard to pipe)

Take out half of the buttercream and reserve, this is your vanilla

Add the cocoa powder to the remaining half and beat to combine, you might need to add a little milk if its too stiff, this is your chocolate buttercream.

To make fondant flowers—
Roll out fondant to about 1/8 inch thick and cut 2 different size flowers with cutters. To make the centers use any round cutter (I used the back of various piping tips to get the size I needed).

Using a paintbrush or fingertip, “glue” the center to the flower with vanilla extract and let set. To create a more curved (instead of flat) flower, let set in a egg carton for a few hours until flower keeps its shape. (I let mine set overnight)

To assemble cupcakes—
Let cupcakes cool before piping on frosting. Use a “round tip” (I use a 2A) to frost cupcake. Garnish with fondant flower(s).

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A
He liked the vanilla cupcake and buttercream but its not his favorite. He prefers red velvet or chocolate over vanilla.

Wifey rating: A/A+
I thought it had a great vanilla flavor but I could have done with more. Maybe next time I’ll use the whole vanilla bean instead of just 1/2.

Other rating: A+
Rachel tells me that the bride/party said the cupcakes were a hit! But maybe she’ll leave a comment and tell you herself ::wink::

28 Comments

  1. OMG I swear you out do yourself ever week! Your cupcakes just get cuter and cuter!
    Congrats to Jill and you to for another fab creation.

  2. Cute and tasty! What more could you ask for?!

  3. Super cute cupcakes! Seriously you need a shop where everyone can enjoy your cupcakery! :)

  4. Beautiful fondant flowers! Did you use store-bought fondant, or do you have a recipe to recommend?

  5. These are beautiful!! Very elegant looking!

  6. BB, thanky chica! Talk about outdoing one’s self. I am STILL impressed with your baby shower cupcakes!

    RACHEL, w00t! Loving hearing good reviews from happy clients :)

    GIGI, aaawww I am flattered you think so! Maybe you and me should get together and do that huh? Pasadena isn’t too far from OC (don’t say THE please…) LOL

    OVEN, thankyou! I used store bought Wilton white (it was leftover from my cake class) that I colored myself but I have heard good reviews about the MMF. I plan to make it myself one of these days… If you try it let me know what you think!

    APRIL, thanks babe! Always glad to hear from you…

  7. You’re really just trying to get me to try doing something with fondant aren’t you? As always your cupcakes are simply beautiful. :)

  8. MARY, I really think you need to try the fondant thing. I admit I don’t like the taste (though friends tell me that MMF tastes pretty good) but creating stuff with it is SO fun!

  9. These are so precious I can barely stand it!

  10. KRISTINA, hey there stranger! I was just thinking today that I hadn’t heard from you in a bit. Hope you’re feeling better.

  11. i luv them!!!! i def have to try those vanilla cuppies soon, i am all over vanilla–i notice it ‘bakes out’ of recipes so i tend to use way more than recipes call for cuz i love it.

    LOVE the cupped fondant flowers, what a fab idea. i might steal it. :)

    btw for the sur la table cupcake class…i was fwd’d the email they sent out advertising it thankfully ASAP because the class sold out in a few hours. i think her tour is winding down…but it’s sur la table specific i believe. maybe she’ll do another one!

  12. MARA, definitely steal away! Can you believe I’ve never been to Sur La Table? The closest one is about 35 minutes away so I never get out in that area. I’ll have to go check their event calendar and see if Hello, Cupcake is coming out this way soon. I definitely wanna sign up! Thanks for the info!

  13. I love the fondant flowers! Amazing as usual CB :)

    I have a webcam and I was wondering if you mind if I did a video for my blog of me opening up your cupcakes when they arrive, to get the full effect?

  14. S.LOVE, haha. you’re making me nervous now! I hope it lives up to your expectations… but sure I think a webcam would be fun :)

  15. You make me want to play with fondant. Bad.

  16. These are so cute. Love the flowers. I’m going to try them out next time I make cupcakes. :)

  17. KAREN, I hope you do! Send me a picture, k? :)

  18. wheres my pacman!
    i wanna seeeeee ):
    i made robot cupcakes.
    hahahaha.

  19. KHOO, HAHA! Its coming its coming… ooohhh I wanna see robots! Whats your blog link??

  20. i was too lazy. made like one robot only =/
    its on my flickr!
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ilikebigbutts

  21. KHOO, your robot is so awesome! I love the bulging eyes! They are definitely on my must-try list. Thanks for sharing :)

  22. I love your site! I am addicted! Can you tell me what piping tip you used for the bridal shower cupcakes and the tip you use for the red velvet cupcake icing? Thank you!!

  23. KAREN, Glad you found my blog! I used a a “round” 2A tip for the red velvet cupcakes. HTH!

  24. I think these cupcakes… as well as YOU are AMAZING!!!!! Great job!

  25. SWEETSINS, ah shucks. stop… you’re making me blush :)

  26. I just came across these & would love to make them for an upcoming shower. Did you use mini paper souffle baking cups or mini souffle siliconized paper cups? Can you also use this recipe to make full-sized cupcakes? Thanks so much! Tracy

  27. TraceyColtharp, I used 3.25oz paper souffle cups aka party nut cups that are pretty similar in size to the cupcake liners you buy in the store so I think you would still get about 20 cupcakes per the recipe above. Hope that helps!

  28. Thanks! I thought by the looks of the photo that those were minis, oops! I think I am going to make some minis & full-sized ones too. Thanks for the info & for such a great website!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

