Cupcake Hero #7 [Melon]

June 20, 2008 at 8:00 AM | Posted in Cupcake Hero, cupcakes | 29 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Can you believe it?

I am posting this month’s Cupcake Hero early! Me? Miss Procrastinator, Miss Never-on-time, Miss Fashionably-late… Thats right! ME!

This month The Cupcake Hero Staff are taking a summer cupcake breather and the ever sweet AbbySweets graciously offered to host this month’s Cupcake Hero in their place. You rock April! I wonder who next month’s host will be…? I am sure “s/he” must be fabulous! Doesn’t hurt to do a little butt-kissing right? LOL

When she announced on her blog that this month would be melon, I think I had a blank stare on my face. Usually as soon as I find out the CH ingredient, ideas start flying right away and “the book” gets doodles for days but this time I have to admit that I am not a fan of melon. No watermelon, no honeydew, no cantaloupe, no thank you! But…

*light bulb*


Officer, I have no idea why its 1/2 gone… ::looking innocent::

What about a melon LIQUEUR? Now that’s a different story! Can you say crunkcakes? I’ll drink to them melons! LOL

Midori Melon Mojito Cupcakes


(Recipe adapted from Alpineberry | photos from me!)

Makes about 18 16 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For mojito cupcakes
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1-1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup mint leaves, loosely packed
3/4 cup whole milk, hot (I used half and half instead)
1/4 pound (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temp.
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
grated zest of 2 limes
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp rum (optional) (Of course! I used the optional rum)

For midori whipped cream
1-1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
1-3 tsp midori liqueur, to taste
2 tbsp granulated sugar

INGREDIENTS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat to 350F.

Add mint leaves to hot milk. Let steep for 10-15 minutes. Pour milk through a fine-mesh sieve into a small bowl. Press liquid from mint leaves. Discard leaves and allow milk to cool slightly.

Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat butter on medium speed until creamy, about 30 seconds. Add sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy, 3-5 minutes. Scrape the sides of the bowl occasionally.

Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition. Mix in lime zest, vanilla and rum (if using).

On very low speed, add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with milk and ending with flour, mixing until just incorporated.

Fill cupcake liners half full. Bake until cupcakes spring back when touched, 18-22 minutes. Allow to cool in pan for 5 minutes. Remove cupcakes from pan and cool completely.

[NOTES: I baked for about 20 minutes and they are more golden than I would have liked so next time I’ll reduce to about 18-19 minutes.]

To make whipped cream—
In mixer with whisk attachment, whip the cream and sugar on high speed until thick. Add 1-3 tsp of midori liqueur to taste and mix to combine.

[NOTES: I added 3 tsp b/c I am a fan of the green stuff.]

To assemble cupcakes—
In the wise words of JoyTheBaker… Let me repeat. Allow cupcakes to cool completely. (The whipped cream will get runny if the cupcakes are still warm.) Using a 1M piping tip, frost cupcakes. Garnish with lime slice and mint leaf.


Click image to enlarge

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A
He’s not a drinker (stems back to too many bad drunken high school nights praying to the toilet god) but he will drink midori from time to time so he loved the whipped cream laced midori. He liked the mojito cupcake but he’s not a huge fan of mint. Overall he liked the combination.

Wifey rating: A+
The combination of the mojito cupcake and the midori whipped cream were SO good! I think buttercream would work but I liked the whipped cream as a lighter complement. Looks like I just found my new favorite crunkcake! Definitely will make again!

29 Comments

  1. Ohh super cute. Way better then my toss some watermelon in some cuppys failure.

  2. NIKKI, thanky MBNB. Me sorry your watermelon didn’t work out. I think melon is just hard thats why I did my “melon” in the frosting instead of the cupcake. Try again though! You aren’t Master Baker for nothing! ;)

  3. Oh, YUM! I am SO making these. :)

  4. ALANNA, if I didn’t think the whipped cream would died a horrible liquid mess in the summer heat, I’d totally ship you some!

  5. Oh I so dig your take on the theme. Good, good work lady.

  6. I forgot completely about this month’s Cupcake Hero. But why even bother? These are so awesome. Great work!

  7. Hey CB, thanks for your entry! these look great! Yes, I will be hitting the liquor store on my way home!

  8. Um..YUM! I’ve got my entry still in my head…gonna try to work on it this weekend. :)
    Way to cuptail up girl!

  9. I just knew you’d come up with some fantasic cupcakes! These look delicious!

  10. Ahhh… Another person who though Midori! It is on my shopping list too. I am not a melon fan, but want to participate in CH – My first time! So I am leaning towards the melon liquor. Wish me luck! Those look and sound yummy. And the photos are fantastic!

  11. Super yum! I skipped out this month (the 3rd month in a row I think) because I couldn’t think of a way to make melon taste good in a cupcake. But this is a great idea!!

  12. RAINBOW, thanks for your jive vibes! ;)

    TANYA, bother bother! You should enter. Deadline is June 30th! You still have LOTS of time :)

    APRIL, So glad you likey! Thanks for hosting!

    SUZY, I can’t wait to see what you come up with! I am sure it will be cupcake-tastic!

    MARY, aawwww you give me WAY too much credit. I have to admit that I am happy with the way they turned out though!

    TANIA, GMTA! I am so glad you plan to participate! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    HOWTOEAT, stop skipping slacker! HAHA. Join the CH fun again! I miss your entries…

  13. thats a first! this has to be your earliest entry ever!
    haha! i can imagine how those gorgeous cupcakes taste like already!
    anyway. i wanna share with you my muddy pig cupcakes! :P
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ilikebigbutts/

  14. KHOO, oh.my.god! I LOVE THE MUDDY PIGS!! You reallly need to start your own blog and share with everyone how you make your cupcake creations! I know I’d definitely read! :)

  15. Great idea! I struggled with melon a bit myself!

  16. ack now I am the procrastinator!!!! i know what i want to do but i have been insanely busy and this week is the WORST. two birthday parties, one bridal shower…all want CUPCAKES. i will do my melon last-minute style, aka sunday night. Wah!

  17. I AM SO IMPRESSED and I love midori! These cupcakes sound awesome! I love mojitos too.
    I think you need to move to the Dallas, Tx area so we can be friends in real life and make mojitos and cupcake creations.

  18. Um Janna back the fark off biotch … Clara is mine all mine and she’s coming to live with me :P

  19. Haha! Nikki, it is SO good I wasn’t swishing around a mouthfull of iced tea when I read that or my monitor would have been doused in it!

    How bout we do halvsies. She can live with me in Texas in the winter when Mass is toungue sticking to the flag pole cold and in Mass with you in the summer when I could fry an egg on my car. Deal?

  20. TAMMY, I definitely struggled with melon! Its a toughie. Looks like if we both struggled we’re in good company right? :)

    MARA, I can’t wait to seeeeeeee….

    JANNA, Did you know I use to live in Dallas? Then again I was only 3 years old. I can’t remember anything but I did live there. HAHA. I might be tempted to come for a visit if the cupcake price is right ;)

    NIKKI, LMAO. damn girl. possessive much? IWYB.

  21. Hey! I made these cupcakes last night and they were delicious and simple (for an amateur in the kitchen). They were a hit with some friends. Thanks a bunch for this.

  22. SARAH, So glad you liked them! If I do say so myself, one of my favorite crunkcakes!

  23. Look terrific! When in doubt…use booze! I couldn’t find the link in time to participate in June, but I wanted to–do you know who’s hosting in July, where I can get the theme?
    Keep up the gorgeous cupcakes!

  24. MED.CHOCOLATE, no doubt. booze makes everything better! haha. Has luck would have it, I am cohosting July’s CH! Read more info here! Can’t wait to see your entry!

  25. Oooooh, I have tons of mint growing on my patio. I like cuppycakes. I have ideas…

  26. CONDOBLUES, jealous of your minty patio! I wanna see your ideas! leave me a linky when you blog about it :)

  27. […] 1: MOJITO CUPCAKES Here’s the LINK to the original recipe. Which I really didn’t follow, but you can if you want. My changes: […]

  28. hi! i just happened to stumble upon your site while looking for pictures of cupcakes. this recipe is so unique, great job! anyway, i MUST know…where can i buy the cupcake liners you used for this recipe? or what are they called so i can look for them? those little cups are just too cute. anyway, keep up the good work!

  29. haha, i just found the answer to my own question, nevermind!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

