Red, White & Blue Velvet Cupcakes

July 8, 2008 at 4:48 PM | Posted in cupcakes, decor | 20 Comments
Tags: ,

Happy Birthday to me (and America)
Happy Birthday to me (and America)
Happy Birthday dear me (and America)
Happy Birthday to me (and America)
… and many more
♫♪

^ A tad belated but better late than never right?

Is it lame that I made my own birthday cupcakes? I don’t think so! When I make it myself I get exactly what I want! HAHA! This year I decided to get crazy with the red, white and blue using food coloring and sprinkles galore. What more could you ask for on your 20-something-closer-to-30 something birthday?


(Recipe adapted from recipezaar | photos from me!)

Makes about 24 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
3 cups all-purpose flour
1-1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1-1/4 teaspoons salt
1-1/4 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1-1/2 cups vegetable oil
2-1/4 cups granulated sugar
1-1/4 cups buttermilk
3 eggs
2 tablespoons red food coloring
1-1/4 teaspoons vinegar (white or apple cider can both work)
1-1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/8 cup water

[NOTES: I used Wilton no taste red and royal blue gel coloring instead of liquid food coloring to get desired shade]

For cream cheese frosting
8oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 lb (~4 cups) powdered sugar, sifted

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat oven 350 degrees F.

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder into a bowl and set aside.

In a mixer fitted with paddle attachment, mix oil, sugar, and buttermilk until combined. Add eggs, vinegar, vanilla and water and mix well. Add the dry ingredients a little bit at a time and mix on low, scraping down sides occasionally, and mix until just combined. Be sure not to over mix, or the batter will come out tough.

Separate the batter into 2 different bowls. In one bowl add red food coloring. Mix to combine. Repeat with second bowl and blue food coloring.

Line a cupcake pan with paper liners. Scoop the 1/3 red batter and 1/3 blue batter into each cupcake liner.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 20 to 30 minutes or until the toothpick comes out clean. Let cool.

To make frosting—
Whip the butter and cream cheese together in a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment until creamed. Add vanilla extract. Gradually add powdered sugar. Scrape down the bowl as needed.

To decorate—

Red sprinkles, blue sprinkles, star sprinkles!

I also used pop rocks candy for some extra zing!

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He loves red velvet and thought the red, white, blue tribute was fun for the holiday.

Wifey rating: A
Red velvet isn’t my absolute favorite but it was fun to make and decorate. That’s my favorite part!

Other rating: A+
Our friends love red velvet like T and got a kick out of the colors. There were many blue and red tongues and no leftovers!

20 Comments

  1. Those cupcakes are great! I’ve been having fun with the same sprinkles on donuts at work. I love sprinkles.

  2. Happy belated birthday!!!!

  3. Hm, I thought my 4th cupcakes were kind of cute until I saw these. Damn woman! Pop Rocks?! That brings back the 80’s like none ever. LOVE it!

  4. I love cuppycakes too, and yours look deeeelish! :) Love your blog – will be coming back!

  5. adorableness! I hope you didn’t drink a coke with those pop rocks.

  6. wow! such a great idea to use to pop rocks! :)

  7. I love them … and while some of them have amazingly fab designs there are one or two that look like I had my way with them (ie my poor cuppy at Molly’s) which I love even more :P

  8. What a cute idea! I’ve never thought to make color-layered cupcakes, but I think yours turned out really great! And the pop rocks are a great way to put add a little culinary fireworks!

  9. MARY, I love sprinkles on donuts! Makes me feel like a kid.

    YVETTE, thank you!

    MRSABYBABY, Bringing 80s back baby! Thats how I roll.

    MEREDITH, thanks for sweet compliments!

    RACHEL, oh dang! I didn’t even think of that! T was drinking diet coke with dinner. Thankfully not at the same time as eating the cupcake. eep!

    JENNP, I have to admit it wasn’t my idea. I saw it online and thought it was too cute not to copy!

    NIKKI, Oh yeah. These cupcakes were definitely inspired by you. I had my way with sprinkles and it was fun! LOL

    STEPHANIE, I was thinking of doing red, white and blue layers but I figured the white layer could be the frosting. Its too bad I couldn’t get the blue more blue but overall they were fun to eat and thats all that matters right? ;)

  10. DARN YOU! I WAS TOTALLY GOING TO DO RED WHITE AND BLUE VELVET (sans the pop rocks but still)! Now I will have to revisit the drawing board. PHOOEY!

  11. JANNA, you were gonna do RWBV for? Cupcake Hero? You can do it. I didn’t enter it for CH. Its just for my bday… calm down woman! HAHA

  12. yum! ha..I tried to make blue velvet cups this weekend..didn’t have enough blue..so I added yellow (for green velvet) then it looked like vomit…so then I added green…and it was like army green…so I make chocolate pb icing (like a khaki color) and called it my apocolypse now cake!

  13. SUZY, omg. I am cackling! I have issues mixing colors so it never turns out right. Guess I am not smarter than a 5th grader. LOL

  14. HAH….!!! that is sooo cute. i luv me some multi color cuppies.

  15. MARA, multi-color makes me smile.

  16. Pop Rocks make any cupcake great – what a fantastic idea. Of course, cupcakes of any kind make me happy on any day of the year, but I’m going to have to remember this recipe for next year’s fourth.

  17. Happy Birthday (belated)! I just celebrated my birthday last week. :-) Your cupcakes look very patriotic.

    Thanks for the tip about the food coloring. I had problems with my frosting not being bright red & blue enough. I’ll keep this in mind.

  18. LYNDA, same here. Cupcakes everyday works for me. Definitely let me know if you try it next 4th! I’d love to see…

    SUSAN, Happy birthday to you too! No prob about the food coloring. I know if I use the liquid I have to use ALOT, like 2tbsp to get the color I want. Gel seems to be “less is more” so I like it better!

  19. I’m more than a tad late but Happy Belated B-Day! Love the cupcakes.

  20. LIZ, thanky! Belated is always appreciated ;)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

