Happy Anniversary Cupcakes

July 27, 2008 at 9:50 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 35 Comments
Tags: ,

I remember 07.27.07 like it was yesterday.

Exactly a year ago today, I married my best friend.


(photography credit: Renee Broughton)
You may now kiss the bride (L) and traditional Vietnamese wedding dress for the cake cutting (R)

It’s almost surreal that 1 year ago today I became a “wife”. Wait! Does this mean I am not a newlywed anymore? Nooooo! How true the saying goes… Time flies when you’re having fun!

Since T and I had red velvet cupcakes (and dulce de leche cupcakes) instead of a traditional tiered wedding cake at our wedding, I knew I wanted to make his favorite red velvet cupcakes to celebrate our anniversary. I have a current go-to RV recipe but I’ve been wanting to try out a new recipe that a fellow cupcake friend raved about to me so I decided anniversary cupcakes was a good a time as any!

Now you know I couldn’t just make cupcakes for such a special occasion right?

We decided to turn off phones, stay in, exchange gifts and celebrate our anniversary with a low key dinner at home so I thought it would be cute to make 2 of the cupcakes into edible place holders. I tend on the sentimental side so I made name cards out of leftover cardstock that I used to create my own wedding invitations. Isn’t that cheesy? What can I say? I love cheese. The name card holders were made out of paper clips bent with a needle nose plier. Voilà! I love being creative with things that I already have around my house. Don’t you?

Auntie M’s Red Velvet Cupcakes


(Recipe adapted from Terri Wahl via foodnetwork.com | photos from me!)

Makes about 15 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
1-1/2 cups AP flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
3 tsp cocoa
1 cup sugar
4 tbsp butter
1/2 cup oil
2 eggs
3 tbsp red food coloring (I used 2 tbsp)
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp vinegar
2/3 cup buttermilk

For cream cheese frosting
8oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 vanilla bean, scraped
1 lb (~4 cups) powdered sugar, sifted

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat oven to 350F.

Sift dry ingredients together.

Cream the butter and oil together with the sugar, about 2 minutes. Add the eggs, vanilla, food coloring, vinegar and mix well. Alternate mixing in dry ingredients and buttermilk ending with the dry ingredients.

Fill the cupcake liners 2/3 full. Bake for 17-20 minutes.

Let cool before frost.

To make frosting—
Whip the butter and cream cheese together in a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment until creamed. Add vanilla beans to powder sugar. Gradually add powdered sugar/vanilla bean mixture to bowl. Scrape down the bowl as needed.

To assemble—
Using a 1M star tip, frost cupcakes. Store in freezer to make frosting more stiff before inserting place card holder. (They defrosted while we ate dinner.)

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He declared this his favorite RV recipe yet!

Wife rating: A+
The butter+oil adaption gave this recipe a great flavor. I think I’ve found my new go-to RV recipe! Thanks Auntie M!

PS. I ♥ you, T.

35 Comments

  1. yayyy, congratulations! and you made his favourites… so cute. it’s my momma’s birthday today too. wishing you many more years of lovin’!

  2. Aww, happy anniversary! It’s amazing how fast the time flies after your married. I still can’t believe me and my husband will be married two years in September. The wedding feels like yesterday!

    Love your wedding photo and the dress you wore for the cake cutting! At first I thought you guys had two weddings! The cupcakes are so sweet. He’s such a lucky guy!

  3. Happy Anniversary! I’m going to have to try this RV recipe. My husband is very picky about his RV and I haven’t found the perfect one yet (I think it’s the lack of oil in the ones I’ve tried that this one has). Thanks!

  4. That’s so sweet. Happy Anniversary!

    Quick question…are those cups you made the cupcakes in just little nut & candy cups? Thanks!

  5. Happy Anniversary! The cupcakes look frigging perfect, you make me so jealous!

  6. LILTEA, thank you! Happy belated birthday to your mom too!

    TANYA, you’re 2 years? aaawwww. I wanna see a couple wedding pictures in your blog in September, k? ;) 2 weddings? HECK NO! I only had 1 and it was a huge stressball already. I can’t imagine having 2. My parents asked me if I wanted to go back to Vietnam to celebrate with relatives that couldn’t be there but I politely declined. Instead we’re thinking of celebrating our 2nd anniversary in Vietnam next year. Now thats what I’m talking about! I can’t wait!

    CHERIE, definitely give it a try. My husband knows his RV and he really loved this one the best so far. Let me know what your hubs thinks too!

    SUSAN, thanks! Yes, they are called party nut cups or souffle cups (depending on where you buy it). I use the 3-1/4oz cups. HTH.

    LT, haha. don’t be jealous. Trust. I have ALOT to learn still!

  7. omg. i can’t help but go awwwww at the pictures!
    looking so good together (:
    wishing you guys more happy years ahead!

  8. KHOO, thank you! I definitely can’t wait for the next 50 years! See…? the wait for my teaser wasn’t that bad right? HAHA

  9. you two are so cute…congrats on one year..and wishing you many more happy ones to come!!

    those RVs look amazing, and i agree on the butter and oil combo, it’s a win for flavor and oil keeps it moist. YUM. super creative on the placeholders too, those would be so fun at a wedding or a sit down dinner or something.

  10. I was right, I guessed the teaser! Ok, like you said, I had insider info. But I wanted to make sure to wish you Happy Anniversary once you posted. I see you are at the spa today. I am jelous!

  11. aw!! how sweet! *tear*
    Happy Anniversary CB!!!
    Husby and I are 4 years in August…my goodness! Where does the time go?!

  12. Aw, that is adorable. Congrats, you two!!!

  13. awww Happy Anniversary! The cupcakes look absolutely perfect!

  14. Congrats on a year….I love the photo — beatuiful.

  15. Those are sooo cute!! Happy Anniversary! :)

  16. MARA, thank you! Definitely see us on the 50+ year plan ;) He’s a keeper!

    ZEBE, Oh man. The spa resort was amazing. Like a relaxing disneyland for adults complete with booze, mud, massage, jacuzzi and pools galore. I told T we should make this a monthly thing. HAHA

    SUZY, aaawww happy 4 years!

    ALANNA, thanks chicky! Same to you and M!

    KRISTINA, thank you! I have to say that I love those place holder cupcakes. If I was more talented with a needle nose plier, I could have made them even cuter. Might have to practice that!

    BROOKE, thanks! Those are my 2 favorite pictures from the wedding. My photographer was fabulous!

    JEANINE, thank you very much!

  17. I’m a little late, but wanted to add my congratulations!! Let me tell ya the time flies by, I even shock myself when I say I’ve been married 11 years! Looks like you guys did it right and had a wonderful day. I can’t wait to try getting my frosting to look like yours with my 1m tip :) Love your cuppies!

  18. ANDREA, wow. I can’t wait to say I’ve been married 11 years. What a milestone. I think its definitely an accompliment worth being proud of! As for 1M tip: Practice makes perfect! I know I still have a lot of practicing to do myself.

  19. yeah. this time at least.
    the previous time.. took you so long to reveal!
    50 years later.. i think i’d still be really annoyed with your teasers!
    hahaha!

  20. Such a cute idea! Happy anniversary!

  21. STEFANI, thank you. btw have I told you you are my hero? (Sorry that song is stuck in my head). But seriously I love reading your blog and being surprised by the next cupcake creation :)

  22. Aw, sniff sniff. It seems like just yesterday that you had your wedding. Happy belated anniversary love!

  23. So Darling! Happy Anniversary you two! It’s a special occasion. It definitely warrants a little sentimental cheese!

  24. MRSABYBABY, I know right? I still can’t believe its been one year already. Belated congrats on your 1 year too! We’re OMHs now! LOL

    JOYTHEBAKER, Thank you chicky! I love some good cheese esp on special occasion ;)

  25. Hey there! Congrats! I’ve been watching your blog for a few months, but for some reason never commented! =) But I am now…lol

    Its too cute! (your wedding pic) And your anniversary is on the same day as my parents! (they celebrated 26 years =) )

    Keep on cupcakeing ;)

    BTW I must try that recipe ;)

  26. ZAHRA, Hey there! Glad you came out of lurkdom to say HI! Congrats to your parents too. I hear its an awesome day to get married on. ;)

  27. what a sweet post! beautifil pictures and lovely cupcakes- happy anniversary!

  28. MARYANN, thank you!

  29. Happy Belated Anniversary! I totally love your place cards! :)

  30. GIGI, thank you on both counts!

  31. i hope it was the best anniversary ever! can’t wait to hear all about it when i get home later this week. xo

  32. RACHEYPOO, I have a feeling you had the best anniversary ever… Miss.. er Mrs Europe! Can’t wait til you come home so I can hear all about it. xoxo

  33. Hey i was just wondering what kind of vinegar did you use and was the cocoa cocoa powder? so many questions haha and the pictures are adorable by the way =)

  34. LIZZIE, I love questions. haha. I used regular ol white vinegar and Hershey’s natural unsweetened cocoa powder. HTH!

  35. thankss!! i’m making them for my friends birthday they are her absolute favorite hopefully i dont mess up haha


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

