Vanilla Almond Cherry Cupcakes

July 31, 2008 at 9:05 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 25 Comments
Tags: ,

It always tickles me when I get emails from IHC readers. To say I love emails would be an understatement. Actually I get giddy.

Last week I got an email from Brittany Mohr, introducing me to a “healthy” cupcake recipe. I admit I was a little skeptical. Come on?! Healthy? Really?

More importantly… Does healthy+cupcake = yummy? Naaaaaaahhh…

Ok maybe?

I am all about the sugar, butter and frosting content in a cupcake. To be honest I like the “cake” but the frosting is where its at! Am I right?? But since she was kind enough to email the recipe and Youtube video where registered dietitian Jackie Newgent walks you step by step through the “healthy” cupcake recipe, I decided to give it a try.

Of course you know me. I had to change it up a little bit.

Vanilla Almond Peach [Cherry] Cupcakes


(Recipe adapted from EatCaliforniaFruit | photos from me!)

Makes 36 mini cupcakes (or about 18 regular)

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
2 cup flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup + 2 tablespoons sugar
2 eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 cup low-fat milk (I used fat free milk)
1 fresh California peach, pitted and diced (I used about 25 cherries)

For frosting
1/2 fresh California peach (I used about 12 cherries)
1-1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
1-1/2 cup powdered sugar, divided
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Tiny mint leaves (optional garnish)

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat oven to 300°F and line muffin tin with paper wrappers; set aside.

[NOTES: If you are baking regular size cupcakes, preheat oven to 350°F.]

Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. Beat butter in a large bowl with an electric mixer on medium speed for 2 minutes or until smooth. Gradually add sugar and beat for 2 minutes more or until fluffy.

Add eggs and extracts, beating well after each addition. Stir in half the dry ingredients, then half the milk; repeat and mix until well combined. Stir in diced peaches cherries and spoon batter into prepared muffin tins (they will be very full).

[NOTES: I filled mine about 1/2-2/3 full.]

Bake for 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in tins for 10 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire rack before frosting.

[NOTES: If you are baking regular size cupcakes, bake for 17-22 minutes.]

To make frosting—
Peel and mash or puree half the peaches about 12 cherries.

Beat butter and 3/4 cup powdered sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer until smooth. Blend in 1-1/2 tablespoons peach cherry puree and extract, beating for 2 minutes or until smooth and creamy. Gradually add remaining sugar, adding more peach cherry puree if a thinner consistency is desired. Spread equal amounts over each cupcake.

[NOTES: I didn’t use all of the cherry puree. I just added a little at a time until I got the consistency I wanted.]

Dice remaining peach half and sprinkle over cupcakes. Garnish each cupcake with mint leaves and cherry, if desired.

Per serving*: 80 calories, 1g protein, 16g carbohydrate, 2g total fat, 15mg cholesterol, 85mg sodium, 0g fiber.

*Nutritional information for original recipe and mini serving size

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He really liked this cupcake and ate more than one. I have a feeling its not that “healthy” if you eat 3 of them huh?

Wifey rating: A
I am not usually a fruit chunks cupcake eater but I was really surprised at how much I loved this cupcake. The frosting is so good and the cupcake is moist and yummy with pops of cherries. YUM!

25 Comments

  1. Umm wait where’s the ‘healthy’ part???? I don’t see any wheat flour or flaxseed in these puppies? I see 1c sugar! I see 1/2 a stick of butter! I see 1.5 cups confectioners sugar? hehehe. Let’s debunk this healthy myth okay?! ;)

    Well actually..you know the cake part of the cuppies are typically not that bad for you..as long as it’s not like choco ganache filled. My vanilla cuppies are maybe 175 cals each BUT the frosting is like another 200.

    Good thing I am NOT a frosting lover. I know, sacrilege but I LOVE the cake part the best!!!! BTW those look very yummy!

  2. MARA, Its got fruit?

  3. MARA, But to be serious… the nutritional value on the recipe’s link says its 80 calories for mini cupcake (or 160 for regular size cupcake) including the frosting. Thats not too bad. (Thanks for reminding me to include nutritional values.)

  4. Speaking of healthy cuppies, the blueberry lemon ones on Cooking Light’s website are THE BOMB. The frosting is just a glaze but it’s all the cupcake really needs. YUM.

  5. MARA, ooohhh blueberry lemon sound delish! Thats definitely going on the must-bake list! Thanks for rec!

  6. These sound amazing! And healthy!?!? Get out of town!

  7. JOYTHEBAKER, I know right? haha.

  8. ummm yum!

  9. Those look so good! AND they are healthy?? I always thought a healthy cupcake was a muffin. :P These look fantastic! Beautiful picture.

  10. JERRY, totally yum.

    JEANINE, well… I guess healthy is relative but it does have fruit! ;)

  11. I get all giddy too! It’s so exciting!

    These look delicious!

  12. I’m with Mara on this one. Just because it has a low-ish calorie count, that doesn’t make it healthy. It just makes it possibly slightly less bad.
    White flour=empty calories and no nutritional value
    Sugar=don’t even get me started (especially because it is refined white sugar)
    Butter=at least it isn’t margarine!
    Fruit=that is the okay part

    Now, if you made these with almond flour, agave nectar or sucnat, and subbed the butter with a healthier oil, you might convince me they were somewhat healthy. In fact…if I can find time this week, I’ll try to recreate this so that it is actually a cuppy with nutritive value, not just one that is less bad. Deal?

  13. CASSIE, haha. I knew you’d understand ;)

    ZEBE, ok then. Do your thing.

  14. Dear Clara,

    I just came across your blog and I love it! Cupcakes are one of my favorite foods and my daughter Frannie and I love to make them together (she’s 7). I Heart Cupcakes is immediately going into my fave’s!

    Marsha

  15. Dear Clara,

    I’m sorry – I meant to say, I Heart “Cuppycakes”, and it’s already on my list of favorites.

    Marsha

  16. *drool* This is the first entry of yours I’ve read and already I’m salivating!

  17. MARSHA, aaawww you’re so sweet. I’d love to hear about anything you and your daughter make! Definitely come back and leave me the link so I can see!

    ARI, haha. Thanks for sweet compliments! Drooling is allowed. Just make sure you have a napkin handy. LOL

  18. Oooh I wanna see what zebe comes up with. I am the weirdo who loves wheat bread and texure over processed stuff, my hub thinks I am CRAZEEE.

  19. Yum this looks so good!

  20. KATIE, It was gooooood. haha

  21. Anything with fruit is healthy in my book! :) These look really good!

  22. BRIDGET, I agree! Fruit=healthy. LOL. btw checked out your blog. Love all the cookies! So cute!

  23. […] ♥ Cuppycakes‘ ‘Vanilla Almond Cherry‘ cupcakes… […]

  24. I don’t have a choice but to find a different way to make this stuff if I want to eat it. I can’t have 75% of the ingredients in this, or any other traditional cake batter. So, if I want to eat treats of any kind, I have to find a different way to make them. If I’m going to all the effort to convert a recipe to gluten & sugar free, then I might as well make sure it has some good nutritional value as well. Sadly, this week has gotten away from me already, so the project is going to have to wait.

  25. […] used THIS […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

