The Great Cuppycakes Caper: Washington, DC

August 5, 2008 at 10:34 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 11 Comments
Tags:

I know. I know. I am such a slacker.

I’ve been back from my East Coast trip for 5 weeks and I have yet to post my cupcake experiences! So little time. Too many cupcakes! Whoa. Let’s not get too crazy. No such thing as too many cupcakes! I swear I have so many things stored in my brain that I wanna post but not enough time in the day! Do you ever feel that way?

T and I started our East Coast vacay in Washington DC. We were only there for 2 days so I didn’t have time to try out all the cupcakeries that DC had to offer but we did take a couple hours to pop in on Georgetown Cupcakes near Georgetown University (duh?) in a fun college town.


Click image to enlarge

Doncha love collages. I do.

Before I even set foot into Georgetown Cupcake, I loved it. Even though taste is probably the most important element of a cupcake to me, it doesn’t hurt to have a cutesy location to house them in. I absolutely adore the whole set up of Georgetown Cupcake down to the large window, black shutters, clean black and white motif and the fabulous design of the awning which does double duty as their store front name sign.

Upon entering the store, you notice right away that its very small. It has one table near the window but I assume that many customers take their cupcake(s) to go. They have some cupcake decor on the walls along with various products for sale and their to-go boxes on display.

If I had a cupcakery, I imagine that this is what I would want to imitate.

Enough about the store. What about the cupcakes?

Patience grasshopper. haha.

T got a red velvet (no surprise) and I got a vanilla2. I had a hard time deciding between the vanilla2 and the chocolate/vanilla. The guy behind the counter helping me saw my indecision and suggested the vanilla2 as one of their highest sellers. Sweet. I’ll take that one then!

Review: I think you can tell from the collage that T enjoyed his red velvet. As for the vanilla2, I can see why it is a customer favorite. It was goooood. The cake was moist just like it should be. And that frosting… Actually I am drooling just thinking about it again. Needless to say, its probably a good thing I live 3000 miles away from Georgetown b/c I’d be there everyday. If you’re in the Washington, DC area, definitely go check them out!

Georgetown Cupcake
1209 Potomac Street NW
Washington DC 20007

Stay tuned for TGCC: Philadelphia!

11 Comments

  1. I went to a cupcake shop in Savannah and I was so thoroughly disappointed. I make better cupcakes without really trying. I need to just follow you around and go to those cupcake shops you go to. Like a cupcake stalker or something.

    I think I need help…

  2. MARY, Wouldn’t that be a “sweet” life? We’d be cupcake groupies? Count me in! LOL. Bummer about the cupcake shop in Savannah. Can you tell me what you didn’t like?

  3. My friends in DC all said it was super cute too! Can’t wait to visit myself!

  4. CAKESPY, oh yeah! You’ll definitely have to visit. Let me know what you think!

  5. I’ll be visiting my sister in DC once she pops out my new nephew in october! So I WILL TOTALLY go grab some for us all :)

  6. YUM! Glad you had fun.

  7. STEPH, Congrats on your new nephew! Definitely let me know what you think about Georgetown, k?

    RACHEYPOO, you’re back!! w00t!

  8. I just discovered your blog. And really glad I did since i like cupcakes alot and your blog is really interesting. :-) i ll be a regular visitor

  9. SNOOKYDOODLE, thanks! Stop by anytime :)

  10. I lurve me some cuppy cakes shops…I tend to try to find one whenever we travel too. Gotta try them all! YUM

  11. MARA, I love to travel and hitting up cupcakeries is the highlight!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

