Malibu Strawberry-Lemon Crunkcakes

September 2, 2008 at 7:24 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 25 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I have a special place in my heart for crunkcake recipes. Maybe its the lush in me but I love me some alcohol. Please drink responsibly. What better way to “drink” your favorite booze than in a cupcake? You get the taste but not the hangover! Sweet! (Pun intended.)

Check out some of my other crunkcake recipes.

Midori Melon Mojito Cupcakes
Caramel Apple Martini Cupcakes
Red Wine and Chocolate Cupcakes

Question for my readers:
What are some of your favorite alcoholic drinks? margarita? daiquiri? Help me think of my next crunkcake!


(Recipe adapted from OneImaginaryGirl | photos from me!)

Makes about 12 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For lemon cake
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
3/4 cups granulated sugar
4 tbsp (1/2 stick) salted butter, softened
2 eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 tablespoon finely grated lemon zest
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

For malibu swiss italian meringue buttercream
2 egg whites at room temperature
1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/4 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
12 tbsp (1-1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into pieces and softened
1-2 tablespoons Malibu Caribbean Rum, coconut flavor, to taste

For strawberry puree
5 ounces frozen strawberries, thawed (I used fresh strawberries)
1 teaspoons sugar, more or less (to taste) (I used about 2 tsp)
1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice, more or less (to taste)

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat oven to 350°F.

Line pan with cupcake liners.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl and stir to combine.

In the bowl of your mixer, combine the butter and sugar and beat until well-blended on medium speed. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add flour mixture and buttermilk alternately to sugar mixture, beginning and ending with the flour. Beat in the lemon zest and juice.


Fill each cupcake cup about two-thirds full and bake for about 17-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the centrer of a cupcake comes out clean. Allow to cool completely before frosting.

To make buttercream—
Beat the egg whites in the bowl of your mixer with the whisk attachment until frothy, then add the cream of tartar and beat just before stiff peaks form.

Meanwhile, stir together the sugar and water in a small heavy saucepan and bring to a boil over moderately high heat, stirring until sugar is dissolved and washing down side of pan with a pastry brush dipped in cold water. When syrup reaches a boil, put your candy thermometer into it and continue boiling, without stirring, until it reaches about 238-242 degrees Fahrenheit.

Immediately remove from heat, turn your mixer back on (if you had it off like me) and slowly pour the hot syrup in a thin stream into the egg whites, beating constantly at high speed and making sure to not pour directly on the side of the bowl. Beat meringue until the bowl is cool to the touch.

Change out your whisk for your paddle attachment and scrapes down the sides of the bowl. On medium speed, gradually add butter about two pieces at a time, beating well after each addition until incorporated. Continue beating until buttercream is smooth. (Mixture may look curdled before all butter is added, but will come back together before beating is finished. If that doesn’t work, try chilling it a bit in case your meringue was too hot.) Finally, add the Malibu and mix thoroughly.



Mine looks curdled (top right picture) but I just kept beating and it all comes together eventually.

To make puree—
Place the strawberries and their juice into your blender. Pulse a few times until pureed. Stir in the sugar and lemon juice until it’s the taste you want.

To assemble cupcake—
Pipe or spread on IMBC frosting. Drizzle some strawberry puree on top. Garnish with a strawberry.


Don’t mind me. I am learning to play around with blur on photoshop. Cool huh?

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A
He’s not a strawberry-lemon addict like me but he really loved the Malibu SMBC frosting. He said it was smooth, light and melts on your tongue.

Wifey rating: A
Ditto hubs on the frosting. I have to admit… I ate alot of the frosting by itself. It was so good with the strawberry lemon cupcake flavors.

25 Comments

  1. bookmarking this immediately :) yummmm!

    i wonder if a whiskey sour would make a good cupcake…

    also… loving the beater blade!! :)

  2. KIM, haha. Whiskey sour cupcake. Totally adding that to my list of must tries. Glad you love the beater blade. I love mine!

  3. Those look great, and I’m heading over to check out your post on the chocolate and wine cupcakes. There is only one mixed drink that I really love, and that is the amaretto sour. Mmmm…I’m sure that could work in cupcake form somehow.

  4. TANYA, Mmmm amaretto sour. Defintely could make it a cupcake. ::wheels turning::

  5. clara! how’d you do those pretty swirls!
    won’t you do a video on pretty swirls!
    have you tried rum and raisin cupcakes?
    i bet they’ll taste oh-so-good.

  6. Yum! SMBC is one of my favorites, but John doesn’t like it. He just doesn’t know what good is. They look so purdy!

  7. CB a Lush BAHAHAHAHA that’s the funniest thing I’ve ever heard

  8. KHOO, video? Its hard to do a video when I need both hands to pipe. Maybe if I ask my hubs really nicely he’ll tape for me…

    NINA, J doesn’t like it? He’s crazy!

    NIKKI, hey I might not drink as much anymore but you didn’t know me back in my HS/college days. I have my stories.

  9. YUM!! These cupcakes look fantastic!

  10. APRIL, Oh they were. I wish I could send some through the computer for you. Wouldn’t that be cool??

  11. Those look yummy.

    You could try Amaretto Stone Sour, Pina Colada, Strawberry Daquiri, Big Hot Hooter… I’ll try to think of more.

  12. Anything with Bailey’s is my favorite!

    I LOVE meringue buttercreams! What you made is Italian meringue buttercream (IMBC). The method of SMBC is slightly different, but same end result. :D

    And yes, I’ll definitely give you the recipe for the Almond Rasp Cupcakes. Remind me though, because I could win a bad memory award…

  13. Umm, yumm!! You need to make a Miami Vice cupcake. It’s 1/2 strawberry daquari and 1/2 pina colado. Yumm.

  14. KRISTEN, Big hot hooter? I am intrigued. What’s in it?

    HTEAC, oops. Italian? Thanks for the correction. I went back and changed it. I am still a MBC newbie! haha. Trust me. My memory is worse so hopefully I remember too!

    KRMWV, oohhh… daiquiri and pina? NICE! Definitely gonna add that to the list!

  15. I love what I think is called a SeaBreeze – it has vodka, cranberry and grapefruit juice in it. I think cranberry would make a really good one, especially for the harvest season. Also, how about Kahlua?

    Marsha (www.cutestuffinside.blogspot.com)

  16. MARSHA, Good call about a cranberry drink inspired cupcake for the holidays! Love me some Kahlua so I definitely have a few ideas for that one too. Thanks for suggestions!

  17. Wow, they look awesome! I recently went on holiday so I’m a bit hot on cocktails at the mo! You should try like a lemon-drop martini cake, use some limoncello perhaps?

    I also love a P.S. I Love You (google it), which I think would translate into a great cupcake. I think anything with Kahlua or Baileys would be scrummy xx

  18. Big Hot Hooter:
    1 oz Tequila
    3/4 oz Amaretto
    Pineapple Juice
    1 oz Grenadine
    Ice
    Cherry

    Put the Tequila and Amaretto into a glass filled with ice. Pour in Pineapple juice and top with grenadine and a cherry.

    They are REALLY good.

  19. HAYLEY, ooohhhh lemon drop sounds tasty! Note to self: PS. I love you =

    Dark Rum
    Disaronno Amaretto
    Kahlua
    Amarula Cream Liqueur (YUM!)
    Double Cream

    KRISTEN, I have everything except for the grenadine. Gonna have to add that to the grocery list! Thanks!

  20. Ooh wow this looks delicious, I love the sauce drizzled over the top, its making me hungry hehe!

  21. NATALIE, thanks! I am partial to how the sauce drizzled too ;)

  22. Hi! I’m making these, and is this a frosting you can make a day ahead of time and keep in the fridge? TIA!

  23. ERIN, Oh yes! You can store italian buttercream in the frig for about 1 week or frozen for up to 2-3 months. Let me know what you think if you make it!

  24. I made them! Thanks for the recipe!

  25. Awesome! ::off to check out blog::


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

