Vanilla-Nutella Swirl Cupcakes

October 31, 2008 at 4:03 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 40 Comments
Tags:

Say hello to my little friend. <– say it like Tony Montana

Nutella is a chocolate hazelnut spread and when my friend was pregnant with my godson, she craved it like a mad woman. Nutella and strawberry crepes, nutella sandwiches, nutella covered strawberries, nutella straight from the can with a spoon etc etc. So when she invited T and I over to go trick or treating with our godsons she requested a nutella dessert too.

Actually it was more like… “After you hold up the nutella dessert to the door peep hole then my Jedi will use the force to open the door.” We obviously have an understanding. LOL

Side note: Is it just me or does every little boy want to be a Jedi or Ninja at least 1 Halloween in their lives? Both my little brothers had a ninja stage. Same thing can be said about little girls and princesses right? Heck I was a princess a couple years ago and I am anything but little these days! HAHA


The princess and her greaser Halloween 2005

TGIF and Happy Halloween.

Follow the Halloween safety rules and bring home lots of treats!


(Recipe adapted from Amber’s Kitchen | photos from me!)

Makes about 12 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcake
10 tbsp butter, softened
3/4 cup white sugar
3 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 3/4 cups sifted flour
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
12 tsp Nutella

For nutella buttercream
1 stick (1/2 cup) of unsalted butter, softened
4 cups confectioners sugar (or more to taste)
1/4 cup whole milk or half-and-half
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup of Nutella (or more to taste), softened

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 325F. Prepare cupcake pan with liners.

To make cupcake—
Cream together butter and sugar until light, about 2 minutes. Add in eggs on at a time, until fully incorporated. The batter may not look smooth, this is fine. Add vanilla.

Stir in flour, salt, and baking powder until batter is smooth and all flour is blended. Using an ice cream scoop, fill each muffin liner with batter. Cups should be 3/4 full if you’re not using a scoop.


Top each cake with about 1 tsp Nutella. Swirl Nutella in with a toothpick, folding a little batter up and over the Nutella as well.


Bake for 20 minutes. Remove to wire rack and allow to cool before frosting.

To make buttercream—
In your stand mixer with flat beater, cream butter. Add 3 cups of the confectioners sugar, then milk and vanilla and beat until the mixture is smooth, about 3-4 minutes.

Add the remaining confectioners sugar, beating about 1-2 minutes. (You can add more sugar to get a thicker consistency if you want.)

In a microwave safe bowl, soften the Nutella until it has a spreadable consistency, about 15-20 secs.

Add the softened Nutella to your buttercream and fold into the frosting until well blended.

[NOTES: Instead of using a spatula to fold, I’ve found the blades of my beater blade work well and I don’t have to to dirty up another thing!]

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He likes nutella and thought the cupcake was good but preferred it without the frosting.

Wifey rating: A
Man that vanilla-nutella swirl cupcake is awesome! I could have eaten it sans frosting. *gasp* I know! I can’t believe I just said that. If you are a nutella addict you’ll love them both together.

Other rating: A+
My friend (and her husband) loved it and raved with every bite. She said its her favorite cupcake that I’ve ever made (and she’s eaten alot of my cupcakes!) so I know I hit the jackpot with this one. My godson just loved licking off the frosting. Silly boy!

40 Comments

  1. These cupcakes look outrageous…I just love Nutella, although the only way I’ve ever eaten it was straight out of the jar…never actually in anything.
    Thank you so much for the recipe guided tour…I will definitely make these…no reason not to…
    I’ll let you know how I make out.

  2. I’ve been known for my delicious Nutella brownies but those cupcakes look yummy! I definitly need to make a batch ASAP!

  3. Nope. I’ve never was a princess. But I did go as a ballerina almost every single year. Although now that would be something like the hippos in Fantasia! :D

  4. I can’t even keep Nutella in the house… I’ll just eat it straight from the jar on a spoon!

  5. GINNYPA, LOL @ straight from the jar. Thats exactly what my friend does. She’s eaten a whole jar in one sitting when she was pregnant. Thats alot of Nutella! If you make them, definitely let me know what you think!

    JESS, Nutella brownies? Ooohhh I’ll have to get that recipe to make for my nutella loving friend too!

    MARY, Never? Maybe I just have a princess complex ;)

    PATSYK, You too huh? I can’t say that I’ve ever done it but my friend says its easy to start and not even realize you’ve eaten the whole thing until its gone…

  6. Those cupcakes look yummy, as yours usually do.
    I was actually The Princess Bride a few years back, along with the dread pirate Roberts. It was loads of fun! :D

  7. I’m a huge fan of Nutella. These definitely look like a winner.

  8. JULIE, aawww I love that movie! “As you wishhhhhhh…”

    KAMAILE, If you like nutella definitely give these a try!

  9. Mmmmm…. Nutella is one of my hunny’s favorite foods, and I really like it, too–even though I don’t really like chocolate. (I know, blasphemy, right? Don’t worry, he loves chocolate enough for both of us–he’s such a girl!) But yeah, I just read aloud “Vanilla-Nutella Swirl Cupcakes” and he ran across the room to make sure that’s actually what I said. And now, the next time I can find Nutella in the store, it’s totally on. LoL. He has demanded these for our next gathering, and his birthday (which is also Valentine’s Day). So yeah, thanks for another rockin’ recipe! Oh, and I’ve never been a princess–I was always a sorceress or witch instead. I was actually the Wicked Witch of the East, ruby slippers and all, this year. :-)

  10. MARTI, My hubs is a nutella and chocolate nut too! I like nutella and chocolate but I am not a freak about it like my hubs. HAHA. If you get a chance to make the cupcakes, definitely let me know what guys think! PS. Love the wicked witch of the west costume idea!

  11. The cupcakes look great – I think the universe is telling me to buy Nutella. :)

  12. NATASHYA, HAHA @ buying Nutella. That’s exactly how I felt between my friend’s cravings and my baking group. Go buy some. You won’t be disappointed!

  13. These are great pictures and you all look so cute!!

    Those cupcakes sound wonderful. I LOVE nutella!!!! Mmmmm….

    I posted my entry in the Halloween Cupcake Contest on my blog. It’s http://www.lifewithcherylwray.blogspot.com. I will also be emailing you with my info. Thanks for the fun contest and the inspiration!!!

  14. Those look so delicious! I am going to make them right now. =)

  15. Mmmmm! I’ve left a surprise for you at my blog!

  16. CHERYL, Thank you! Awesome about entering the Halloween Cupcake Contest. Definitely email me so I don’t forget!

    GIRLYFACADE, Very cool. Definitely let me know what you think about them!

    LISA, aaawww for me? ::off to read your blog::

  17. nutella is so freakin addicting I can eat it by the spoonful :) yum!

  18. STEPH, I like nutella but I am not sure I could eat it by the jar-full like my friend but I bet I could eat a good amount in one sitting! HAHA

  19. OMG, you and T are SO cute in that halloween pic. Love it!

    And can I just say Nutella is the most amazingest stuff ever invented–I am not pregnant, I will still eat it by the jar. However, my all time favorite thing to do with Nutella is to make 2 pieces of toast and put peanut butter on 1 slice, Nutella on the other and then sandwich it together. So amazing. It’s like all gooey and delish.

  20. IAMBELLA, Hey chica! What did you and A do for Halloween? Your PB&N sandwich sounds yummy. I might have to try that next time I get a PB sandwich craving… Mmmm…

  21. Okay, I SO want that beater blade!

  22. HTEAC, You SO need one!

  23. I have been looking for a recipe for nutella buttercream FOREVER! Thank you, THANK YOU!!

  24. THEDDCDISH, Awesome! Come back and let me know what you think!

  25. they are so cute..
    you are too ;) but they are super duper cute, you should have entered into a contest

  26. TRICIA, Oh trust me. I know they are way super duper cuter than me! HAHA.

  27. I had to laugh at your “say hello to my little friend”! it fits your pic so well. funny thing. i never had heard that before (well, saw the movie, but don’t remember the line – girl thing), anyway, apparently my husband decided to tell my 5 and 7 year old boys the line and now they are quoting it to all their sweet little friend at school and the neighborhood. nice. i tried to tell them they might want to keep that one for a family thing, but it somehow seems to keep popping up. they even have me saying it now. just had to share that!

  28. LISA, Thats hilarious! After I wrote my post the line was stuck in my head all night and I accidentally said it during a conversation with my godsons and now the 5 year old is saying it too! Its driving his parents crazy. Ooops! Well I guess there are worse movie lines they could be quoting right? HAHA

  29. OK, so your Godsons costumes are EXACTLY the costumes my 5 yr old wanted for him and his baby brother. He did get to be a Jedi, but we couldn’t find a Yoda for baby. Anyway, I have to tell you I cracked up at your opening line. If you think having him say that is bad, well, Aidan (the 5 yr old) came in the living room one day after we had just bought him new underwear and, I’m not even kidding, said – in that tone of voice – “say hello to my new underwear.” Seriously. I am raising two crazy boys!

  30. HOLLY, LOL @ say hello to my new underwear. Oh man. You need to get that on video to embarrass him later when he’s 16. Make sure you have it playing when he walks in with his gf too. HAHA. I would be such an evil mother ;)

  31. Thank you for your wonderful recipe! I pounced upon it, and decided to make it the next day and it tastes incredibly AWESOME!

    I’ve posted your link and the recipe up in my blog, I hope you don’t mind!

  32. JAC, So glad you enjoyed the recipe! Of course I don’t mind that you put the link on your blog. What’s your blog link? I’d love to check it out!

  33. Hola, es la primera vez que visito tu blog, si no te molesta voy a practicar no una sino varias recetas de las que publicas, todas me encantaron, te felicito por tu creatividad. Saludos desde Monterrey, México

  34. […] still prefer it alone. I have been very interested in making Nutella cupcakes. I found a recipe for Vanilla-Nutella Swirl cupcakes a long time ago but keep forgetting to make them. I think the next time I go grocery shopping I […]

  35. […] decided to go with the self icing cupcake recipe (recipe adapted from iheartcuppycakes), so they probably could have been eaten without frosting and still have been delicious but who […]

  36. […] decided to go with the self icing cupcake recipe (recipe adapted from iheartcuppycakes), so they probably could have been eaten without frosting and still have been delicious but who […]

  37. […] [Recipe adapted from iheartcuppycakes] […]

  38. I made these over the weekend but wound up with something more like a muffin than a cupcake. I know the distinction between the two can be debated but the texture wasn’t light, moist, and cakey, but rather crumbly and a little dry. I’m not sure if it’s something I did wrong but the technique for combining the ingredients is different from most cupcake recipes I’ve tried. There’s usually some sort of liquid to alternate adding with the dry mixture. Wonder if that could be it? Anyway, they weren’t bad but also weren’t what I was looking for.

  39. […] from iheartcuppycakes.com Share this:TwitterFacebookTumblrLinkedInEmailPrintStumbleUponDiggRedditPinterestLike this:LikeBe […]

  40. I signed up just to comment on this recipe. I’m sorry to say but this is the most dry cupcakes I’ve ever made! I followed everything to a T. Maybe it’s the lack of oil?


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

