Santa’s Favorite Cupcake

December 12, 2008 at 10:33 AM | Posted in cupcakes | 28 Comments
Tags: , ,

Dear Santa, I can explain.

You know its bad when you start your “Dear Santa” letter like that. HAHA

The thing is. I am not a bad girl. I just have bad tendencies. They usually involve shopping and credit cards. I can’t help it. Its just so easy to bust out my Visa Gold card (I feel so special being a gold card member) and buying those shoes that would go perfect with my Christmas outfit AND its on sale! If its on sale, its ok b/c you saved money. All you girls out there feel me right? RIGHT?!!

I also might be an itty bitty teeny weeny infomercial addict too.

FYI, the ped egg really does work!

So I figure if I want that iphone that’s been burning a hole on my Xmas list since September, I better start buttering up dear ol Santa. What better way than with a cupcake?

(BTW if anyone has an iphone and thinks its a worthless waste of $300, I’d really appreciate a comment. It will make me feel better about being the only person on earth that doesn’t have an iphone. Thanks.)

** Don’t forget to enter my UnBlogiversary Giveaway #2 by December 14th! Also check back on December 16th for my REAL Blogiversary Giveaway. Its the MOTHERLOAD of cupcake giveaways! You won’t wanna miss it!

Happy Friday to all and to all a good night…

Click image to enlarge
Milk and Cookie Cupcakes
(Recipe adapted from Alton Brown, foodnetwork | photos from me!)

Makes 1-9×13 cake (I got 18 cupcakes)

For tres leche cupcake
1-1/2 cups cake flour (I used 1-1/2 cups AP flour+4tbsp cornstarch instead)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
5 eggs
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

For glaze
6oz evaporated milk
7oz sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup half-and-half

For whipped cream
2 cups heavy cream
8 ounces sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

[NOTES: You could probably 1/2 the whipped cream recipe but my pet peeve is running out of frosting so I always make more than I need.]

18 mini chocolate chip cookies , garnish

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare cupcake pan with liners.

Whisk together the cake flour, baking powder and salt in a medium mixing bowl and set aside.

Place the butter into the bowl of a stand mixer. Using the paddle attachment, beat on medium speed until fluffy, approximately 1 minute. Decrease the speed to low and with the mixer still running, gradually add the sugar over 1 minute. Stop to scrape down the sides of the bowl, if necessary. Add the eggs, 1 at a time, and mix to thoroughly combine. Add the vanilla extract and mix to combine. Add the flour mixture to the batter in 3 batches and mix just until combined.


Fill the cupcake liners about 1/2 full. Bake for about 17-20 minutes or until the cake is lightly golden and toothpick comes out clean.

Remove the cake pan to a cooling rack. Poke the top of the cupcakes with a skewer or fork. Allow to cool completely and then prepare the glaze.

To make glaze—
Whisk together the evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk and the half-and-half in a 1-quart measuring cup. Once combined pour about 2-3 tbsp of milk mixture over each cupcake. Do it slowly. You will have to wait as the milk mixture gets absorbed before adding more or it will over flow your cupcake. Refrigerate the cupcakes overnight.


See? My milk overfloweth. But its nothing a little Bounty can’t fix. HAHA

[NOTES: You will have some milk glaze left over but instead of throwing it down the drain, add some to your coffee. My hubs said it was delish!]

To make whipped cream—
Place the heavy cream, sugar and vanilla into the bowl of a stand mixer. Using the whisk attachment, whisk together on low until stiff peaks are formed. Change to medium speed and whisk until thick. Spread the topping over the cake and allow to chill in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

To assemble cupcake—
Pipe frosting with Magic Tip 7ST star tip. Garnish with chocolate chip cookie.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He loved this cupcake and said its definitely on his top 5.

Wifey rating: A/A+
This was definitely one of my favorite cupcakes. The milk glaze does make the “cake” more spongecake-like but the flavors are SO good. I personally think the cookie garnish made it that much more awesome but I could be a little biased. HAHA

Other rating: A/A+
Everyone at the party that tried this cupcake raved and there were no leftovers but I have to admit that the red velvets I brought to the party were the bigger hit. There’s just something about red velvet that everyone loves…

28 Comments

  1. those look awesome!

  2. mmmm that looks so awesome! you’ve made santa happy:) i have yet to taste tres leches… although i have had the ice cream flavor ;) it was amazing.

  3. super cute! But seeing as I hate milk I don’t think Santa will get these at my house :) I may do a variation though with some sort of cookie cupcake for a cookie exchange I’m going to next week

  4. NIKI, Thank you!

    KIM, I’ve had tres leche at parties/restaurants before but never made it myself. I figured I can’t go wrong with Alton Brown. I bet the ice cream version was DELISH!

    BB, I don’t like milk either but I can dig tres leche. Go figure! Must be the sugar? HAHA. Cookie cupcake would be cute. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  5. Yummy, if adapted from Alton Brown, you can’t go wrong, right?! :)

  6. Dear Santa (aka T),

    As CBs bestest friend in the whole wide world AND the current owner of the fabulousness that is the iphone I must submit my request for you to purchase for my beechykins for Christmas. If I have to wait 7 more months (her bday) for my CB to get her iphone i will most likely have been locked up in an insane asylum after hearing about her want for iphone goodness for so long. You know how happy CB and I are together and to tear us apart by forcing me into a crazy hospital would be a very Scroogetastical move. I know you’re no scrooge so, do the right thing and get my beech her iphone (then I get get her the cutie johnny cupcakes iphone cover … hawtness).

    Merry Christmas,
    You’re favorite bad influence on your Wifey
    aka NB
    aka Nikki

    PS keep in mind that I have tried to keep CB less unplease about her future job endeavors … you owe me one and I’m cashing in

  7. Wow, these look amazing! Tres Leches cake is one of my boyfriend’s favorites, and we have tons of evaporated and sweetened-condensed milk still left from thanksgiving – I’ll have to try this recipe!

    Also, on the iPhone – I worked at an AT&T store as an iPhone product pro last summer when it first came out. Back the, it wasn’t 3G yet, was completely incompatible with Windows Vista Business (for which I blame Windows – I’m still an Xp user myself.), could not run any java-based programs or websites, and had no zoom or video-recording function in its relatively mediocre camera, and no games or gaming capabilities. I had to sell it, and I sold a LOT of them, but I can tell you it wasn’t worth the $600+ price tag. While they have made a lot of improvements, I still stand by my original word that the phone design has a long ways to go before I’ll even spend $300 on it.
    Realize, however, that as a former retail salesperson of cellular devices, I’m a lot pickier than most people. If these things won’t bother you, then the iPhone is still a great product to have…and if you do decide to get one, PLEASEPLEASEPLEASE make sure you get Apple’s insurance plan for it. It’s worth the extra cost.

  8. Those look really incredible! I can’t wait to hear how they taste! I’m wondering how long the whipped cream will hold it’s shape. Let me know~ also, where did you find that tip? I haven’t seen it anywhere!

  9. These look great and I love your whipped cream swirls.

  10. JULIE, No doubt. Alton rules.

    NIKKI, Best. Santa. letter. Ever. I’ll make sure that T…er… Santa finds it. ::wink::

    RAINE, Wow. Thanks for the insider scoop on the iphone. Curious? What do you still think the iphone needs to improve on before you would endorse the price tag? Appreciate the heads up about the insurance plan. PS. If you make my cupcake, let me know what you think, k?

    LISASMILEY, Thank you! I haven’t had too many problems with whipped cream esp right now during the fall/winter. I’d probably be more likely to freeze the cupcake for a couple hours before the party to keep the whipped cream a little stiffer in warmer weather though. I found my 7ST star tip at my local cake shop. If you are looking for one, check out my giveaway next week. Thats all the hint you get ;)

    JEN, Thanks! Some cupcake-ers don’t think that whipped cream is “really” a frosting but I say if I can pipe it, its a frosting! HAHA

  11. That’s too funny! I love your note…step away from the cupcake!
    ~ingrid

  12. Whipped cream is the best frosting! Nothing beats whipped cream for me, if only I can get it to work without turning into butter.. haha. I’ve never ‘soaked’ cakes with a glaze before.. I’ve brush simple syrup but its probably different from soaking. I might have to give that a try except I hope I won’t sacrifice fluffiness!

  13. does that also work for the cake version too? or thats just the cupcake version cause either way i want to attempt this.

  14. If i don’t have that mixing attachment is it still okay to use the standard mixer attachment for it?

  15. Mmmm, yummy! I agree with previous posters – if it’s adapted from Alton, it has to be good! (love him!!!)

    And you’re not the only person in the world without an iPhone. I don’t have one either. (and I don’t have a Blackberry or Palm Treo or any other “smart phone”) :) I just can’t swallow $300 for a phone. That’d buy too many cupcakes. ;)

  16. INGRID, I have cupcake stealers at my house so the note was a necessity. HAHA

    STEPH, I love whipped cream too. Esp with strawberries. YUM! I think homemade whipped cream is so amazing compared to storebought. If I have heavy cream at home I make my own. Yeah brushing glaze and soaking are different (to me). I think you sacrifice a little fluffiness b/c the cake soaks up the milk glaze but not in a bad way. I like the texture of this cake myself.

    CAKEPIRE, Here’s the link to the original recipe from Alton Brown. His recipe is for a cake. You don’t have to have the Beater Blade to make it. You might have to scrape down the sides a little but your KA mixer flat beater will work fine too.

    GINA, Yup. No smart phone here either. Just a plain ol cell phone. I think the biggest reason I want an iphone is the internet access. Hello my name is Clara… I am an internet addict. ::Hello Clara::

  17. The biggest deal-breaker for me on the iphone is the camera. It’s only 2MP (the highest I’ve seen now in phones is 3MP), has no zoom function, and no video recording abilities (whereas some of the much-cheaper phones have cameras with zoom and can be used for live video conferences)

  18. Oh my goodness, Santa is one lucky man! Looks delish.
    I still use a home phone, but deal with the bills from hubby’s and teens’ phones – I find the touch screen ones to be a pain in the @#$ pretty soon. They are heat sensitive and are not meant to be kept near the body. Who doesn’t keep their phone near their body lately? Anyway, that is my only caveat.
    Do I get a cupcake now? :)

  19. NATASHYA, Heat sensitive? Ooohhh that might be bad for me. I am always warm. My temperature is always higher than normal. ::handing N a cupcake but the computer screen seems to be in the way:: LOL

  20. LOL, YUM!

  21. FIELDSOFCAKE, It was ;)

  22. Oh heck yeah the ped egg works! But ya gotta be careful and don’t get carried away watching tv and stop paying attention to the skin disappearing on your heels………… It doesn’t feel too great next day! :(

  23. HTEAC, eek! That sounds painful. I can get a little scrub crazy too but I haven’t gotten to the “no skin” level yet. I’ll heed your advice ;)

  24. Clara, These look SOOO yummy!! So cute with the santa letter. And…I dont have an iphone, I have been frugal with my pink razer for about 3 years now? lol…whatever! I would rather spend the cash on cool sprinkles.

  25. COURTNEY, I like sprinkles and all but being an internet addict makes me NEED an iphone. HAHA

  26. Ok, Maarch 1st is finally approaching, so I can finally make these! Unfortunately, I am running into some pretty serious issues and could use some guidance.
    1) My boyfriend’s birthday is Sunday, March 1st, and I’m tentatively planning a suprize party for Sunday evening. Friday through Saturday afternoon, I’ll be in southern GA for training and Sunday I start working at the fudge shop in town. This makes timing when to bake stuff tricky…
    2) I have no idea yet how many people I can get to come, but my worst nightmare is for everyone to go to all thr trouble of coming to a party and not getting some cake, so I’ll probably have to double the recipe, which scares me since the foodnetwork reviews said not to even try it if you don’t have a scale…
    3) I have only found the cupcake liners you use once about a year ago, and I have no access to get them by next sunday, so my options are to use the regular (fall-themed) cupcake liners I have, or turn this into a cake. I’m not particularly fond of using out-of-season liners or eating around soggy ones, so I’m actually leaning toward making this into an actual cake.

    So with this, my main questions are:
    How long can I leave the cake in the fridge with the milk mixture on top? and
    Would you recommend just doubling your recipe to get the right measurements or trying to invest in/borrow a scale?

    Thanks!

  27. RAINE, Breathe girl breathe! LOL.

    1) So when would you be baking the cupcakes? Saturday night? Sunday?
    2) There are no guarantees about who will actually come to the party so definitely double the recipe if you have the resources.
    3) I am kinda partial to cupcakes b/c cake requires more “things” ie knife to cut it, plates, forks etc etc. I don’t see a problem with using the cupcake liners you have or you can go to your local grocery store baking aisle and get some simple white or foil ones too. I get my cupcake liners (aka souffle cups or party nut cups) at Smart & Final. Not sure if you have that store near you?

    Q: I know Alton Brown recommends putting the cupcakes or cake in the refrigerator overnight so that’s what I did and it turned out amazing. I don’t think it would hurt leaving it in the frig for longer but I probably wouldn’t leave it more than 2 nights. Overnight for best results though. Personally I don’t think you really *need* a scale. I think you can easily just double the recipe using the scoop-and-sweep method with your measuring cups. I have a digital scale but to be honest I haven’t had any problems with my scoop-and-sweep method doubling or tripling recipes (knock on wood).

    Hope that helps!

  28. Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you present.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.
    Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

