Cupcake Hero #11 [White Chocolate]

February 3, 2009 at 9:50 PM | Posted in Cupcake Hero, cupcakes | 32 Comments
Tags: ,

First things first.

Happy (belated) 1 year anniversary Cupcake Hero!

… and now for the shameful news.

The Cupcake Hero deadline was *looking at side menu bar* 3 days ago. I know. I fail. Laurie even gave us longer than usual to get our entry up but I still fail. Go ahead and shame me. I deserve it.

::protecting self for harsh words and stale cupcake stumps::

Even though I am not eligible for the super awesome Askinosie white chocolate prize, I still wanted to participate and wish Cupcake Hero many more years of cupcake contest goodness. I can’t believe I entered my first Cupcake Hero over a year ago. Memories…

Now something you may or may not know about me: I don’t like coffee. Crazy right? I mean there’s 4 Starbucks within 1 mile of me but I still can’t get into the coffee craze. Usually if I make a Starbucks run I get a hot chocolate or some other non-coffee drink. Now my husband is a different story. He loves him a good mocha… with whipped cream… and chocolate sprinkles. When my husband convinced me to try the white chocolate mocha, my coffee-hating ways had met their match.


White Chocolate Mocha Cupcakes
(Recipe adapted from Cupcakes by Shelly Kaldunski | photos from me)

makes about 12 cupcakes (I got 16 cupcakes)

INGREDIENTS

For mocha cupcakes
1-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup whole milk (I used half-and-half)
1/2 cup strong brewed coffee, at room temperature (I used Folgers Classic Roast)
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar (I used dark brown sugar)
1 large egg, at room temp

For white chocolate buttercream
3 large egg whites, at room temp
3/4 cup sugar
pinch of salt
1 cup unsalted butter, cut into 16 pieces, at room temp
4 oz melted white chocolate, melted and cooled

For chocolate garnish
1 cup semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips
1 tablespoon shortening

[NOTES: The chocolate garnish recipe makes a good amount. You could probably 1/2-1/3 the recipe if you are only making 12 cupcakes.]

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat to 350°F. Line cupcake pan with liners.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a measuring cup, combine the milk and brewed coffee. In a stand mixer, using a flat beater on medium-high speed, beat the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add the egg and beat until combined. Slowly add the flour mixture, alternating with the coffee mixture, ending with the flour mixture.


Fill cupcake liners about 2/3 full. Bake for about 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Let cool before frosting cupcakes.

To make buttercream—
In a large heatproof bowl (I just use my mixer bowl), combine the egg whites and sugar. Set the bowl over simmering water in a saucepan and whisk constantly until sugar is completely dissolved (160F), about 2 minutes. Remove from heat.

In a stand mixer using a whisk attachment, whip egg white mixture on high until it holds stiff peaks, about 5-6 minutes.

Switch to flat beater and add the salt. Add butter a few at a time, beating well after each addition. Don’t worry if buttercream starts to look curdled. Just keep beating on until buttercream is smooth and creamy, about 3-5 minutes. Add melted white chocolate to the buttercream, mixing until combined.


To make chocolate garnish—
Melt chocolate with shortening over double broiler or nuke in the microwave in 10-15 sec intervals until melted. Line a baking sheet with wax paper, prepare piping bag/parchment bag with melted chocolate and pipe your design.

[NOTES: I am not the best draw-er (word?) but I am a good tracer so I drew the pictures on the wax paper and then flipped it over before piping the chocolate.]

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A+
He’s not into white chocolate. He likes his mocha plain jane so the white chocolate buttercream wasn’t his favorite but he loved the mocha cupcake.

Wifey rating: A/A+
Mocha cupcake good. White chocolate buttercream great. Aren’t my cupcake “coffee cups” so cute? I really dig how the chocolate steam came out. The heart might be a cute Valentines idea, no?

32 Comments

  1. oh my god, those are to die for!!! sorry you missed the deadline, and thanks for posting the photos anyway.

  2. Wow wow wow they look super yummy delicious.

  3. Wow! These look amazing! I love white chocolate, and I love mocha! You make such gorgeous cupcakes :)

  4. The chocolate decoration looks great! I have a bake sale coming up at my sous chef’s preschool for Valentine’s Day. I think these just got added to my submissions.

  5. Love the chocolate steam. I don’t like coffee either.

  6. I don’t like coffee either but those cuppys look to-die-for. YUM!

  7. OMG, those look DELICIOUS! I do like coffee, speaking of, I haven’t had any yet this morning, no wonder I’m all groggy. :) I think I may definitely have to try these!

  8. I say you win anyway!! I can’t stand white chocolate, but John LOVES white mocha lattes!! I’ll totally have to make these for him :) hmmm maybe valentines day… perfect! Good job girl!

  9. VEGGIEVIXEN, Ah yeah. I just lost track of the days but its ok. More than the prize I just wanted to contribute and show my Cupcake Hero love.

    HAPPYCOOK, Thank you! I have to admit they were pretty yummy.

    APPARENTLYJESSY, I heart white chocolate too. I think all the white chocolate haters are just strange. haha

    AMY, LOL @ preschooler sous chef. Can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

    JEN, I really liked how the steam turned out too. Sometimes things don’t always turn out IRL as in my head so its kinda cool when it actually does!

    RP, *high five fellow coffee hater*

    JULIE, Since you’re a coffee lover you’ll have to let me know what you think if you make the cupcakes, k?

    STEPHCHOWS, HAHA. You’re cute. Its not about winning. Its how you play the game right? Oh who am I kidding. Thats totally loser talk! hahaha. If you make these for J, let me know what he thinks!

  10. oh these look so good, i want one now! i’ll have to try these one day!

  11. What is it with us and deadlines? I’ve nearly given up on all baking challenges because I can’t seem to meet the deadlines given.

    That cupcake sounds to die for! I’m surprised you don’t like coffee, considering you’ve come up with some awesome coffee-inspired cupcakes.

  12. Starbucks’ non-coffee fraps are pretty good. The first few times I ordered them, I didn’t realize they had no coffee! I love how you decorated them like a coffee cup. I think the chocolate hearts would be perfect for V-Day (actually, any day). Drawer is a word, btw. I don’t even know how successful I would be tracing it. Chocolate everywhere! haha

  13. Awesome cupcakes!!! These are too cool. Love the chocolate hearts…too cute.

  14. The photo of your cupcakes made me smile. Too cute!

  15. Oh My! (Swoons) I love chocolate! I love coffee! I love cupcakes! What could be better than white chocolate mocha cupcakes? I suspect the answer is nothing! TFS!

    BTW, what is *your* idea of strong coffee?

  16. Super, super cute.

  17. great tutorial! love the idea of the cupcake, even tho you missed the deadline!

  18. Love those chocolate garnishes. I may have to steal that idea sometime! Also love the little handles on the cupcake wrappers. So cute!!

  19. KAITLYN, If you try it, let me know what you think, k?

    TANYA, Yeah seriously. I just can’t deal anymore. I am sad that I just can’t commit to much these days but hopefully when things calm down I’ll be able to pick back up. Hopefully.

    CARLA, Non-coffee frap huh? Might have to give that a taste test on my next Starbucks run. Thanks for confirming that “drawer” is a word ;)

    FOODLIBRARIAN, Thanks Mary! I am a sucker for hearts.KA

    KAMAILE, Awesome. Best compliment ever.

    DLM, To be honest my idea of strong coffee is any coffe. LOL. I just used what I had at home. And thanks for commenting. ;)

    BROOKE, Thanks!

    DOROTHY, Yeah I flaked on the deadline but hopefully I’ll be top of my game next month.

    STEF, Steal away… I have to admit I am quite of smitten with them myself.

  20. ohhhhhhmy. i wish i could have you just make these for me, ha, but i think i’ll have to give these my best attempt. they look and sound amazing and i love your presentation! the little coffee “cups” are so cute.

  21. KRISTIN, I wish I could make some for you too. That way I don’t eat them all myself!

  22. I love those cuppies – the handles are sweet!

  23. LISA_MAGICSPRINKLES, Thank you!

  24. I love your little cupcake site :) Yummmmm. I do have a question tho…where do you find that style of cupcake paper? I’ve never seen them. Putting a handle on the traditional cupcake holder wouldn’t quite be the same.

  25. And…one more question…I’d love to put a link to your site on mine…is that alright with you?

  26. SARA, They are called party nut cups or souffle cups depending on where you buy them. I buy mine at Smart&Final, 250 for $5. I’ve also seen them in smaller quantities at Michaels in the baking aisle. Hope that helps! PS. I am flattered! Feel free to link away! :)

  27. I made these tonight!! they were delicious but for some reason when I added the butter, my frosting lost all of its thickness

  28. HANNA, Really? How long did you mix it after you added the butter? Did the frosting curdle?

  29. I just randomly found your blog and love it very much. These cakes are so stinkin cute!

  30. MEGAGOOD, Thanks! I like random blog finds too ;)

  31. sooo cute! I really want to do this for my coffee-loving friend’s birthday. This is a dumb question, but how did you stick the handles on the cup? tape?

  32. I think I used tiny glue dots or tape? Sorry my memory is a little fuzzy since I made these about 2.5 years ago. Also if you are making these for a friend it might be easier to use candy melts instead of the recipe above to make the “chocolate smoke” b/c it won’t melt as fast. HTH


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

