Red Velvet Kiss Me Cupcakes **GIVEAWAY** (Over and out!)

February 8, 2009 at 10:51 AM | Posted in cupcakes, giveaway | 72 Comments
Tags:

I am gonna start with the giveaway if you all don’t mind. Heck I admit when I see “giveaway” in any blog title, I scroll pass all the chit chat to get to the good stuff. You know you do the same thing. Its like Christmas blog style. Forget the wrapping paper and tissue fluff, lemme at what’s inside!

Ok… ready?


Cupcake Chardonnay available at World Market for $10.99/bottle.

Now that you’ve all seen what you can win. Here’s the lowdown.

I am not really a wine person. (Sorry April!) I’ll drink it on special occasions – New Years, weddings, birthdays, Valentines’ Day – but I think its like coffee or diet soda. More of an acquired taste. I tend to like the girly alcoholic drinks – martinis, cosmos, margaritas. You know? The ones that have a sweet taste vs the ones that knock you over with just a whiff. But I am willing to try most things at least once (you won’t find me bunge jumping anytime soon though) esp when there is a dare involved. So when my friend bought me a bottle of Cupcake Chardonnay (do my friends know me or what?) and double dog dared me to drink the whole bottle. Well… I had to. She dared me!

… and that’s why it took me a week to get this post up.

Rules:
(1) Only one entry per person please.
(2) Only those who live within the US eligible to win prizes. (Sorry my international peeps!)
(3) Please make sure you have a valid email address so I can contact you if you win.

To enter leave a comment:
Do you believe Valentines Day is a holiday created by our capitalist economy or do you think its a romantic meaningful day to spend with the ones you love?

I am a very cheesy romantic sappy person which is a good and bad thing. If I am single then Valentines’ is an EVIL EVIL holiday designed to make me feel very aware of my single status. If I am in a happy relationship, then Valentines’ day is a perfect excuse to ask for diamond earrings spend some sweet quality time with the one I love. But all kidding aside. I’d rather be alone on Valentines’ day than be with Mr. Wrong. Feel me?

Deadline: Monday, February 9th @ 11:59pm PST.

I’ll even ship it PRIORITY so you can get it in time for Valentines Day! (Hopefully if USPS cooperates?)

Winners will be chosen by Mr. Random Generator.


Recipe adapted from Cupcakes by Shelly Kaldunski

Makes about 12 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
1-1/2 cups cake flour
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp vinegar
4 drops red food coloring (I used a couple squirts of Ateco red color gel)
3/4 cup sugar
4 tbsp butter
1 egg, room temperature

For cream cheese frosting
8oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 lb (~4 cups) powdered sugar, sifted

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat oven 350F. Prepare cupcake pan with liners.

Sift together cake flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt into a bowl. In a large Pyrex measuring cup, whisk together the buttermilk, vanilla, vinegar and red food coloring; set aside. In a stand mixer with flat beater, beat the sugar and butter on medium speed until light and fluffy, 2-3 minutes. Add the egg. Mix to combine. Add the flour mixture in 3 additions alternating with buttermilk mixture, ending with the flour mixture.

Fill each liner about 2/3-3/4 full. Bake about 22-25 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Let cupcakes cool before frosting.

To make frosting—
Combine the butter and cream cheese together in a mixer fitted with a flat beater attachment until creamed. Add vanilla extract. Gradually add powdered sugar. Scrape down the bowl as needed.

Garnish with heart sprinkles and hershey kiss!

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
I don’t think he actually said anything but I heard lots of Mmmms…

Wifey rating: A+
Red velvet + cream cheese frosting + chocolate. Need I say more?

72 Comments

  1. 1
    I love valentines day, I love showing my husband how much I love him, and I don’t mind spending a little bit of money to buy him a card and chocolates. By the way those cupcakes look amazing!!!

  2. 2
    Wow – what a cool giveaway! Even if I don’t win, I think this is a must have for Valentine’s Day!
    Part of me thinks it is an evil day made for us to spend money one silly things for our loved ones. But the other part of me likes the idea of having one day to remind us of how lucky we are to have our loved ones. I think we should have a V-day every month.
    Tania

  3. 3
    Well, I think it depends on the couple. My husband doesn’t celebrate Valentine’s Day (hasn’t since we started dating 8 years ago), but he does other things throughout the year to show me he loves me. That being said, I wouldn’t mind getting a card on 2/14! :)

  4. 4
    I personally think it’s a day to bring single peeps together. Maybe it is created by the corporations, but in a lot of cases it makes people happy.

  5. 5
    I love Valentines day. I think people get so caught up in life and work and all the little things that they need one day to stop and remember why we are all here. It’s a nice reminder to say “I love you”, to give someone a hug, and to make someone’s day.

  6. 6
    I’m not all that into Valentine’s Day. That being said, I’m sure it has historical roots, and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having a day dedicated to expressing love. It’s just that, for me, that has nothing to do with cards or candy or jewelry – it has to do with spending extra time with my husband. So that’s what we try to do.

    But ultimately, I think the day should be whatever each couple wants it to be.

  7. 7
    THis is a hard one. I am like most that depending on how I feel any given time or if I am in a relationship or not I think that Valentines is made for the retail sector, but on the other hand I really don’t mind having another day when my significant other is waiting on me hand and foot and telling me how much he loves me…. :) Me likey the attention!!!

  8. 8
    I like Valentines but I go with the first option. I think that it started as a day to celebrate love but it’s’ turned into some crazy capitalist thing. We celebrate but very low key. No big fancy gifts or anything like and we like it that way.

    I also think it shouldn’t be the only day to celebrate your love. That should happen all the time.

  9. 9
    I’m not a wine person either. I saw you posted on the WC Forum about the cupcake wine. Honestly, I had to look. I was thinking a wine that tasted like a cupcake?!?! The bottle is darling.

    Anywho, I’ve never been one to celebrate VDay. It’s overrated to me and why spend tons of money on chocolate you can buy anyday of the year? Why does one need a day focused on love? To help guys remeber? lol or to let guys off the hook by thinking they did a great job on this one particular day then it’s smooth sailing until next year? lol I find the subtle and random gifts of candy, flowers, and a card (even if its some note made in paint left on my desktop background more rewarding than a $5.00 card bought because he had to.

  10. 10
    i kinda think that its an evil corporately created holiday because you should show and be shown all year long, but at the same time, i love valentines day, even when im single! everything is pink! its just so cute… and what girl doesnt love heart shaped cupcake pans…

  11. 11
    I go with the latter option. I think that most holidays have a certain amount of capitalist aura about them…Christmas, Easter, Valentine’s Day, Fourth of July. At every one of those and all others I can think of the local grocery store has something in stock for the particular day. That being said, it’s nice to take one day and make a point of showing my H how I feel for him. We enjoy taking the time to be together on Valentine’s Day and don’t let the cheesy atmosphere or naysayers about the day detract from our enjoyment.

  12. 12
    I think its all commercial but I try to make it all about our family and have a special nice dinner together and some great dessert after the kids are in bed for some one on one time. wink wink

  13. 13
    I love Valentine’s Day because my anniversary is the next day…makes for a nice couple of days!

    ;) amy

  14. 14
    While the holiday itself may have been made up to suck money out of us- I’ll use any excuse to spend some extra special time with my hunnie. We’re simple and don’t spend tons of money- but a special day where eating loads of chocolate is allowed- I’LL TAKE IT! :)

  15. 15
    Red Velvet cupcakes? Yum!! I’m also a bit of a romantic. Valentines Day, like other holidays and occasions (Christmas, weddings) was probably created as a day to celebrate love. Then over time, our economy fueled it into this huge greeting card & boxed chocolate holiday. I think it’s a great holiday. It’s really up to you how you want to celebrate Valentine’s Day and how much money you want to spend. It’s a day to remind us to show our loved ones how much we love them, even if it’s via a corporate holiday greeting card.

  16. 16
    I’m just kind of eh about Vday. I was never a huge fan when I was in High School and now, we don’t really celebrate. My hubby’s bday is the 11th so it’s a lot to try to do two holidays that close together. We usually just cook a nice meal together or lay in bed all day and watch an entire season of Heroes or something like that.

  17. 17
    I think that Valentine’s day was created by hallmark. I love romance and love all that good mushy stuff, however, my hubby should love me everyday not one designated by an industry. :)
    We celebrate by a nice dinner at home because who wants to wait four hours to eat at a nice restaurant.

  18. 18
    Well, I think the holiday was made up by the card companies, but it has morphed into a time of togetherness for peeps.

  19. 19
    I used to HAAAATE Valentine’s Day with a passion! I wore black, had anti-Valentine parties, etc. But once I found Mike, my whole outlook changed. And while I do think it was made up by the retail industry, who cares. I love having a special day just to focus on each other! And yes, we should show love to each other every day and celebrate it all the time, but what is wrong with a special day to just set aside special time to do something romantic? I, for one, LOVE it! :) And I am SUPER excited for Saturday. We are going to dinner, and I can’t wait!!!

    Oh, and I LURVE wine…. ;) ;)

  20. 20
    What a fun giveaway, and so timely too!
    We actually enjoy Valentine’s Day with the kids more than each other! It’s so much fun showering them with such wacky extra love for that day.

  21. 21
    Aren’t all holidays created for the economy to cash in? I must say though that I am a sucker for holidays and celebrate all of them in excess. I love my husband every day of the year but Valentine’s day is just an excuse to love him even more. So, I LOVE IT! Im glad we have silly holidays to get excited about. Plus, Valentine’s day gives me a reason to bake cupcakes =)

  22. 22
    I think it’s all commercial. There are 364 other days of the year. If my loved ones don’t know how I feel, one speacil day won’t change that!!

  23. 23
    I absolutely think Valentine’s Day is a holiday created by our capitalist economy, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy it anyway! :P I mostly love the sweets & treats I get from it.

    Those cupcakes look yummy.

  24. 24
    My parents were married on valentines day… which I think is totally adorable… at the same time… I totally don’t celebrate the holiday… which for the most part either confuses guys or makes them happy hahaha :D

  25. 25
    While I think it is kind of a money making holiday here in the US I still like to make something for my hubby to show him I love him. But I DO think people get a wee bit carried away!

  26. 26
    I like Valentine’s Day but my husband and I do not exchange gifts. We will go out to a nice dinner at our favorite Italian restaurant and exchange cards. It is so close to the Christmas Holidays that I don’t see the need for flowers or extravagant gifts.

  27. 27
    I think that a few theories about how the holiday started out can sum up how I think that America has capitalized on the holiday…

    The holiday originates from the story of Saint Valentine, who upon rejection by his mistress was so heartbroken that he took a knife to his chest and sent her his still-beating heart as a token of his undying love for her. Hence, heart-shaped cards are now sent as a tribute to his overwhelming passion and suffering.

    However I do enjoy the treats and sweets that my sweet gives me and will use any excuse for a date night with my husband :) But I think that it shouldn’t be the big hoopla that Hallmark and others make it out to be.

  28. 28
    I wanna win….please Mr. Random Generator pick me. I actually saw your tease on Twitter and had to type on over.

    I think Valentine’s Day is a little bit of both — over commercialized but a great day to stop and say I love you, rather than assuming people know it.

    I’m feeling #28 is the lucky number.

  29. 29
    I have to say that I do enjoy Valentine’s Day, whether it’s a capitalist driven holiday or not. I think I’ve mostly had someone special to share it with, so maybe that’s why I don’t have any bitter feelings toward it =). Hopefully hubby does something romantic…

  30. 30
    I think Valentine’s Day is a good excuse to spend time with my sweetie. We are planning to make dinner at home and a nice bottle of wine would be the icing on the (cup)cake! :)

  31. 31
    I really think Valentines Day started with good motives, but has been taken over by the commercial vultures. My hubby and I do not really celebrate because our anniversary is the following weekend.

  32. 32
    It depends for me…I believe it’s a little bit of both. Really, it comes down to whether or not I have someone, or if I’m feeling particularly bitter :)

  33. 33
    Eh, I am not a big fan of the forced emotion and panic that Valentines day seems to stir up. I am ok with a token gift of affection but I am not looking for some big, overt, display. Love knows no season or date, it should be constant and ongoing.

  34. 34
    Although I do feel that V-day is a Hallmark Holiday, I do see it as a reason to celebrate and enjoy a nice date with my husband…we do cards, notes and date nights regularly though, so it’s not an out of the ordinary event. :)

  35. 35
    I think Valentine’s is what you make it. It’s all about the spirit in which you do things. I appreciate my husband every day and don’t really need a holiday, but I know he likes getting all the mushy stuff!

  36. 36
    I think Valentine’s day is romantic (but i’ve been with my husband for ever!) even if you don’t get the ‘big’ gift. Heck its a gift if he helps clean up after dinner LOL

  37. 37
    I think Valentine’s Day can be a meaningful holiday but if you get too wrapped up in buying anything red and pink that you see and focus more on “things” rather than the ones you love, you are definitely falling into the capitalist trap! Otherwise, it is a nice excuse to make extra-chocolatey goodies! Thanks for the giveaway.

    caitlinhyla(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  38. 38
    Cute cupcakes, they look yummy!

    I think Valentine’s Day is what you make of it. I think in some ways though it has become more of a “hallmark holiday” and yes, it looks like pink and red have puked all over most of the stores this time of year.

    Personally, I cherish the one and ones I love at every opportunity, not just one day during the year. Besides, I’d rather get flowers or chocolate when there isn’t a “reason.” That’s just me. :)

    Great giveaway! :D

  39. 39
    capitalist economy all the way! why should your significant other only be nice and lovey dovey on ONE day? it should be everyday!

  40. 40
    Hmm… while I do believe that Hallmark or our consumerist society have created Valentine’s day as we know it today, I am a hopeless romantic. SO while I don’t buy into the whole craziness that is V-Day (going out to a overpacked restaurant and demanding flowers and diamonds.. I like flowers and diamonds but I don’t demand them :D ), I do like to take a little time out to acknowledge the loved one(s) in my life (I say ones because there have been years when I’ve sent flowers to my single girl friends).

  41. 41
    First of all, those cupcakes look scrumptious! A perfect Valentine’s treat!

    As for my feelings on Valentine’s Day: it’s certainly not my favorite holiday, BUT, I don’t think it’s some capitalist ploy either. Valentine’s Day is a great excuse to show ALL of your loved ones that you *love* them. It’s a great excuse to eat lots of chocolate, to indulge, and to remind people how much you care about them! This year, my boyfriend and I are eating at a restaurant where each course has some crazy name like “seduction” and “sensuous,” etc. Come on, that kind of creativity doesn’t come from capitalist drive alone! (Of course, the day after Valentine’s (when all that candy goes on sale)…now that’s a different story…)

  42. 42
    I think it’s a good day to tell the specail people in your life how much you love them. I LOVE chocolate & that makes it an extra special day! Nice giveaway! Thanks!

  43. 43
    Dia de Valentino (???)…
    Believe it’s all about love (and chocolate-lust fulfillment).

    In Korea, Valentine’s Day is a bigger holiday than in America. It’s a day when a girl expresses her feelings to her love interest through chocolate (mostly handmade). So glad that it’s the other way around here!

  44. 44
    By the way… Can you have a Ms. “I Heart Cuppycakes” hand-baked cupcake(s) giveaway? Please please please with frosting on top?

  45. 45
    i’m not a fan of valentine’s day at all! i will admit that it was pretty fun in elementary school, but it was also very wasteful (all the cards, decorations, etc. got thrown away) & those pink candy hearts were pretty horrible! i think valentines day can be fun, but i think its 1000x better without the exchange of gifts!

  46. 46
    I don’t like to celebrate Valentine’s day because everything is more expensive. My hubby and I met on Feb 7th so we celebrate that day with dinner (usually) and homemade cards but never gifts. I will make my son a cute card or buy him a stuffed animal but that’s the extent of it.

    I may make some really cute cupcakes this year… yours look fabulous!

  47. 47
    Well i love Valentine’s day!!! I’m a single gal, but i usually spend it with family or friends. I think it’s very much a holiday for the commercial industry to bring in some cash, but I LOVE IT ANYWAY!!! I love red, pink, hearts and all things cute so it’s a great holiday for me. it’ll be even better if i when the Cupcake Chardonay!!!

    I love your blog. I want to start my own soon, but just haven’t got around to it yet:)

    Melody aka cupcakemel@gmail.com

  48. 48
    Capitalist, totally. But I don’t mind having another excuse to tell my loved one that I love him. : )

  49. 49
    I’m on the Hallmark did it side of things. My wonderful husband and I celebrate each other throughout the year with gifts and treats, so I feel loved all the time! We’ve never been big v-day folks. However, my 30th birthday is on the 12th and this would be a great slightly delayed celebration for THAT! I like celebrating my birthday and my Mom is making me red velvet cupcakes, so this wine would be BRILLIANT for that occasion!

  50. 50
    Well…I think it’s both. Any day other than an official birthday or major holiday is pretty much a commercial idea based on our sappy sentimental hearts that can’t turn down a pretty card, box of candy or bouquet of flowers!

  51. sorry…forgot my email address: julievallejo@att.net

  52. 51
    I think Valentine’s Day is a bit of both. It’s all in the way you look at it and celebrate it. I love having the chance to do something special for those that I care about, but I try to do it more often than just on Valentine’s Day. That being said, February 14 gives me an extra day to go out of my way for the ones that I love. However, I do think that certain industries and companies capitalize on the sappiness and lovey-dovey feelings to earn a buck. But, I would too if that was how I was making a living.

  53. 52
    Good thought provoking question…..Hmmmm…..I would say that it’s definitely a money-making sex scheme, to rope couples into feeling guilty about not getting each other a Valentine’s present. Or, how much you spend on each other for that matter. It’s also peer driven. Like, your friend got a diamond bracelet for Valentine’s Day and all you got was a stinkin’ T-shirt that says “Bite Me!”! All of a sudden, your lover boy isn’t so attractive anymore! And why not? Cause he ain’t got the BIG bucks to keep up with your friends boyfriends wallets! (no reference to you CB! you just got me going that’s all!)

    On the other hand, if the kids are out, then by all means go for the romantic dinner & candlelight, movie and ?!?!

    Anyway, I’d love a bottle of that Chard! You know how I LOVE cupcakes and wine!

  54. 53
    Looks like we guys are always left out :-(

  55. 54
    The history behind Valentine’s day goes way back, but it’s true that it had become a commercial holiday, just like everything else. It’s crazy that stores display holiday stuff more than a month in advance!
    But I’ve always celebrated Valentine’s day, either with the boyfriend or with friends. I think it’s a nice occasion to show and tell people that we love them!
    Oh.. and I would LOVE that bottle of wine :)

  56. 55
    OMG I am the same way about wine. I can’t stand the smell, which prohibits me from even drinking it. Sometimes if DH is really pestering me to have some, I will put a little wine in a glass and add sprite. I keep trying new ones and I still haven’t found one I can enjoy. I saw this in the ad yesterday and told DH to go buy me some to try. On to your question, I think it is a mix. I think it started as a sweet holiday to show the person you love how much they mean to you and it just snowballed into this gross commercialized holiday. Restaurants raise their prices. Roses skyrocket in price. Movie theaters are so crowded it’s unenjoyable.

  57. 56
    what a great give away!!
    But in answer to your question–Valentine’s day is WONDERFUL!! Even when I was young and always single I loved having craft days for valentines day–where all my friends would come over and make stuff for boyfriends, friends, to throw away b/c they really hated v-day. Whatever reason, it was a good excuse to hang out with friends, eat good stuff and just love!! Now that it’s turned into playgroup valentine craft parties I don’t think it any less fun. But this year we’re definitely having some hanky panky cupcakes for the mommys to enjoy!!

  58. 57
    We had this wine for our anniversary this year at the effiel tower in vegas!

  59. 58
    I think Valentine’s Day has historical roots that are about selfless love, but the card companies exploited it to make money! I secretly love it though – all the hearts and candies ♥

  60. 59
    I think it is a nice romantic holiday. I just wish I could teach my husband to be romantic.

  61. 60
    I think it’s nice to celebrate and get some candy but no need for expensive gift (at least on my end, if he wants to get me one then so be it.) :)

  62. 61
    I think it is both! It is a holiday that was created by commercialism, but I love the way that my family celebrates it! It isn’t so much romantic as it is just another day to enjoy as a family and focus on telling our family that we love each other!

  63. 62
    I think it’s a nice holiday…but perhaps there is too much pressure on men this time of year…The feeling should last all year, not just for one day…

    Thanks for the chance.

  64. 63
    I love any reason to buy/receive gifts, cook special treats, and dress up. I also love that around Valentines day Target has lots of cute pink stuff. I also love that after Valentines day one can score aforementioned pink stuff really cheap. I also love wine. We don’t have a World Market here :( and I would love to try some cupcake wine. However, you may want to disqualify me because you’re not supposed to ship wine to SD, but I wont tell if you wont :D I’m not really sure how closely the post office inspects packages though.

  65. 64
    I think that lots of times those that we care most about get lost in the shuffle and chaos of everyday life. It’s nice to have one day dedicated to recognizing how much our loved ones mean to us, if only for a day. Just having that reminder that someone cares about you and loves you is special. So yes – I love Valentine’s Day. I love a day about telling the one you love how much they mean to you, in whatever way you choose to. Thanks!

  66. 65
    Well my husband things giving flowers is a Cliche, so I would have to say that it’s probably just an economic thing and I hate all of the stinkn’ jewelry commercial that come on the television this time of year.

  67. 66
    i kinda think valentines day is a cliche holiday, and even i think the markup on roses is rediculous. that said, its still nice to have someone do something nice for you and make you feel special. and i love any excuse to bake heart shaped confections!

  68. 67
    I think it’s a hallmark holiday, however I do enjoy receiving gifts, especially if it’s chocolate! :)

  69. 68
    My husband and I don’t like to spend a lot of money on Valentine’s Day, but it’s nice to have an excuse to spend time together. He makes dinner and I make dessert. =)

  70. 69
    Well, Since i’ve always been single I call it the ever popular, Single Awareness Day. I on that day i spend my time making cards for my friends, I change the type of card based on relationship status of my friends. But i think its a holiday, for people to spend time with their loved just like any other holiday, getting a box of chocolate is ALWAYS a plus!~ ;)

  71. 70
    I like buying treats for my husband and stepson. A few pieces of chocolate makes everyone’s day. And now I have a newborn in my life and can’t wait to start buying girlie valentines as she grows up. She’s only 6-months, but she’ll get a heart of some sort on Saturday.

  72. (You snooze you lose. Sorry! Time’s up!)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

