Cupcake Question of the Day (Time’s up!)

February 12, 2009 at 9:06 PM | Posted in Cupcake Question of the Day, giveaway | 100 Comments

What cupcake flavor (or combination of flavors) says “Thank You”?

My husband asked me to make cupcakes to give as “thank you” gifts but when I asked him what flavor he wanted, he just shrugged and said “I don’t know. Whatever flavor says thank you”.

Um. Ok husband. That was no help.

*rolling my eyes, having a hard time keeping them contained in my head*

That’s why I am posing the question to my readers.

Hey… Where you going?

Fine. I’ll even make it worth your while. (Sheesh! You all are so high maintenance.)

The most common question I get emailed is: where can I find those white cupcake liners that you use? So let’s turn this Cupcake Question into a giveaway. Every comment enters you in a random drawing to win 250 cupcake liners. I got your attention now huh?

What you waiting for? Help a clueless self-proclaimed cupcake-ista out!

Deadline: However long it takes for husband to pick flavor or Monday, February 16th @ 11:59pm EST. Whatever comes first. So get in while the gettings good!

100 Comments

  1. 1
    Vanilla. Because EVERYBODY likes it, if you don’t like a vanilla cupcake you’re certifiably insane.

    Chocolate is iffy, some people hate it. Strawberry/fruit is also iffy, some people can’t tolerate citrus, some are allergic, etc. Vanilla is perfect because everyone can eat it and its pretty too.

    Thats just my two cents!

  2. 2
    Who loves cupcakes? I love cupcakes! And I love your cups!
    RED VELVET CUPCAKES, hands down!

  3. 3
    Vanilla or vanilla bean is my vote.

  4. 4
    Something simple is the perfect flavor for ‘thank you’ cupcakes.

    Yellow cake and alternating frosting – chocolate and vanilla.

    That is ‘thank you.’

  5. 5
    I think chocolate says thank you. The person you make them for will probably say thank you back, and then you’ll get involved in a thank you war.

  6. 6
    Well, if someone was thanking *me*, it would be chocolate, chocolate, and chocolate. :) But actually, I think a white cake, almost angel food-like, says ‘thank you’. I have no idea why, but that just popped into my head and stayed there.

  7. 7
    I think for something like this you want to go with a neutral but delicious flavor…some cupcake flavors that I absolutely love (such as lemon or coconut) are not everyone’s favorite, and for a thank you gift, you want to make sure the recipient loves the cupcakes. I’d suggest either vanilla or chocolate, maybe with strawberries or raspberries to make it really special! :)

  8. 8
    I had a friend who made “rainbow” cupcakes, they were vanilla flavored, but somehow she managed to make them layered with color… topped with cream cheese frosting.. amazing!

  9. 9
    Well, the flavor I would like to say thank you is chocolate with vanilla frosting.

    Now if I were to make them for DH, I would try to make something as close to coconut cream pie as possible (his fav dessert). Maybe yellow cake with a coconut frosting and crushed graham crackers sprinkled on top.

  10. 10
    Nothing says “thank you” like a crunkcakes. :)

  11. 11
    The red velvet with cream cheese frosting is the perfect thank you cupcake. In Chinese culture, red means good luck and happiness, that is what I want when for the people I appreciate!

  12. 12
    I would just go with something safe, like a butter cake or a vanilla cake with a simple frosting. If you’re not familiar with the people enough to know what flavors they like, I wouldn’t get too experimental.

  13. 13
    i agree with everyone else, nothing too complicated vanilla with strawberry frosting! nom!

  14. 14
    strawberry! like…chocolate covered strawberry!

    anyone who doesn’t like strawberry doesn’t deserve thanking! ;)

  15. 15
    I dunno about the rest of the world, but in Australia, you say thank you with a box of Roses chocolates. It would be awesome to have chocolate cupcakes with a centre of a roses chocolate in each one, each cupcake would be a surprise flavour!

  16. 16
    Chocolate cupcakes. Chocolate is still a special flavor for many, especially if they don’t eat it a lot.

  17. 17
    I agree with most of the ideas above. You really can’t go too far wrong with vanilla but you need to do something to it to make it a little more that just an average cupcake. How about a surprise toffee centre and a butter toffee frosting? Something really sweet and moreish.

  18. 18
    I totally have to say yellow cake with chocolate frosting. Or vanilla cake. Or something cute… goodness, I have no idea! ANY cupcakes say thank you!

  19. 19
    At first I was going to say lemon, just because that seems so sweet and nice… kind of like something that would warrant a thank you! But reading the other comments makes me think vanilla, too, because you don’t know their tastes.

  20. 20
    http://www.cakescookiesandcraftsshop.co.uk/acatalog/Nut-Cups-Cake-Cases.html

    they are on special offer 4 for 3

    I would make caramel cakes xxx

  21. 21
    http://www.geographics.com/p1113/Red-Nut-Cups,-8/pack/product_info.html

    this site sells them in lots of different colours

    xxxxx

  22. 22
    Well, if this going to end up being one of those “Oh mom, I forgot. I have to bring 24 cupcake to school today” I would say vanilla with chocolate frosting. Something really good, but fairly quick.

  23. 23
    An ice-cream sundae (flavored) cupcake with sprinkles and a cherry on top!

  24. 24
    If it is a co-worker or boss, doughnut cupcakes would go great with their coffee.

  25. 25
    Red Velvet with cream cheese icing, definitely.

  26. 26
    I almost went with vanilla, but then – funfetti. Seriously. Potentially with more sprinkles on top. What better way to say thanks than by giving them something that will make them smile? Oh, and I got your package but I’m a slacker – THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! Oh my goodness, all of those things are going to make an appearance in my kitchen very very very soon. Especially the sprinkles. See a theme here?

  27. 27
    what about an orange flavored cake with cream cheese frosting? it’ll be like a creamsicle

  28. 28
    I’d totally go with red velvet, but that is probably because I am in a red velvet mood.

    Depending on who it is and how much of a “thank you” it needs to be, those Milk and Cookie ones were outstanding!

  29. 29
    I think you should bake dozen of varity cupcakes would be great. Like when you get doughnuts and you get one of each of your favs. I would include: red velvet/creamcheese, chocolate with vanilla frosting,vanilla with chocolate frosting, the doughnut cupcake with the coffee icing, White Chocolate Coconut Cupcakes,Milk and Cookie Cupcakes, german chocolate cupcakes. You could make two of each cupcake!!

    I would love to get these as a thank you!!

  30. 30
    I think what would say Thank You the best is not just one flavor, but an assortment of different flavors. It will make that person feel very special that you took the time to make such a variety of cupcakes for them.
    How about making one of each from your 12 favorite of 2008 list? I know it’s a lot of work, but that’s what I would do !!

  31. 31
    My first thought: Red Velvet. It’s always a winner and something about it just screams “THANK YOU!”. I’d love to be thanked with a batch of red velvet cupcakes! :)

  32. 32
    If it’s a very happy thank you, I say confetti!

  33. 33
    Banana cupcakes with chocolate frosting!
    ORRRRRR
    spice cupcakes with creamcheese frosting
    both yummy and both very warm and comforting, almost like a friendly THANK YOU hug :)

  34. 34
    For some reason, I feel like yellow cake with chocolate frosting is a good thank you cupcake. No real reason, it’s just the first thing that came to mind…

  35. 35
    Nothing says “thank you” like a variety of cupcakes: vanilla, chocolate, red velvet, mocha.

  36. 36
    For me the best thank you would be chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate. :)

  37. 37
    Chocolate obviously … It says thank you, I’m sorry, I love you, Your sexy and a number of other good things all in one flavor

  38. 38
    I think Red Velvet says thank you. With sprinkles!

  39. 39
    I usually make a yellow cupcake with cream cheese frosting. Plain and Simple. That’s how I roll. :)

    Of course if you don’t pick my name, perhaps we can make a trade. Say a pincusion for some of those fancy liners that I can’t find around here….

  40. 40
    Chocolate Chip cupcakes (I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love chocolate chips) with chocolate icing. SO GOOD!

  41. 41
    My gut reaction was chocolate – basic chocolate cupcakes, but then when I got to thinking, I think White cupcakes say thank you. But the key is you have to use colored frosting on them. Brightly colored – perhaps in floral colors and I think they need to look really nice! That says thank you.

  42. 42
    I say strawberry cupcake with vanilla frosting. It’s not too simple or too decadent, so it’s just right. Plus it’s pretty.

  43. 43
    I think vanilla or white cake would do it, with colored icing. Because it’s universally pleasing. And, you can sprinkle whatever you (or the thankee) wants on top.

  44. 44
    Oh my gosh! How have I not seen your blog before?!?! It’s fantastic!

    Red Velvet always says “thank you” to me, but I don’t think that you could go wrong with yellow cake and a fudgy chocolate frosting.

  45. 45
    all about the chocolate thank you cupcake :)

  46. 46
    Traditional yellow or vanilla. Everyone likes it. Some people (like me) won’t eat a chocolate cupcake (I know, I’m strange). But even though some may prefer chocolate, everyone will eat vanilla. Whip it it up with some yummy buttercream and you’re all set!

  47. 47
    Vanilla all the way. It’s elegant, and if you want to make it less boring, you could have funfetti frosting or one with sprinkles.

  48. 48
    Nothing says thank you like vanilla…but with a twist. Add something fun to the batter like sprinkes. Or jazz up the icing with sprinkles. You could also do vanilla batter with different flavored icing so people could choose how they wanted to be thanked.

  49. 49
    Anything sweet, vanilla is easiest because everyone likes it for the most part but just add a cute little note that says something like “Sweets for being so sweet and (enter what thank you is for here, Thank you”

  50. 50
    Pink carnations mean gratitude, so when I think of “Thank You” cupcakes the first that come to mind are How to Eat a Cupcake’s Neapolitan cupcakes (http://howtoeatacupcake.net/2008/01/neapolitan-cupcakes.html)…the strawberry SMBC looks like a pink carnation on top of the cupcake, which is half chocolate and half vanilla (so everyone’s satisfied!)

  51. 51
    I’d say red velvet. They are not chocolate and not vanilla…kinda somewhere in between. The are festive and as high end as cupcakes can get.

    If not red velvet, lemon. Again not chocolate or vanilla and refreshing and warm. (cause they make you think of lemonade and that makes you think of summer)

  52. 52
    My friends always vote for my Chocolate Cinnamon cupcakes with Chocolate Cinnamon ganache on top. :)

  53. 53
    who doesn’t like chocolate… thank-you! thank-you!

  54. 54
    Lemon, definitely lemon.

  55. 55
    Hmm.. That is a tough question. If you know the person well enough to know what flavor they like, then I would go with that. Otherwise, red velvet since it has a sort of neutral flavor but looks extra special all dressed in red. Or maybe yellow cake with chocolate frosting… And sprinkles :)

  56. 56
    I love White/Yellow, Strawberry, Cherry Chip & Spice flavors. But most people don’t like all those. I say that a safe an cute way to go would be to swirl the chocolate and yellow/white batter together. You get the best of both worlds.

    And for people who aren’t fans of chocolate, they can usually deal with a little of it when they are still getting the white/yellow. Or vise versa.

    :) Good Luck picking the “right” Thank You flavor.

  57. 57
    Red Velvet Cupcakes – those say thank you to me!

  58. 58
    Banana with cream cheese frosting. It’s just such a friendly, happy kind of cupcake! And you can get away with eating it for breakfast since it involves fruit, right? :-)

  59. 59
    cupcakes that say “thank you” to me would be simple ones with a twist…like chocolate cupcakes with white chocolate ganache (or PEANUT BUTTER frosting), or vanilla cupcakes with strawberry jam filling. i’m sure whatever you make will be fantastic!

  60. 60
    Something Elvis-inspired (Thank you. Thank you very much.). There’s a wonderful cupcake bakery in Austin, Sugar Mama’s Bakeshop (http://sugarmamasbakeshop.com/), and they have an Elvis cupcake that I’ve heard is to-die-for: banana cupcake with peanut butter cream cheese frosting. This says thank you for sure!

  61. 61
    P.S. I don’t work for Sugar Mama’s Bakeshop, I just love their tasty treats!

  62. 62
    I would have to say something pretty… vanilla with chocolate frosting or red velvet with a tasty cream chees frosting, but something maybe with frosting in the center would me mighty thank you worthy…

  63. 63
    I’m going with red velvet because they seem so elegant and unique, like you really are going out of your way to thank the person. You’re not making just an ordinary vanilla or chocolate cupcake but you’re also not making a cupcake with so many things going on that it’s distracting either.

  64. 64
    I was going to say chocolate – who doesn’t love chocolate cupcakes? But as I thought about it, I think a sweet thank you would include a lighter, fresher flavor like strawberry or lemon. Or maybe a combination – strawberry cupcakes with lemon frosting.

  65. 65
    Lemon is the flavor of gratitude to me.

  66. 66
    I totally think you should go with chocolate. Everyone loves chocolate! Good luck. I love your blog.

  67. 67
    For a thank you, you have to do something a little interesting. Vanilla and chocolate…those are birthday flavors. For thank you, you’ve got to do something a bit rich, like spice cake with a cream cheese frosting. If the individual doesn’t like that, a light fruity flavor also stands out, like lemon!
    Now I’m hungry…

  68. 68
    :-) Peanut Butter and Chocolate!! How can you go wrong with that?

  69. 69
    id have to say chocolate gives a heart felt thank you the best.

  70. 70
    Chocolate of course! My husband likes chocolate w/chocolate frosting but I would either do vanilla or chocolate.

  71. 71
    I would have to agree with everyone who says white, vanilla or yellow. To make it extra special and give them a bit of a Thank You surprise, you can add some kind of filling. If you were thanking me, I think I would like the “copcake” filled with the coffee frosting.
    (CB – I added my middle initial to prevent any confusion :))

  72. 72
    don’t make red velvet, it’s so gross with all that food coloring!

    maybe vanilla bean, more special when you can see the pretty little flecks

  73. 73
    strawberry cupcakes with vanilla buttercream made into a “flower bouquet” in a flower pot – like little pink thank you flowers, but edible!

  74. 74
    Anything with a cream filled filling would be my vote.

  75. 75
    Gonna have to say chocolate/chocolate is the best thank you.

  76. 76
    I’d go old school and do yellow butter cake with chocolate icing….can’t beat that!

  77. 77
    I would agree with most people above…chocolate, vanilla, or red velvet. Of course, if you know what the recipients like best, that’s easiest, but I would stick with one of the classics…you can’t really go wrong. I mean, it’s cupcakes, right?

  78. 78
    OK, I actually thought about this while I made my Valentine treats. And I am really tired of choclate at the moment. I remember when I was 15. We just moved and the new neighbor lady came by to welcome us to the neighborhood with a homemade banana pie. It was SO good I still remember it 25+ years later. I also think Orange flavor is alwyas bright and cheery flavor. Peace….

  79. 79
    I’d definitely have to say red velvet. They’re more special than just plain old vanilla or chocolate.

  80. 80
    Well, Chocolate is more of an “i love you” and so it strawberry, I think confetti cupcakes are more of a ” THANK YOU SOOO MUCH!” So I’ll stick with the confetti cupcakes for my answer.

  81. 81
    I think a lemon cupcake with cream cheese frosting says “thank you” quite well. You avoid the problem of those (crazy) people who don’t like chocolate. lemon is a refreshing and well-liked flavor, and well, cream cheese frosting is just addictive.

  82. 82
    I’m going to say pumpkin cream cheese… pumpkins remind me of thanksgiving, and being thankful.

  83. 83
    Ooooh oooh… I thinking of a simple cake (like vanilla) with diced strawberry chunks and a light frosting (perhaps whipped cream). YUM! That couldn’t say ‘thank you’ any better!

  84. 84
    Also, you MUST top the vanilla/strawberry cupcakes with fresh strawberries– whole, glazed, halved, or diced!

  85. 85
    I vote for vanilla as well! :D

  86. 86
    Hey, if you really want to say thank you, I say go all out and give them an assortment – you know, like a Whitman’s Sampler – start out with your basic vanilla cake and chocolate frosting, then devil’s food with buttercream, how about lemon with a merinque on top, then strawberry with a pink frosting, how about carrot cake with cream cheese frosting?, next comes chocolate with peanut butter, mmmmmm…, don’t forget about coconut, red velvet, vanilla with buttercream and sprinkles, chocolate chip with chocolate frosting, oh yes, banana walnut with a maple frosting, and finally we need a deep dark chocolate with a chocolate ganache and a gold foil wrapped heart as a topper! Now that says Thank You!

    S.W.A.K.
    http://www.CuteStuffInside.blogspot.com

  87. 87
    light lemon cupcake with vanilla cream cheese frosting. and if you want more BAM, add SPRINKLES!!!

  88. 88
    Yellow (butter) cupcakes with chocolate frosting, for sure.

  89. 89
    I would have to say something extra special and for me that would be anything citrus-y. Especially key lime. yum-o With cream cheese frosting.

  90. 90
    I think it depends on for what they are being thanked. I could see a good vanilla cupcake decorated with chocolate gold coins and a note saying “Thank you for being a treasure” Or lemon with a cream cheese frosting and the note saying “Thank you for helping me turn life’s lemons into something wonderful.”

  91. 91
    I think that most people enjoy schocolate chips and I like to keep things simple, so simple chocolate chip cupcakes are the answer for me!

  92. 92
    Chocolate…what else???

  93. 93
    a citrus cupcake like an orange or lemon seems like a good thank you cupcake. it’s light and airy and thought it may be cliche’d a bit, it does add a nice between of citrusy sunshine to the day.

  94. 94
    Yellow cake with chocolate frosting. Something for everyone.

  95. 95
    Vanilla cupcakes with a vanilla bean buttercream. Could it get any better? And with chocolate (including red velvet), strawberry, peanut butter or any citrus you run into allergy issues. So…vanilla…and mmmm…Magnolia Bakery’s recipe is my personal favorite!

  96. 96
    chcolate cupcakes..everybody loves chocolate!!!

  97. 97
    chocolate cupcakes with strawberry cream cheese frosting :)!! yummay

  98. 98
    white with buttercream or strawberry icing…just simple and a bit fancy…

  99. 99
    That could be tough. If it is a mighty huge thank you I would have to go with something rich, like chocolate cupcakes with some peanut butter frosting.

    If it’s just a sweet thank you, do something fun like vanilla cupcakes with pink frosting and sprinkles. Classic cupcake goodness right there.

  100. (Sorry time’s up! Better luck at the next giveaway!)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

