Stressed spelled backwards is desserts.

April 4, 2009 at 11:12 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 49 Comments
Tags:

Ugh I am stressed out! Kill me now.

When I am stressed out. I bake. But I don’t bake just anything.

I tend to choose projects that take more than average creative energy and many steps. Why? You ask. I think it’s because the more brain cells that are occupied on my baking project leave less to be occupied with the “thing” that is stressing me out. Make sense? So basically I just admitted that I have limited brain cells. Hmmm… maybe that has something to do with my memory (or lack thereof). LOL

It didn’t take long for me to decide what I wanted to bake up.

Actually it just “popped” into my head.

*readers groan simultaneously*


Cupcake POPS!
Recipe from Bakerella

Makes about 40 cupcake pops

INGREDIENTS
1-13X9 baked cake (I used Betty Crocker Chocolate Cake mix)
1 can cream cheese frosting
1 flower shaped cookie cutter (1.25″ wide X .75″ tall)
1 package chocolate candy melt*
1 package pink candy melts**
lollipop sticks
garnish for cupcake (sprinkles, M&Ms)

*I used Mercken brand
**I used Wilton brand

INSTRUCTIONS

Bake a 9×13 cake from a mix or from scratch and cool completely.

Crumble cake into a fine consistency into a large bowl. To make it easy, you can run it through a food processor. Add a can of cream cheese frosting. Blend thoroughly.


Prepare a wax paper lined baking sheet. Roll cake mixture into 1.25-1.5″ size balls and lay on baking sheet. Cover with plastic wrap and chill in refrigerator for several hours. (You can also freeze for about 15 minutes if you are short on time.)


Remember when Martha Stewart said on her show it looked like a turd? LOL. Man I love that woman.

[NOTES: I used my digital scale and weighed each cake ball at about 1.0 oz]

Remove cake balls from refrigerator and begin to shape into cupcakes using a small flower-shaped cookie cutter. Take the chilled ball and roll it into a “log” shape and slide bottom into cookie cutter. Push it into cutter halfway. Then push the shaped cupcake carefully out of the cookie cutter from the bottom. Set right side up on a wax paper covered cookie sheet. Repeat with remaining balls. Cover and return to refrigerator overnight. (You can also freeze for 5-10 minutes.)


I made some cupcake pops and some bites.

Melt brown and pink candy melts per package instructions in large bowls. Remove naked cupcake pops (NCP) from freezer and prepare another wax paper covered cookie sheet. Take the NCP and dip bottoms into the melted chocolate halfway – just to where the “cupcake top” starts. Lift from chocolate and shake so that the excess chocolate drips off. Then lay on the wax paper “cupcake top” side. Insert the lollipop sticks while the chocolate is still wet. Continue with rest of the cupcakes. (Dip end of your lollipop stick in the melted chocolate before inserting into chocolate bottoms.)

Let chocolate set completely, about 15-20 minutes. Once set, dip the tops of the cupcakes in the pink chocolate until the “cupcake top” is completely covered. Rotate and let excess chocolate drip off. Place an M&M on the top and add sprinkles. Let set upright in a styrofoam block.

To complete the presentation, cover the cupcake pops in a little plastic bag and tie with a ribbon.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He was very impressed with how “cute” and tasty they were but requested that red velvet would have been better with cream cheese frosting than the chocolate cake. One track mind.

Wifey rating: A+
These are so fun and whimsical for any occasion and they are pretty darn delicious too! Call me silly but I am also excited to cross “cupcake pops” off my baking bucket list now! w00t!

Other rating: A+
I brought some cupcake pops over to see my godsons. J, age 5, loved them (esp the green M&Ms pops because that’s his favorite color) and E, age 18 months, had more end up on his shirt than in his mouth but he cried when mommy took it away so I think that means he liked it. HAHA

49 Comments

  1. Adorable, as usual!

  2. These are just precious! A perfect de-stresser!! I hope things are better now. And no matter what, your stress resulted in some very creative, cute cupcake pops!!

  3. Ummm….I’ve never been one for cupcake pops…but maybe that’s because I’ve never had any that were good…yours are really cute though, so maybe it’ll change my mind…

  4. Wow, I think your cupcake pops look great, so cute! I hope what ever was stressing you out has resolved now…but I do agree that working on something complicated keeps the racing mind at bay! :)

  5. I’m the same, when stressed I bake. Your cupcake pops look fantastic. I must give these a go some day.

  6. Congratulations on the cupcake pops – they look spectacular!

  7. Those look amazing!! I bake when I’m stressed out too. I always thought it was because I wanted to play with the KA or look at batter..haha. BUt, bnot that you mentioned it, I think it is because it takes your mind off the real things that stresses you out.

  8. Adorable! I’m the same way as you when it comes to stress. I need long, all day, drawn out recipes to make me forget everything.

  9. I love to bake when I’m stressed too, but then I have to find people to give things away too or I eat my final product. So some might call me a stress eater, but really I’m a stress baker with no one to share with….

    The pops look really cute!

  10. Wow! They look tedious but a lot of fun. When I’m stressed I tend to clean…wish I would use the energy to bake though.

  11. Great minds think alike! My computer died this weekend and I baked and assembled the most complicated cake.

    I’ve been planning my “Baking: Cheaper than Therapy” post since Friday.:)

  12. awesome job!! they came out so cute. i have to say that i am probably never, ever making these ;) i think they would stress me out even more, lol

  13. The cupcake pops are so adorable! Another winner from you!

  14. Nice work CB. They look great! I like to throw the warm cake and the frosting straight into my KAM and let it do all the mixing.

  15. haha, you’re brilliant! that’s probably the reason why people eat dessert when they are stressed out. but honestly, what’s better than chocolate…on a stick?!? awesome pops.

  16. Great job – I want to make some of these one day…

  17. Good job girl!!!! Those things put up a good fight but you smacked them into their place :D

  18. Sorry you’ve been feeling stressed, but it relaxed me just thinking about gnawing on one of these little poppin’ fresh treats!

  19. I could say the same about the commenter ;)

  20. Thank you! Sometimes stress can be a good thing huh? haha

  21. I wasn’t sure I was into cupcake pops before I tried either but I gotta tell ya. They become addictive… fast!

  22. It’s not completely resolved but I am definitely more calm about it than I was before. Sometimes you just gotta bake the stress away!

  23. Definitely put them on your must-bake-someday list. They take a good amount of time but the outcome is fun!

  24. Thanks chicky!

  25. Oh I am sure it’s also b/c I wanted a good excuse to play with my KAM too! tehehe. My KAM amuses me.

  26. Exactly! Nothing like a long project to forget your other woes…

  27. I am TOTALLY a stress baker with no one to share with (b/c everyone is on a freaking diet!). I guess I just have to eat it myself. Fate worse than death really. Death by chocolate cupcake pop.

  28. You clean? Man I wish I was a clean-my-house stress-er. I bet my husband would stress me out on purpose if I stress-cleaned. HAHA

  29. Complicated cake? NICE! Looking forward to reading your post about it.

  30. Dude! You should make them. I bet you’d do even better than me. If anything I know your pictures of them would be amazing!

  31. Thank you!

  32. See…? I would have done that but I used my KAM to make the cake and was too lazy to wash it out to combine the cake crumbs and frosting. HAHA

  33. Me brilliant? Well… I don’t know about.. yeah I am! HAHA.

  34. You should!

  35. Heck yeah! *punch* *jab* *shuffle step* *punch*

  36. No worries. There are 3 things certain in life: stress, death and taxes. Isn’t that how the saying goes? ;)

  37. Nice cake pops!

    I tried making these but was very unsuccessful :( i can’t seem to do the flower bottom using the cookie cutter mould……..i envy people who can do it~~

    But i decided to make it round like easter eggs and with chocolate mould! That turned out quite alright .*smiles*

  38. Aawww really? What was the problem using the flower cookie cutter? Way to improvise making them easter eggs. Cute!

  39. I’m sad your godsons liked them (well happy for you, sad our kiddos don’t like them!)…I had 5 cousins try them ages 13-3 and they all thought they were TOO rich! The grownups liked them though! I just found your site today and I’m so excited to try some of your cupcakes for easter!!!

  40. So adorable! I’m planning on making some cupcake/cake pops this weekend for a little Easter treat.

    I LOVE your blog. I’m definitely a fan :) I usually find myself reading it at work instead of doing what I’m supposed to. Oops…

    I also just ordered some of the LorAnn Emulsions. I can’t WAIT to try them out!

    Keep it comin’

  41. I’m glad you found my blog too :) I can’t believe your kids didn’t like them. Seriously? What’s not to like about cake, cream cheese frosting and chocolate? ;)

  42. Thanks for your sweet compliments! I can just see you trying to explain to your boss: “uh uh… just typing up that report for you… on cupcakes right?” Awesome about emulsions. Let me know what you think!

  43. I know I told you on Twitter how in love with these I am, but somehow 140 characters does not do them justice. I need to be more effusive than that. I heart these. I want to make these for my kids. I want to throw entire birthday parties built around these cupcake pops, and I want to share this post with all of my friends. You did an incredible job!

  44. aawww you’re so cute (and sweet)! I think you should make them AND throw parties as long as you invite me. ;)

  45. The problem was every time my cookie cutter gets stuck to the cake and it makes it hard to be removed… Don’t know why i just can’t seem to get it right~~

  46. I totally do the same thing. It seems the more stressed I am, the more creative I get!

  47. Exactly! You totally feel me then.

  48. These are soooo cute–I just can’t stand it. I love reading your blog posts and updates on Twitter. I really want to make these tonight, though I should be grading papers. And I agree with your hubby–these would be fabulous with red velvet cake!

  49. Thank you! I recognize your twitter name! I think they turned out pretty darn cute myself. You should totally make them! I was a cupcake pop scaredy-cat before but they really are fun to make. PS. I understand not wanting to grade papers. I help my Hubs grade sometimes and it’s a time sucker!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

