Tiramisu Cupcakes

May 5, 2009 at 1:01 AM | Posted in cupcakes | 51 Comments

Now you know I couldn’t leave you all hanging on Cinco De Mayo without a crunkcake recipe right?

Although I have to admit, this one is a 2fer. I heart 2fers!

My baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie just happen to be making a tiramisu cake this week and I decided that the recipe would be uber cute as a cupcake. I am just not a cake decorator. I try but I think I get overwhelmed with that big vast canvas. I tend to think of ways to fill up the space and it starts to look more Cake Wreck than Ace of Cake. But cupcakes are small, portable, cute and it doesn’t take much to make it look pretty IMO. A swirl of frosting, a little sprinkle of this and that and you’re good to go.

So… anyone have plans for Cinco De Drinko? I’m thinking Dave & Buster’s happy hour after work until I can’t remember what time it is. Alcohol and arcade games. I can play Street Fighter with the best of them. Have you ever played that game where you control the mechanical claw and whatever prize you pick up, you keep? It’s impossible sober. I plan to see if how I do with a couple margaritas. Just wait and see. I’ll be coming home with a big purple Barney. You’ll be so jealous.

Hmm… come to think of it. Did I ask for tomorrow off? I better double check on that.

PS. Happy (belated) Star Wars Day! May the 4th be with you. <— Hilarious, no? I wish I could take credit for that tidbit but I got it from my godson. He LOVES Star Wars!


Tiramisu Cupcakes
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan

Print this recipe

INGREDIENTS

Makes about 20 cupcakes

For cupcake
2 cups cake flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1-1/4 sticks (10 tbsp) unsalted butter, room temp
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 large egg yolk
1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup buttermilk

For espresso extract
2 tbsp instant espresso powder
2 tbsp boiling water

For espresso syrup
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup sugar
1 tbsp amaretto, Kahlua or brandy (I used Kahlua)

For frosting
1-8oz container mascarpone
1/2 cup powder sugar, sifted
1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp amaretto, Kahlua or brandy (I used Kahlua)
1 cup cold cream

2-1/2 oz bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped (garnish) (I used Ghiradelli bittersweet chips, chopped)
cocoa powder, dusting

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcake—
Preheat oven to 350F. Line cupcake pan with liners.

Sift cake flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a stand mixer, fitted with a flat beater, beat butter until creamy. Add sugar and mix to combine. Add eggs one at a time and then the yolk, beating for about 1 minute after each addition. Add vanilla.

Gradually add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with buttermilk in 2 additions, ending with the flour mixture. Mix until flour just incorporated into batter.

Fill cupcake liners about 1/2-2/3 full and bake for about 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove from pan and cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

To make espresso extract—
In a small bowl, stir espresso powder and boiling water together until blended. Set aside.

To make espresso syrup—
In a small saucepan, combine water and sugar together and bring just to a boil. Pour syrup into small bowl and stir in 1 tbsp of espressp extract and liqueur. Set aside.

To make frosting—
Combine the mascarpone, sugar, vanilla and liqueur in a large bowl and whisk until smooth. In a stand mixer, fitted with a whisk attachment, whip the heavy cream until it hold stiff peaks. Using a spatula, stir in about 1/4 of whipped cream into mascarpone mixture. Fold in the rest of the whipped cream with a soft touch. Add espresso syrup to frosting, to taste. (If frosting is too soft to pipe, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 15 minutes or so.)


To assemble cupcakes—
Poke holes in cupcakes with a fork or toothpick. Spoon about 1-2 tsp of espresso syrup over each cupcake. (Let syrup soak in a little at a time before you add more or it will overflow.) Using your favorite round tip, pipe frosting over cupcake. Sprinkle with cocoa powder and garnish with chopped chocolate.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He loves coffee so he raved about the espresso syrup in the cupcake but he wasn’t a huge fan of the frosting.

Wifey rating: A
I am not a big coffee person but that espresso syrup was FABULOUS and the frosting was good but I honestly liked it more before the whipped cream was folded in. (Of course I tasted it between steps! Doesn’t everyone?).

51 Comments

  1. So darn cute! You are too cool. Happy Cinco de Mayo!

  2. I’m on such an espresso kick these days. I’m excited to try this!

  3. YUM! Tiramisu yummy! What a great idea to make cupcakes. Unfortunately for Cinco de Mayo I will be celebrating by working from 6pm-2am. BUT… I am excited because I’m going to get a payday pedicure today!

  4. These look great – I love tiramisu… so delicious!

  5. Nothing wrong with a 2fer :) I don’t know how you keep up with 2 blogs anyway :)

  6. Those cupcakes are AWESOME!!! And Dave and Busters?!! Can I come!?

  7. Very cute as cuppies.

  8. Oh, I wish I’d had that joke yesterday. Too funny and my son would have loved it. He’s a huge SW fan too.
    Great cupcakes. How’d you like the consistency of the mascarpone frosting? I made it a while back and thought it looked kind of curdled or something. Tasted great, but wasn’t smooth. Did that happen to you?
    Michelle

  9. I have been wanting to make Tirimisu cupcakes for sooo long but it seemed such a daunting project. Yours look amazing. Kudos to you! Seriously. :)

  10. holy wow. these are BEAUTIFUL!

  11. They are so cute… and sound super yummy!

  12. My dumbass told my neighbor I’d go to yoga with her tonight. From 7:00-8:50. No drinky for me tonight…boo. :(

    I <3 tiramisu more than any other dessert…your cuppys look awesome!!!!

  13. Cute tiramisu. Thanks for baking along! Enjoy your night.

  14. The tiramisu looks fabulous in cupcake form! I think I’d make cupcakes next time because I’m not a great cake decorator. Have fun after work :)

  15. Nice! I was kinda counting on you to do this – so I could do it with my left over marscapone – ha ha. Thanks,

  16. I love tiramisu and now there’s a tiramisu cuppie!
    *woot woot* Can’t wait to get my hands on them :)
    Love it!

  17. I love Tiramisu – and my son makes THE world’s most amazing Tiramisu! But I could really do these cupcakes! I think they look just great!

  18. Thank you Mary!

  19. Definitely let me know what you think if you make it! I love reading reviews.

  20. Working? Bah humbug!! That is a crazy shift you work. I couldn’t do it. But maybe for a payday pedicure I could try ;)

  21. Thank you!

  22. Honestly I am not doing it very well lately. Trying to get back in the groove but working full time is putting a kink in that plan. I need more hours in the day!

  23. Come! I’ll rock you at air hockey! HA!

  24. Thanks!

  25. Bummer! I was telling it to everyone I knew b/c I thought it was so hilarious. At least you’ll have it next year. As for frosting. Mine was a little curdled too. I think I overwhipped the heavy cream but like you said it still tasted good. Next time I make it I might not do the whipped cream part b/c I liked the mascarpone frosting sans whipped cream myself.

  26. You can do iiiiiiiiiiit!

  27. Ah shucks! Thank you!

  28. I’m not even a coffee person but I have to admit they were pretty darn tasty!

  29. yoga vs happy hour? Oh girl. Wrong choice. Then again your body might love you more than mine in the morning.

  30. Thank you very much!

  31. Exactly! I think that’s why I love cupcakes. Cakes are stressful.

  32. Sweet! Let me know how it goes!

  33. Dorie never lets me down so I had high hopes for turning her cake into a cupcake. Worked out great!

  34. Your son? That’s so awesome. What’s his recipe? I’d love to compare!

  35. my father-in-law loves this dessert @ restaurants so i’m going to try & surprise him with these cupcakes maybe this summer for father’s day :) he’ll love it.

  36. I am not a tiramisu person. But after looking at how luscious your little gems turned out, I just might have to go ahead and make these. And thanks so much for the blow by blow pictures and instructions…I now have no excuse.
    Thanks?

  37. Definitely let me know what Dad thinks!

  38. Your welcome? haha. I am not a huge tiramisu dessert person either but I loved how these cupcakes came out. The espresso syrup is so good…

  39. Sorry that I’ve been an absent commenter; I just finished up my law school exams and am finally getting around to my google reader. Can we talk about how good these cupcakes look?? AMAZING!! I love tiramisu, and the idea of having it in a cupcake is totally fabulous. OH, and Cinco de Drinko is yet another one of your awesome phrases. Great job!

  40. Congratulations to you on finishing law exams!! What an amazing accomplishment. {high five}

  41. These look fabulous!! I have a question though…I’ve never tried tiramisu before and am not really familiar with using mascarpone. With this icing, will the cupcakes need to be kept refrigerated or are they ok to be left out at room temp?

  42. Mascarpone reminds me of cream cheese but with a slightly nutty flavor. I’d say if the cupcakes are going to be left out over a long period of time it’s probably safer to refrigerate or another alternative is to frost right before serving. HTH!

  43. […] See original recipe from I Heart Cuppycakes blog. […]

  44. I just made these cupcakes yesterday, and they’re fantastic! I didn’t get the full appreciation, though, since I didn’t have time to make the icing. I’ll have to do that again next time! Thanks for the recipe!

  45. Oh, ha, that came out wrong. I meant to say I’ll have to make the icing next time I make these cupcakes!

  46. So glad you enjoyed the cupcakes! Def make time for the frosting. It’s fabulous! (Although I’m sure the cream cheese version was appreciated too.)

  47. I found this recipe for tiramisu cupcakes, my question is the 4 large eggs you mentioned should I separate or 3 whole eggs and 1 egg yolk?

    Thanks in advance.

  48. Sorry for the confusion! I edited the instructions to say “Add eggs one at a time and then the yolk, beating for about 1 minute after each addition”. Hope that helps!

  49. Oh my god!I looooooooove Tiramisu and cupcakes! Combining the two is dessert heaven!!! :) I’ve been trying to find a light Tiramisu Recipe to make myself feel as if I’m not over-indulging and cupcakes like these are just what I’ve been looking for!:)

  50. Lovely looking cupcake and recipe. What tip did you use to frost your cupcake? The only tip I have is a 1M Wilton. Your’s looks like an open round, but there are so many types.

  51. Hmmm… I believe it was the Wilton 12A round tip. But don’t quote me. I can barely remember where I left the remote last night much less a recipe from a year ago. haha


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

