Nothing says L-O-V-E like crunked up raspberries.

February 14, 2010 at 3:25 PM | Posted in cupcakes | 25 Comments
Tags: , ,

Happy LOVE Day, Readers!

I prefer “Love Day” to “Valentines Day” b/c I don’t think Valentines day is necessarily just to tell your husband, wife, boyfriend, girlfriend, significant other that you love them. I like to think that Valentines Day is a day to tell everyone you care about how much you love them. So…

I LOVE MY READERS!

And what better way to say I LOVE YOU than some crunked up chocolate and raspberry cupcakes, eh?

One of my favorite Valentines Day indulgences are Raspberry Truffles. Oh baby… Forget the chocolate dipped strawberries. Give me a raspberry truffle. Better yet. A raspberry truffle and some Chambord laced champagne. Maybe throw in a dozen or so red roses too.

Women of the world! Who’s with me?

Eep! Sorry to cupcake and run but Hubs is whisking me away to a day of love filled fun. I’m crossing my fingers that it includes a hot oil massage. *wink* Hope you’re spending today with the ones you love too.

Oh and… Happy Vietnamese New Year!

Year of the Tiger.

Here’s to a Grrrreat start to the new year! (Sorry I couldn’t resist.)


Dark Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Crunkcakes
Recipe adapted from Hershey’s Kitchen and Culinary Concoctions by Peabody

INGREDIENTS

For Hershey Dark Chocolate Cupcakes (I halved this “cake” recipe and got 17 cupcakes)
2 cups sugar
1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup HERSHEY’S SPECIAL DARK Cocoa
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1-1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water

For Raspberry Chambord Buttercream
1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
1/2 tsp raspberry extract
1 lb (4 cups) powdered sugar, sifted
2 tbsp water
1-3 tsp Chambord, to taste (I used 3 tsp)
2-3 drops of pink gel food coloring, optional (I used Ateco fuschia)

For Raspberry Truffles
2 pints fresh raspberries, cleaned and dried
5 oz semisweet chocolate
1/3 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup seedless raspberry jam

sugar pearls, garnish

INSTRUCTIONS

To make dark chocolate cupcakes—
Preheat oven to 350F.

In a stand mixer, fitted with a flat beater, stir to combine sugar, flour, cocoa, baking power, baking soda and salt. On medium speed, add eggs, one at a time, then oil, milk and vanilla extract. Change speed to low and add boiling water. (Be careful of splashing!) Don’t worry if batter appears thin.

Fill cupcake liners about less than 1/2 full (These cupcakes rise very well!). Bake for about 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool completely before frosting.

To make raspberry chambord buttercream—
In a stand mixer, fitted with a flat beater, cream shortening and butter. Gradually add powdered sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, beating to combine. Slowly add water until buttercream is light and fluffy. Add raspberry extract and Chambord and beat until smooth.

To make raspberry truffles—
In a small saucepan, boil the heavy cream.

In a large bowl, combine the chocolate and raspberry jam. Pour the hot cream over the chocolate and raspberry and let sit to melt chocolate for about 3 minutes. Whisk until chocolate mixture is smooth. If chocolate does not fully melt, microwave on 15 sec intervals until smooth.

Fill a piping bag+small round tip (I used a parchment cornet) with chocolate mixture and pipe into the raspberries. Let filled raspberries sit in frig for about 15 minutes. Use immediately. (Raspberries do not keep their freshness that long.)

To assemble cupcakes—
Using a piping bag and favorite large star tip, pipe buttercream on cupcake. Sprinkled with sugar pearls and garnish with a raspberry truffle.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
Hubs is a big fan of the dark chocolate “cake”. I heard many comments (between bites) like “light” “fluffy” “oh so chocolatey”. Even though he usually doesn’t like any alcohol in his cupcakes he has nothing but good things to say about this buttercream. He actually licked the frosting off the cupcake. Usually he thinks there’s too much frosting on cupcakes (Blasphemy!) and tends to take 1/2 off. Score!

Wifey rating: A+
Honestly? My favorite cupcake to-date. The cake is moist and full of chocolate flavor. But the buttercream is the pièce de résistance. Oooh baby. If you don’t have time to make the cake or the raspberry truffle, make time for the buttercream. I could have licked the bowl clean.

Other rating: A+
One of my favorite clients requested some cupcakes for his Valentine but gave me free creative license to do what I wanted with flavors. Can you say PERFECT client? I came up with the raspberry truffle cupcake more with me in mind so I was a little nervous about what he and his sweetie would think. But he sent me a text message last night with 3 words “SHE SAID YES!” Aawww… I love this cupcake gig.

25 Comments

  1. […] Nothing says L-O-V-E like crunked up raspberries. « Icuppycakes! […]

  2. Ooh I love Chocolate and Raspberry! Looks delicious! :)

  3. Wow! Those look delicious!

  4. Mmmm wow dark chocolate and raspberry all I can say is YUM!

  5. Yummy!

  6. These are so beautiful. Can’t believe you filled each raspberry – such a labour of love.

  7. The cupcakes seem reeeeaaaally chocolatey and it’s exactly what I’m looking for ! And the raspberry chambord buttercream… Delicious !!

  8. bring on the crunk!!! happy love day girl :) hope you had a wonderful one!

  9. “crunked up” and “crunkcakes” = chuckles and giggles.!! looks great too!!

  10. Filled raspberries?? Now there’s a first! Cupcakes sound delicious! I too love the Hershey’s recipe!

  11. looks like a lot of work but totally delectable!

  12. They look fab! So pretty <3

    Katie xox

  13. Oh my word! Delicious and Beautiful!!

  14. you never added the oil…

    :)

  15. Oops! Nice catch. Edited. Thanks!

  16. look great! i like to do cupcakes too. whenever i can.
    cccris.blogspot.com

  17. hey clara, i was wondering what i could use instead of the raspberry extract?

  18. Are you still trying to get the raspberry taste? If you can’t find raspberry extract you could also use raspberry flavored candy oil. Example (here). Candy oils are more potent than extracts though so you should cut it to maybe 1/4 or 1/8 tsp for the frosting. HTH!

  19. […] And they change all the time.  But right now I’m a fan of Shelly Kaldunski’s Vanilla Cupcakes, Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Cupcakes and Elisa Straus’ Red Velvet Cupcakes.  I tend to use these basic cupcake recipes and spruce […]

  20. Hi! :) Mmmmm! I am going to make these for a New Years potluck… hahaha… because they are so pretty and “crunk” cupcakes sounds perfect… :D The “cupcakes” are the ones shown in the picture, correct? Because you talk about “truffles”… but these are not pictured right?? Just checking… :) I am NOT a baker/cooker at all, but I like to for special parties!! Yay! I don’t like sweets anymore or those yucky store bought cakes and cupcakes, etc…! But def giving these guys a try! :) Thanks!

  21. What a great way to ring in the New Year! The “truffles” are the raspberries filled with chocolate on top of the cupcake. HTH!

  22. Any suggestions if you’re not lucky enough to own a stand mixer, but have a hand mixer?

  23. You can still use a hand mixer to make the batter. It will just take a little muscle power from you. The stand mixer just gives you extra hands and more power per mix. Hope that helps!

  24. Thank you for the help. My other question was about the note you have on “halving” the cake recipe. Is the recipe on here already halved, or did you post the full recipe?

  25. The recipe I posted is the full recipe. If you want to make 17 cupcakes like I did, you will need to half the recipe.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

