Cupcake Hero::March [ingredient]

February 22, 2010 at 2:56 PM | Posted in Cupcake Hero, cupcakes | 6 Comments
Tags:

Oh baby! There are so many fabulous ingredient inspirations for March.

According to American Food Holidays, it’s National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day on March 1st, National Chocolate Caramel Day on March 19th, California Strawberry Day on March 21st, National Orange Day on March 31st, National Lemon Day on March 31st… just to name a few. How’s a Cupcake Hero Grand Master suppose to choose?

Take it to the people! My twitter peeps that is. I’m democratic like that.

It’s what us Grand Masters do when we can’t make a decision for ourselves. (Speaking of… is it really that necessary to comb my hair everyday? I mean. Come on. Really?)







Thank you for your tweets everyone!

The votes are in. The majority has spoken. Motion carried.

Your March ingredient is… CARAMEL! *drooooling*


(Source)

You can pretty much do anything you want with caramel. You can make caramel from scratch. You can buy caramel candies and melt them down. You can use caramel ice cream topping. You can use it as a filling. You can make it into a frosting. You can use it as part of the cake recipe. Or all three!

“This world cupcake is but a canvas to our imaginations.” ~ Henry David Thoreau, slightly adapted by me

Deadline: March 15th @ 11:59pm EST

If you have any questions, check out my Cupcake Hero FAQs or email me if you can’t find the answer you’re looking for.

PS- Shout out to my twitter girl Tania (@lovebigbake) for making me giggle with her exuberant “MINT” tweet. You are a rockstar. Don’t let anyone tell you differently. I’m still kinda giggling over it. What can I say? I’m easily entertained. I blame the 2 day old leftover mini cupcakes from LA Cupcake Challenge that I’m not ashamed to say I ate for breakfast this morning.

PPS- February throw down will be announced as soon as my taste testers confirm who the challenger will be! All the sudden they are getting kinda pissy about not having a say in the “Baker’s choice” cupcake. I tell ya. Give people a title and they get all uppity! HA HA!

6 Comments

  1. Caramel. Crazy. I was just having thoughts of a Peruvian dessert reinvented as a cupcake. Peruvian caramel. I’m in. Watch out!

  2. Ooooooh, caramel… Ok, I have to ask, does butterscotch count? :) Because I make a KILLER homemade butterscotch sauce that might have to make an appearance.

  3. Hmmm… Even though it pains me b/c I love butterscotch and now you’ve intrigued me with your homemade butterscotch, I think I’m gonna have to say they are different. But don’t worry! I am sure to have butterscotch as an ingredient in the future! Thanks for asking.

  4. Hi CB! I’m hoping to be back in the ring this month. Just want to check whether dulce de leche counts or not? Thanks!

  5. Hi Xiaolu! We’ve missed you at CH! I think I’m gonna go with no b/c dulce de leche is made by heating up sweetened milk whereas caramel is caramelized sugar+water. But don’t worry! I LURVE dule de leche so I’m sure to have it as an ingredient in CH one of these months. Hope that helps!

  6. Thanks for the fast reply, CB. I totally understand. Just gotta put on the thinking cap now. Can’t wait to see what everyone else comes up with either.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

