Happy PI Day 2010

March 14, 2010 at 12:49 PM | Posted in cupcakes, wilton | 18 Comments
Tags: , ,

I think it’s pretty obvious that I like cupcakes. And I feel that if you’re reading my blog I can say with complete confidence that you’re kinda into cupcakes too right? I can’t say that I’m much of a pie person though. What’s the point? Pie doesn’t have frosting. I’ve already established my love of cupcakes as a vehicle for frosting. That’s already 1 strike against pie for me. And I’m not a fruity dessert person. Strike 2. I like vanilla, chocolate, caramel, sprinkles, cake…

But being a third generation nerd. I have to celebrate Pi Day. I think it’s in the Nerd Charter along with the secret handshake. All Nerds must celebrate Pi Day. Because who else besides us nerds would appreciate the sheer joy of March 14th? 3.14. Pi Day. I’m literally giddy.

And since I’m a nerd, I found a way to have my Pi day and eat cupcakes too.

Happy Pi Day, readers! Have a slice of pie today. On me.

Graham Cracker Key Lime Cup-Pie
Recipe adapted from Cupcake Bakeshop and King Arthur Flour

Print this recipe

Makes 1 Giant Wilton Cupcake

INGREDIENTS

For the graham cracker crust*
2 cup graham cracker crumbs
1/2 cup (1 stick) melted butter

* You may not use all the graham cracker crust depending on how thick you make it.

For graham cracker cupcake
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup graham cracker crumbs
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup milk (I used half-and-half instead)
1 teaspoon vanilla

For key lime filling**
8 oz cream cheese, softened (I used Neufchatel instead)
1 (14oz) can sweetened condensed milk
1/3 cup key lime juice (I used Stirrings 100% Key Lime Juice)
1 cup (8 oz) sour cream

** You can probably half the key lime filling but I found it easier to make the full recipe at the time.

For the meringue
4 large egg whites, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS

To make filling—
In a stand mixer, fitted with a flat beater, beat the cream cheese on medium until smooth, about 2 minutes. Add condensed milk and mix to combine. Reduce speed to low and add key lime juice. Then add sour cream and mix until smooth. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours. While you’re waiting, bake up the cupcakes!


To make giant cupcake—
Preheat oven to 350F. Create a foil liner (I recommend Reynolds non-stick foil) for the cupcake “bottom” and lightly spray with PAM.

In a separate bowl, combine 2 cup of graham cracker crumbs and melted butter. Spoon into the giant cupcake “bottom”, pressing with a class cup to cover the bottom and sides into a smooth tight fit. Set aside.

Whisk together flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Set aside.

In stand mixer, fitted with a flat beater, beat butter on high speed until soft, about 30 seconds. Add brown sugar and beat on medium-high until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs one at a time. Combine milk and vanilla together. Add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with milk mixture in 2 additions, ending with the flour mixture. Beat until just combined.



Fill cupcake bottom with the cake batter. Bake for 55-60 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool before fill and frost.

To make meringue—
In a stand mixer with a clean dry mixer bowl and whisk attachment, whip the egg whites at medium speed until opaque. With the mixer still running, add the vanilla extract and sugar in a slow stream and continue to beat until the whites are glossy and form firm peaks.


To assemble giant cup-pie—
Remove center of the cupcake using the cone method. (I like to use cookie cutter for a guide line.) If you aren’t familiar with the cone method, check out Nicole of Baking Bites step-by-step pictorial instructions (here). Fill cupcake with key lime filling using a spoon.


Reserve some meringue in a piping bag + Wilton 1M tip (or your favorite star tip). Spread the meringue on top of the cupcake. Use the back of a spoon to create peaks and then pipe rosettes around the edge of the cupcake. Use a creme brulee torch to brown the meringue. Garnish with a few lime slices and graham cracker crumbs.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He really enjoyed the crunchy graham cracker crust with the graham cracker “cake” and key lime filling. Even though he’s not a huge fan of meringue (he prefers whipped cream) he said the whole combination was delicious.

Wifey rating: A/A+
I had a great time putting together this cup-pie. The graham cracker crust is really yummy with the “cake” and filling but I think the next time I make the filling I might up the key lime juice. It wasn’t enough “lime” for me. I”m definitely a meringue girl. So sticky sweet like a melted marshmallow. So good.

Other rating: A+
Hubs brought the cup-pie to share with some colleagues and students and he said it was gone within an hour. He said he didn’t have enough forks and ppl were eating it with their fingers. Awesome!

18 Comments

  1. Oooh wow these look so amazingly good, I love taking desserts and making them into cupcakes its so much fun! I’ve been wanting to make a key lime one for a while, yummm!

  2. Wow this is absolutely amazing!! I nearly made key lime cupcakes this past week..but opted for lime and coconut cupcakes instead. Does klp always have meringue on top? I had some this week that didn’t and i got confused!

  3. I actually took a twitter poll about this very issue! And the consensus was that key lime pie wasn’t key lime pie without the meringue. But I’ve had it with whipped cream too. So I’m thinking it could be either or depending on your preference.

  4. I was only half right, when you tweeted a pic I guessed smores cupcake but this is way more awesome! Thanks for the pics now just need to get a giant cupcake pan. Happy Pi Day!! :)

  5. Great way to use that giant cupcake pan again!

  6. Haha cup-pie, love it!! You are really, really winning me over with all of these giant cupcake treats! I must have that pan…

  7. Oh, I’m totally making this next week…it’s my mom’s birthday and she LOVES Key Lime Pie! Normally I stick with German Chocolate Cake, but I’m thinking she’ll love this…and it sounds so refreshing!

  8. I broke the nerd mold in my house. I have a math teacher for a mom & engineers as dad & grandpa. My sister has a business degree and the other valedictorian. Then there is me. I do music, ballet, & bake cakes. Not so good with the math. Occasionally I can divide fractions though when a recipe must be cut in half. Sometime I don’t make a mistake.

  9. Happiest Pi Day to you too!!! :) That’s one giant tasty pie/cake you’ve got there.

  10. Happy Pi Day! What a beautiful cup-pi you made! It looks incredibly delicious.

  11. OMG it’s gigantic!!!! woohooo to a fellow nerd!!

  12. You’re amazing! Just effing amazing! As a spectator, I give this one an A++! :D :D

  13. Do you happen to know, or would like to lend a guess, how many normal cupcakes this would make??

  14. If I had to guess I’d say 24? Sorry I can’t be more precise. If you try to make regular cupcakes, please come back and let me know how many the recipe made.

  15. I think I’m going to try them. I’m not sure when though, but I will let you know how many I get:) Do you think the graham cracker crust will stick to a cupcake cup?? I don’t know if I want to just stick it in the pan yet or not….

  16. Do you mean cupcake liner? I think it will stick but you probably have to put the liner in the cupcake pan so that it has something rigid to set up. Does that make sense? HTH

  17. OK, I made the cupcakes and got 18 small cupcakes and the meringue only covered 12 of them:( Also, I felt that my cupcakes were a little dry… I don’t know if this was because I tried to make them with no cupcake liner, or just because that is the recipe and because there are crumbs in there, which may cause them to taste a little dryer. Also, they barely rose at all… these are not fluffy cupcakes. Soooo any suggestions for fluffiness and dryness?? I do notice that most box cakes have oil on them.. is there a reason for that?? Perhaps moistness? LOL Help…. I am not that experienced so I am not good at just throwing in stuff to make it work:)
    guidance please….
    Angela

  18. […] Mocha Cakes 49. Rice Krispy Treat Cakes 50. Nutella Cupcakes 51. Black Forest Cherry Cakes 52. Graham Cracker Key Lime Cakes 53. Mocha Cookie Crumble Cakes 54. Mint Chocolate 55. Chocolate Nutella Cakes 56. Pecan Caramel […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

