“I’m late! I’m late! For a very important date!” ~Rabbit

April 14, 2010 at 9:58 AM | Posted in cupcakes | 20 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Ten days late to be exact.

Was Easter really 10 days ago? Wow. I’m losing track of time (not to mention my mind)!

This month has been extremely busy at the Cuppycakes household. I had/have multiple Easter cupcake orders, 2 birthdays, Cupcake Hero, Food Blogger Bake Sale and various school functions to bake for. Add all that and being sick on my days off (Arrrgghhh! The gods are against me!), well you can imagine, it’s been NUCKING FUTS over here! (It’s not cussing if I change the order of the letters right?)

Don’t get me wrong! I’m not complaining about how busy my kitchen has been lately. I embrace all orders and I still feel so flattered that ppl actually wanna pay me to bake them cupcakes. Me? Little ol me. It’s kinda surreal when I think about just a few years ago I could barely fill the cupcake liner without it overflowing. Every. Friggin. Time. Remember those days, Nikki? Good times…

I just feel like I’m constantly saying SORRY READERS these days. It’s actually brought me to a point where I am contemplating giving up Cupcake Hero for lack of time and energy so I don’t have to say SORRY READERS quite as often every month. I haven’t made any firm decisions yet though. B/c I love Cupcake Hero. It was the first foodie event I ever participated in. I have a special place in my heart for it. I don’t want it to die. Any suggestions about how to keep the integrity of Cupcake Hero alive with lower maintenance would be welcome.

And if you are gonna ask me if I’d like some *whine* with my cupcake.

I’ll say… Yes Please. Make it Moscato. Thanks for asking.

And one more… SORRY READERS… for the road.


Alice in Wonderland Easter Rabbit Cupcakes
Recipe adapted from What’s New, Cupcake by Alan Richardson and Karen Tack

Makes 12 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

Your favorite 12 vanilla cupcakes recipe, cooled to room temperature
canned vanilla frosting (I used 2 cans Duncan Hines classic vanilla)
white fondant (I used Satin brand)
bunny cookie cutter
24 mini chocolate chips
24 mini marshmallows
12 jumbo marshmallows
84 mini heart sprinkles
24 jumbo heart sprinkles
uncooked thin spaghetti noodle
coconut

INSTRUCTIONS

To make fondant bunny ears—
Roll out fondant to about 1/8″ thickness. Use the bunny cookie cutter to cut out the “ears” and let dry on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet overnight to become firm. I always make more than I need b/c it’s inevitable that more than 1 will crack and break.


To make bunny feet—
Cut each jumbo marshmallow in half. Arrange 3 mini heart sprinkles as toes at the top of each marshmallow half and 1 jumbo heart as the foot pad on the bottom. (If sprinkles don’t stick on their own to the fresh cut marshmallow, you can also use some corn syrup to make them stick.) Repeat for all jumbo marshmallows until you have 12 sets of feet.

To assemble cupcakes—
Dollop a good amount of frosting on the top of the cupcake. Using an offset spatula, spread the frosting out around the edge and create a “mound”. Place a donut hole close to one edge of the frosted cupcake. Let chill in freezer for about 15-20 minutes until firm.

Cut a slit 2/3 way down in the donut hole. Spread more frosting around the donut hole being careful to keep the slit visible. Add frosting to both sides of the fondant ears as “glue” and insert in the slit in the donut hole. Don’t press down to hard or the donut hole (rabbit’s head) could break in half.

Cover the rabbit body and head with shredded coconut. Add frosting to the back of the rabbit feet and press gently into the cupcake. You might have to hold it for a little bit to get firm and stick. Push 2 mini marshmallows right under the donut hole off to the side for the hands. Add 2 mini chocolate chips (points into the frosting) for the eyes. Break off thin spaghetti noodle into 1/4″ increments and insert for whiskers. Add a mini heart for the nose. Repeat steps for additional rabbits.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
As soon as he saw them he proclaimed them “Alice in Wonderland” rabbits. I think it’s the red hearts.

Wifey rating: A+
Ever since he said that I’ve been thinking about how to make a Cheshire cat cupcake. I’ve been doodling frantically in my notebook. If you have What’s New Cupcake at home, don’t you think that the Tail Of 2 Critters on page 92 could be changed into the Cheshire Cat? I have a feeling I know what my next project will be!

Other rating: A+
I made these for our family’s Easter dessert and everyone loved them. My husband’s youngest cousin (13 years old) ate 2 rabbits and proclaimed that frosting and donut holes are “… da bomb!” HA HA

20 Comments

  1. holy cow, the bunny cupcakes are so insanely cute

  2. Super super cute! I have yet to make anything from Hello Cupcake! I keep opening it for inspiration, but don’t have the ball… er.. guts to make anything. One of these days…

  3. Ill help you with CH if you want. I miss it, but I also know how much time it takes. Been there, done that lady. :)

  4. These are adorable!! Also, please find a way to keep Cupcake Hero going. I was planning on trying the next challenge!

  5. Don’t give up Cupcake Hero! We’ll be patient. Promise. LOL

    And the bunnies are awesome. I don’t have the “make cupcakes look like other things” skill. *sigh*

  6. Adorable cupcakes! Very talented.

  7. These really are the cutest little cupcakes – I bet they’d be a huge hit with kids too. I can’t wait to start baking from this book!

  8. Your bunnies are so adorable!

  9. The bunny cupcakes are super cute!!

    I definitely agree about the ‘Tale of two critters’ being made into the cheshire cat. I could picture it looking like hes laying down with his head in the front and the tail up in the back. I dont know how you could make his hands, but it would be perfect if his head was propped up on his hands like the shots in the movie. Good luck! Definitely want to see when you make it!

  10. Oh no, please don’t give up Cupcake Hero! It’s way too much fun… Is there some way you could “outsource” some of the work involved? I’m sure lots of us would be happy to help if we could…

  11. Your Easter bunny cupcakes are so cute!! Great seeing you last night :)

  12. Oyy I remember the days of overfilled cuppies. So funny. You’ve come a long way.

    I say switch CH to every other month. Announce the ingredient at the beginning of month one. Give people a month, then have a week or two of voting, then you have two to three weeks to bake and pick a winner plus announce the new ingredient. That’s way less stressful

  13. Hi Clara,

    I love your decorative cupcakes. I’m so inspired! I have an award for you. Please stop by my site! :-)
    http://tomatoesandbasil.wordpress.com/2010/04/19/vincitrice/

  14. These are adorable. So very much like alice in wonderland!!! I love all the things you make!! and your humour!! :) :)

    I think alot of people enjoy Cupcake Hero every month, having the deadline and the ingredients decided and then thinking of something different and unique. I can see how it would be hard to keep on top of everything.

    What if every month a different person hosted cupcake hero? Remember when there was the tie between the two bloggers and Jamieanne hosted it and picked the ingredients and everything? Perhaps there could be a pool of people, who regularly update their blogs and can keep up with the demand of cupcake hero, and they each get a month?? It would allow us to visit more blogs and meet new people? I know theres alot more blogs out there that are waiting for me to find them! I definately don’t want to see it go! :)

  15. Awww these are so so cute! Your ideas are excellent :) i bet everyone loved these :).

  16. love the bunnies – they are just gorgeous!

  17. I love these! I <3 anything Alice. :)

  18. […] View full post on I♥cuppycakes! […]

  19. The Easter Rabbit cupcakes are so cleaver and cute!

  20. […] [Source: IHeartCuppyCakes.com] […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

